We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty, lively, loud, so so food”
Review of Georges Kitchen

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Georges Kitchen
Ranked #1,698 of 4,187 Restaurants in Miami
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
143 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Pretty, lively, loud, so so food”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

George's has a really well done beautiful interior. Brick walls, a huge bar with an open kitchen, tables along the side and a large community table in the middle. There is also a loft. We were mostly alone in the restaurant when we arrived at 7:30, though it was crowded by the time we left just after 10. Our first courses were quite good, especially the octopus. The salads were good but expensive for what they were. Mains were less successful. The sauce on the mussels was excellent, but the muscles seemed a bit underdone. The short rib Bourgogne looked amazing but did not have a big taste, and the Bronzino was oily. The side dish of ratatouille that it came with was swimming in oil, and left uneaten. George's has a lively atmosphere with loud banging music that was irritating after a while, perhaps due to the birthday party going on in the loft. To us the food was not worth the very expensive price tag (almost $300 for 4).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Miamispike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Even before I arrived, they were taking care of us, Ronald, at the door was waiting for us and cared to direct us from where we were to the restaurant, he sat us and brought us complimentary rose champagne. Then our sever Natasha was more than accommodating, knowledgeable and suggested according to what we said we would like. George, he owner, was awesome, always incredibly attentive and caring. We had the mushroom risotto and it was delicious, the salmon was cooked just as we asked for it to be cooked, perfect temperature and the asparagus were tender and crispy at the same time, my goat cheese salad was refreshing, tangy taste that went perfect with the goat cheese on toast. Desserts were perfect, also on what Natasha suggested, the apple tart was warm, crispy, and it was perfect to end a perfect dinner. I love this place and will definitely com back and send everyone who appreciates a lovely dinner in a lovely restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paulina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
135 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“French Party Place with No Party”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

George's restaurants have a good reputation in Miami for responsible French bistro style food in several locations. The new facility in Midtown is a large, two story open atrium styled restaurant which looks as if the party will arrive at any moment, though on this Friday night it was still empty at 10pm. The appetizers were excellent and arrived promptly, but the main course came late and overcooked. The service was all but lacking, a mystery in lieu of the sparse crowd.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sobederm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good food and service”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

When I walked through the door I wasn't expecting fine-dine quality food, just good food. I would go back for the foie gras alone. Great service and the waiter spoke French which I think is so important in a French restaurant! Service from Michel was also at a fine-dine standard - attentive, quick and proactive. The lady at the bar serving dryks before we took our table was also very good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank christophercj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“If you love George's in South Miami......”
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Different menu - same great food. Try the mussels and salmon....Mmmmmm. They give you a free glass of pink champagne with your meal - very nice.....but in South Miami you get at least 2 or 3. The mood could have been better with a little music as well as livelier staff like at the other locals.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eugeniouss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Georges Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Georges Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing