We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”
Review of Shokudo

Shokudo
Reserve with OpenTable
Shokudo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #733 of 4,189 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 48th
Description: Shokudo by World Resource Cafe Shokudo meaning 'cafeteria' in Japanese, we have created a casual eatery featuring Asian favorites and street food. Spanning from Korea all the way down south to Vietnam, come find your comfort in our food.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

I went several times And brought a bunch of different friends each time. Everybody was amazed! This is a real Japanese in the middle of nowhere! If you're not local is hard to find, is not really in a touristic area! So guests are mostly from here and this makes the atmosphere very relaxing but also very refined. There is a pretty garden outside and inside the decore is beautiful. I love to order the tuna poke with avocado and macadamia and the salmon carpaccio, awesome! Whatever roll u get is fantastic, I tried most of them and never had a complain; I suggest the spice ones though! Delicious!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heat1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    22
    14
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“amazing food”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I was recently invited for dinner to Shokudo in midtown Miami and I left impressed. I am a vegetarian, and I had no problem finding delicious appetizers and main course dishes on the menu. I went for curry potato dumpling, and squash dumpling as appetizer, and then had Tofu pad thai as main course. Food was outstanding, as was our server Matt. For dessert we went for mochi ice cream balls, my favorite one being the green tea flavor. Overall I had great experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matej K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AMAZING FOOD!”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Even though there is just a few servers not enough for the amount of tables nor the amount of guest!! It's completely worthy, It took more than 20 minutes to be acknowledge by any of the servers, but ask for the GIRLS!! they are great and pretty savvy about the menu. The Foi gra dumplings with the cherry relish was superb!!!the buns......really no words!! delicious. also the paid thaiu was unbelievable. but the start of the nights were the sparkling SAKE!! YES! Sparkling Sake simply to dye for!!!!and the Banana egg rolls with the chocolate sauce!!AMAZING!!! Great place, extremely comfortable and elegant. great prices great choice, I can not wait to go back!ahh. Valet parking available right there!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miguel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Oh my Gaaaawwwddd..... FANTASTIC!!!!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Was basically the reaction for every single dish I had at this amazing newbie in Miami.

I had a very fresh and tangy Salmon Tiradito, which was a nice sashimi salmon dressed in tangy yuzu sauce (I think) with japanese pickles on top. the combined taste was emaculate.

From the open kitchen I enjoyed BBQ pork buns. Got 2 generous sized buns stuffed with sweet pulled pork, dressed with 'fried' onions and kimchi, and a little mayo..... DIVINE!!!!

Other notable dishes were the Ramen. As a foodie I know good Ramen is hard to make, despite the seemingly simple idea of noodles in broth, lots of restaurants fail at making a good impression. Well Shokudo stepped up to the plate and delivered a great Ramen with lots of hearty topping, with noodles that had the proper body / consistency, and the soup that tasted like it took days to make.

Very happy to have discovered this plance and looking forward to going back again with a group a people and try lots of more of the diverse menu!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kevin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tasty fun meal”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We had a very nice dinner at Shokudo. Everything was tasty - spicy tuna tartar, spicy anchovies, shrimp pad tai, Chinese pork belly noodles, wood mushrooms... the highlight was probably the coconut dessert - absolutely out of this world. The service is friendly and efficient. There is a beautiful patio for the outside dining. The area where the restaurant is located is up and coming, not touristy. Overall, a very good experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PandaTraveler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shokudo also viewed

 

Been to Shokudo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing