We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful customer service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aloft Miami Brickell
Ranked #54 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awful customer service.”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Staff said they overbooked their hotel and we reserved 2 double beds for 1 room. When checking in we were informed of this and they gave us a king bed room for 4 people. We asked for blankets or a cot, we were handed 2 sheets and were told they ran out of "extra" blankets because "other guest need them too." $10 breakfast buffet is a rip off. For paying so much per night it should be included. Positive note : vallet service was fast. It was very clean.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kurav4n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftBrickell, General Manager at Aloft Miami Brickell, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Kurav4n,

We are so sorry to hear about your recent experience with us. We take the happiness of our guests seriously, and have looked into your comments.

We keep records of anything that could affect our guest's experience, but we could not locate any records regarding the overbooking you mentioned. We did have a guest who accidentally booked a single room when they wanted a double, but no records of overbooking on our end.

If we made a mistake, we always want to make it right. Please contact our Front Office Manager, Shawnee Wolfs, with your information so we can see exactly what room type you booked and what you were given. Her email is shawnee.wolfs@aloftmiamibrickell.com

Regarding breakfast, part of our brand standard is that we must offer guests rates that include breakfast and those that do not. For this reason, we cannot make breakfast complimentary. We do offer in addition to the $10 buffet, hot made-to-order items and you can purchase individual items like cereal and oatmeal without having to buy the $10 buffet.

Again, please accept our apologies regarding your stay. We hope you will contact us so that we can look into this matter right away. We always want to do right by our guests, and hope this letter shows you we are listening and that we care.

Thank you again for sharing with us.

Sincerely,

Humberto Fermo
General Manager, Aloft Miami Brickell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    205
    78
    41
    21
See reviews for
57
165
41
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Typical Aloft. Great for trendy hipsters. Not so much for my elderly in-laws (70 somethings). Music was quite loud in the small lobby and the bar was very lively. Several guys playing an enthusiastic game of billiards. I expected this, but they didn't , so they were looking at me with one of those "what were you thinking" looks :). They would have fit in better at the Courtyard Marriot or something like that. Anyway staff were awesome!! Check-in was very professional and efficient. We were in our room within ten minutes of arriving. Room was great for our one night stay before catching a cruise boat. Well decorated, well equipped and quiet with comfortable beds. We chose this hotel for its location because we read it is a quick three block walk to the village with lots of restaurants, shops, etc. It is, but we arrived at 10:00 p.m. on a Saturday night, and the restaurants were all very busy with long lines for tables. We walked around for a while looking to get in somewhere for a late dinner, but finally gave up and were forced to settle for a quick pizza at a local fast food joint. The morning staff were extremely courteous and helpful. Complimentary coffee. Small selection of breakfast items buffet style is available at the hotel for $10. A la carte items are also available for purchase. Offered a great shuttle service to the Port of Miami for $10 per person. All in all a good stay, but would still try to scout a better location for a return visit to Miami.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tlcjr60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftBrickell, General Manager at Aloft Miami Brickell, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Avani,

Comments like yours really make our day! Thank for taking the time to share with everyone the wonderful experience you had at our hotel.

We have shared your warm sentiments with Kervin and our Welcome Desk team. They were so happy to hear they made your trip so memorable.

We can't wait to host you both again soon!

Have a wonderful day,

Humberto Fermo
General Manager, Aloft Miami Brickell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

This hotel exceeded our expectations. From the moment we arrived the staff greeted us as if we were royalty. The room exceeded our expectations. The staff were amazing, incredible room, and the food next the hotel was fantastic! The staff worked with us to have the best experience in our lifetime, especially Kervin Charles. His service beats anything I've ever experienced before. We can't wait to visit again in the future. Thank you for making this vacation something we could never forget!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Avani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftBrickell, General Manager at Aloft Miami Brickell, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Gilbert,

Providing wonderful moments for our guests is the best part of our day by far. We're thrilled to hear Kervin made your trip so special, and we have shared your kind words with him.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our hotel. We really appreciate it!

Sincerely,

Humberto Fermo
General Manager, Aloft Miami Brickell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I stayed at Aloft Miami Brickell and got the 5 star service treatment thanks to Kervin. My wife and I was wondering how you did it. Thanks for going out of your way to make our stay one we will remember and cherish. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gilbert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deepest Sussex
Level Contributor
160 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

We received very good service and liked the boutique feel of the hotel. We weren't so enamoured with the room. The bed was comfortable but the room was dark especially the bathroom, which was very dark. Neither if us liked the separate shower and toilet area. If you had to use this in the night you inevitably wake your partner fumbling around for the light switch. If you don't switch on the light is it horribly dark, and I had a very scary moment when I couldn't find the door to get out of the toilet. There were no plugs in either the washbasin or the tub. More light in the shower area and a door to the whole wash area would improve the room. Although we ate locally, the cost of taxis, if you don't want to drive, can really mount up. We spent $84 on a trip to Miami Beach and back and a short journey to a local restaurant.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank gingerpip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftBrickell, General Manager at Aloft Miami Brickell, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Gingerpip,

Thank you for your review. We really appreciate our guests, and were so happy to hear about your recent experience.

As a team we pride ourselves on our hospitality. We were thrilled to hear you experienced "very good service" during your stay. Many of our guests comment on the unique design of our hotel, we are so glad the boutique feel made your trip more enjoyable.

We noticed your mentioned a pricey taxi bill, and we'd like to share a couple of tips to make your future stays more enjoyable. Our Welcome Desk Talent are always available to you to guide you in the right direction when it comes to getting around town. We're 1 block from the train station where you can catch a bus directly to the beach. Unlimited 1 day passes are only $5. There is also the free Metromover and Trolleys, both one block away that will take you to local restaurants, museums, Biscayne Bay, American Airlines Arena, and more!

We want you to know we hear your concerns about the lighting, and we're currently exploring different lighting options.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Humberto Fermo
General Manager, Aloft Miami Brickell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Hotel is located in Brickell which is a great location. Easy to walk around and great atmosphere in the evening with lots of great restaurants. Hotel is modern and clean, staff is friendly. Rooms are modern and simple.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JasinOnline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftBrickell, General Manager at Aloft Miami Brickell, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Jasinonline,

We really appreciate that you took time out of your day to share your experience on TripAdvisor- Thank you!

In your review, you mentioned how everything is walking distance from our hotel. While this is certainly true, we also have more conveniences we thought you might enjoy on your next visit.

As we are only 1 block from the Metrorail, our guests can take public transportation to anywhere in the city including taking the train directly into the airport! We are also just 1 block from the free Metromover, which has several routes all around Brickell. Head to museums, Biscayne Bay, Port of Miami, Bayside Marketplace, American Airlines Arena, and more. All for free and in just minutes inside the air-conditioned train!

We hope our comments show just how much we appreciate you and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank you,

Humberto Fermo
General Manager at Aloft Miami Brickell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
276 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I'm historically a big Starwood guy, now splitting time with Marriott. The rate here is certainly good but the property is off the beaten path and gets a lot of use. My room reeked of cigarette smell, i had not had such a situation in many years. While guests will smoke, the housekeeper should have DNR'd this room.

Like another guest, construction and city noise awoke me in the morning, but that comes with the territory. The property itself is not bad, nice pool area, balconies with no real view but still nice, pocket fitness facility with new equipment.

Its a 10 minute walk to Mary Brickell Village but why would you want to go there?

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftBrickell, General Manager at Aloft Miami Brickell, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Manny,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate input from our guests and were glad that on the whole you had a positive experience.

We would like to sincerely apologize for the cigarette smoke smell in your room. You are totally correct that our housekeeping staff should have alerted us of this. Our hotel rooms are 100% non-smoking and we do heftily fine any guest that lights up. Due to your review, we have reviewed our smoking policy with housekeeping staff so that we can be sure this will never happen again.

We do hope you will give us another try. We are also just a block away from the free MetroMover which takes you to American Airlines Arena, Biscayne Bay, Port of Miami, and plenty of dining and shopping spots not in Mary Brickell Village.

Thank you,

Humberto Fermo
General Manager at Aloft Miami Brickell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Atton Brickell Miami
Atton Brickell Miami
#10 of 122 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Downtown
Fortune House Hotel Suites
Downtown
Extended Stay America - Miami - Brickell - Port of Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Miami Downtown/Brickell
Downtown
JW Marriott Miami
JW Marriott Miami
#45 of 122 in Miami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Miami Brickell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Miami Brickell

Property: Aloft Miami Brickell
Address: 1001 SW 2nd Ave, Miami, FL 33130-4009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Miami Brickell 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate your style at Aloft Miami-Brickell! Set in the financial district and minutes from Downtown, Port of Miami, Miami Beach, and major attractions like American Airlines Area and Bayside. Walk & explore -only a block from Brickell Metro train station and Mary Brickell Village (shopping, restaurants, nightlife, groceries).Our new Brickell hotel is unlike any other hotel in the Miami-Brickell area. You can mix and mingle over drinks and appetizers at our in-house W XYZ Bar. Relax in our Re:mix lounge, while shooting a game of pool and listening to some tunes. Plan a meeting in Tactic, our sleek meeting space, and come check out our beautiful Backyard for outdoor events!Rest easy, our guest rooms start on the 7th floor. Featuring loft-inspired rooms and suites with ultra-comfortable signature beds, oversized showerheads, custom amenities by Bliss Spa, and more. Every guest enjoys a 42" LED TV, desk with ergonomic desk chair, and connectivity station to maximize work and play.About Us:Aloft Miami-Brickell opened in August 2013. This vibrant and fresh hotel brand is a vision of W Hotels and part of Starwood. Offering 'Style at a Steal' this select-service hotel features loft-inspired rooms and suites set in a fresh and vibrant atmosphere. Offering 'Style at a Steal' this select-service hotel brand is doesn't feature room service, but does feature:(All items open 24 hours unless otherwise listed)* Re:fuel Grab & Go Snack Station- featuring healthy snacks, light meals, and sweet treats. * Re:mix Lounge- featuring mood music, a pool table, comfortable seating, and board games. * Re:charge Gym- connect your iPod/Android to brand new Life Fitness equipment, free weights, and yoga mats.* In-Touch Business Center- Check emails, print directions, or just surf the web.* W XYZ Bar- enjoy signature cocktails and appetizers. (5pm-12am)* Splash Pool- take a dive, swim some laps, or simply catch some rays. (6am-11pm)* Tactic Meeting Room- available for rent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Aloft Miami Brickell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing