We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Cuban Food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Versailles Restaurant

Versailles Restaurant
3555 SW Eighth St, Miami, FL 33135-4196 (Little Havana)
(305) 444-0240
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 4,008 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Little Havana
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
143 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Traditional Cuban Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had an amazing meal! We started with chicken soup (yum!), then ordered a pork dish with two typical sides (rice and plantains). We thoroughly enjoyed our food. We intentionally went to several Cuban restaurants in Miami and surrounding areas and we felt that Versailles had pretty typical Cuban food and since we love Cuban food, it was delicious! It is a very large restaurant and for lunchtime, it was incredibly busy. We were obviously tourists but for the most part, it seemed like most of the folks eating were locals who just stopped by for some lunch! We felt like we made a great choice if this is where the locals come to eat! Would definitely return if we're in Miami again (even though it is a drive from Miami Beach).

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,451
    1,154
    411
    119
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
south Florida
Level Contributor
129 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Miami classic Cuban, fine for a local experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

A Miami classic. Versailles is situated on SW 8 Street as Little Havana blends westward into Coral Gables. French name, reliable basic Cuban food. The building is very attractive, very traditional. No dish stands out as especially remarkable but some friends from out of town *loved* the pitcher of Sangria with dinner.

On this breakfast visit I had eggs fried well with bacon. I asked for the menu option of "potatoes." The waitress asked if I meant "hash browns," which I gladly accepted, envisioning them as fresh-cut. I received the deep-fried potato chunk, indistinguishable from McDonald's only by its triangular shape. Not impressed on this.

Breakfast is very modestly priced ($), with lunches and dinners also reasonable ($$). You can also stop by the bakery for café Cubano and any of various tasty pastelitos. I did enjoy one with cheese as I left the center-building's smaller bakery with window service. They also have a larger bakery at the east end, with cakes and more elaborate options.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cbrysofla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great time at Versailles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had a great lunch at Versailles during our trip to Miami this month. The restaurant was packed but we were able to be seated within 20 minutes. The servers were quick and food arrived in an appropriate amount of time considering how busy they were. I had the sampler plate and couldn't have been happier! Great food, good price. My friend ordered the Cuban Sandwich and loved it. Again the price was very reasonable. After lunch we picked up some pastry to go. They have a nice selection and again the price was very reasonable. Don't miss this place if you are heading to Calle Ocho!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenboby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Meh”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

What's all the fuss about? The vaca frita was dry and zipless but the plantains were tasty. The sangria was bland--all ice and no fruit. I regret opting for a place recommended by the travel guides. I wish we had been more adventurous and gotten off the beaten path.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeySalsipuedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fun meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Took my great nephew here as he wanted to go to the "famous" Miami Cuban restaurant, he really enjoyed it. Food was as expected.

Helpful?
Thank Victoria j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Versailles Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Versailles Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing