We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Tikl - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tikl
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
miami
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Its a new place so we understand why its not too crowded, but gave it a try/ The server was very enthusiastic and recommended great dishes, We started of with their Bloody Mary Bruchsettas and tried their Short rib soft tacos (AMAZING), I really liked their Hamachi Crudo and their spicy tuna bomb. I would go back for sure

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paola karen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

My wife and I had dinner here on Friday night. Fun location, staff was very welcoming, cool atmosphere. Reading the menu, we were really excited (my wife and I are definitely "foodies"). We ordered 6 different items, each one came quickly and looked beautiful. Unfortunately, we were both underwhelmed. Food was generally bland. Spicy tuna -- not spicy. Hamachi crudo -- sweet but kinda boring. Short rib soft taco -- blah, no flavor. Etc. etc. There is so much great sushi in Miami (Pubbelly Sushi, Shokudo are our favorites) that this place needs to step it up. Such a shame because we love Alta Mare (same owners).

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brianfoster2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Sorry guys - not convinced!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Dined here for the first time last week.

The service was good - the waiter was very enthusiastic about the food - but I'm afraid the dishes simply didn't live up to expectations.

We were a party of four so were able to try most of the dishes on the menu - Tapas/sharing style - and whilst there were a few stand out dishes - I think the ratio of those we enjoyed to those we felt were meh/poor was not favourable. Quality of the meats in particular was not great.

Best thing about it was that on certain nights and times the wine list was half price......

But sorry we wont be back on food alone..

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DarrenKell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brickel's Best Kept Secret”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

First off the restaurant looks great, you have a choice of sitting inside or out. The service was fantastic as well. The service was very good. The waiter was help full in explaining the menu and answering any questions that the group had about any particular menu item.

For appetizer we had the spring rolls, rock shrimp, and bruschetta. The spring rolls were alright, but the rock shrimp and bruschetta were exceptionally good. The korean hangar steak was amazing, that's the one item i will remember and will probably be a main factor in me going back.The members of my table also enjoyed the Fried Squid and Short Rib taco.

Tikl is worth going to if you are in Brickell and looking for a place to eat. I will probably go back next time I am in the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a surprise”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I went to Tikl Raw Bar Grill yesterday and had a great time. The waiter was extremely nice and helped my navigate their exotic menu. We got the Chili Chicken Thighs to start which was pretty good. For a main course I got the Thai Curried Mussels and loved it! My date got the Warm Veal Rilet and couldnt stop raving about it. Overall this is a great place, I would come here again. The only down side was its location otherwise great spot

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jake M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tikl also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing