We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Oasis”
Review of University Restaurant & Patio - CLOSED

University Restaurant & Patio
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“An Oasis”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

What a pleasant surprise! We asked for a recommendation for a "nicer" restaurant near Jackson Memorial Hospital and were sent here. This part of Miami seems pretty deserted after 5:00 and there are few places around that are not fast food. Located in a seedy looking Rodeway Inn we almost didn't go in. Hungry and tired after a long day waiting for surgical results at the hospital we needed to sit down. The restaurant was clean, the service was prompt and the food was delicious! We all had a chicken souvlaki platter that came with very good Greek potatoes and salad. What a bargain at $9.95.
This is not the kind of restaurant that you would make a detour for but if you're in the area you can get a very good inexpensive meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scooperman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    1
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food and good service..”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I had the Mushroom burger and fries.. service was quick even though they were packed. Burger was cooked perfect and the fries tasted home made and fresh and cooked perfect..
I definately will eat here again..

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Billy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Rodeway "Continental" Breakfast was here”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Go back to FD to get a "voucher". Copied slip of paper that offered Coffee OR OJ, and a muffin, bagel or toast. The muffin was miniature - just a bite, same with the bagel. No buttter, no cream cheese. Reminded that TIP was not included. Neither was service.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank nysq1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Reasonably Good”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Food and service was good. Not terribly sophisticated! If you are a Chicago Bears fan, you would love it!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank KatherineA12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
172 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Best I've ever had!!!!”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Boy was this place a surprise!!! It is stuck in below a bargain basement motel in a pretty marginal location. We were referred to it by a limo driver and the front desk so gave it a try. What a treat!!! fantastic service, incredibly good food. We had Spanakopita, the Greek plate, the "greek caviar" sampler with four incredibly good dips and pita, and the lemon soup. If you are anywhere near this place, make the trip. It is a warm, friendly, casual place with a happy staff and food simply to die for!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PanamaDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed University Restaurant & Patio also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing