We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveler rating
260
24
3
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
260
24
3
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blood pressure life changing weight loss healthy lifestyle no salt heart disease blood sugar eat healthier healthy diet stay healthy chef anthony spent two weeks eating healthy workout classes heart issues fitness center nutrition
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 296 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2016 via mobile

...where you can leave feeling strong , smart & refreshed, because you will be armed with tools you'll need for a lifetime of health.

I visit Pritikin at least once a year and have for over 25 years. When I first came to Pritikin, my cholesterol was 350 and I was severely overweight. Not now. Not since. Not ever again.

Unlike a typical spa experience, Pritikin is like a mini medical school. Lectures, which are most important to attend to get the full value of the program, are never dumbed-down, but always smart and informative. Things like the toxicity of salt and cancer risk from consuming meat, are just hitting the newspapers and I learned that all at Pritikin decades ago.

Dr. Jay Kenney, RD, lives Pritikin, & practices what he cleverly preaches, with wit & incomparable wisdom.

Chef Anthony creates a gourmet menu, with food beautifully presented and delicious, even without any added sugar, salt, or fat. Amazing.

Frank Musumeci , PT, enjoys SRO in his lectures that educate the participants on how to age comfortably, and move and exercise without pain. His waiting list for private sessions are a first thought with repeaters when making a reservation for their stay.

These 3 members of the Pritikin staff are just part of the wonderful exercise/fitness, nutrition, and lifestyle individuals employed at the Center and ready to make your stay enjoyable & successful.

The recently renovated (but not completely) hotel is a huge improvement from the way it used to be. The rooms are comfortable and almost border on luxurious. The spa needs work. It's dated, as is the gym.

Unfortunately management , which I'm told has turned over a few times, doesn't really seem to be as visually involved with the day to day experience as it used to be. It doesn't appear to be interested at all in learning from the participants what works and doesn't. I guess a full house is the goal, and it's very busy. That said, just one meal at a table with repeaters will quickly convince even the most resistant, just how worthwhile the Program remains.

If you attend the lectures, eat carefully and exercise, you will leave Pritikin forever changed...in a very good way!

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Traveled solo
5  Thank MindSet888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GwennF, Director of Sales & Marketing at Pritikin Longevity Center & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2016

Thank you so much for your glowing review! We are so happy to hear that by following the Pritikin Program and joining us on a regular basis you are living such a healthy life!
We are lucky to have Chef Anthony, Dr. Kenney and Frank on our team and are thrilled that you love them as much as we do.
We are also happy that you are pleased with the renovations, and hope that you enjoy the changes which have been recently made to the spa during your next stay.
We are sorry to hear that you felt a lack of management presence. We have recently added some new team members and look forward to you meeting them in person upon your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2016

When deciding on place to use for my 2016 detox I utilized Trip Advisor as a goto for feedback. With 275++ 5 star reviews I was extremely excited about going to Pritikin. The first night we were there we went to an "orientation" seminar and came to find out that each person that stayed at the resort and gave a good review on this site received free goods .. this to me is VERY misleading and VERY unethical.

The meals and seminars are all set up to keep you coming back for more, and all seemed to have the same underlying information that all fats are bad, all salt will kill you and you should only eat their product lines.

Then let's move over to the "workouts." If you have never picked up a weight in your life, or have never stepped foot on an elliptical machine, then this is a great place to start and learn. Their yoga classes were more like a group stretching class, and not modified for different levels at all. But if you have, at some point worked out in your life, you will find the workouts wanting and very elementary.

For the amount of money I spent, I was expecting much, much more. I would also agree with previous poor reviews that if you are a first timer, you are not given the same attention as their repeat clients.

The medical aspect of this is great for people who need to lose a lot of weight and to start their journey, however if you want a detox or healthy start to your year, this may not be the place for you.

I will say the saving grace is the service from the Trump staff and the Trump rooms we were able to stay in. They were wonderful, and the services through the hotel were impeccable.

The Pritikin service and their waitstaff were at times rude, and not helpful at all.

My hotel ratings are based on the Trump hotel and their staff.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
16  Thank KateBrown2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GwennF, Director of Sales & Marketing at Pritikin Longevity Center & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to voice your concerns. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We are surprised to hear that you heard about free goods during our orientation. That is not part of our orientation process, nor is it our policy. Although in the past we may have run special promotions, we have never dictated content- good or bad.
Although we do have select food offerings under our brand, the majority of the recipes we provide to our guests do not refer to a specific brand.
Although it is true that the Pritikin Eating Plan promotes a diet of no added sugar, salt, or fat, our various lectures are made to educate our guests on how and why to avoid these foods and how and why to make better choices for your health.
Our Exercise Physiologists tailor the workout classes to the average fitness level of the guests attending them and we apologize if the group you were in wasn't up to the same fitness level you would have liked.
At Pritikin, we are fortunate enough to see guests return year after year, and that gives our staff a chance to really get to know them and establish a relationship over that time. That being said, every guest should feel valued, and we apologize if that wasn't the case.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2015

This is the fifth time visiting Pritikin. It is life changing and always worth the visit. However, a couple of issues need to be addressed. First, the business center computers did not work for five days. The tech person was out for a few days and they have no backup. Secondly, some of the exercise equipment needs to be replaced. Third, as good and expensive is the medical staff, they need to have more competent phlebotomists. Finally, discounts should have been offered since for the last two years visits renovations have been noisy, and smelly. All these issues should be addressed and then it will return to a five star location.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank dberck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GwennF, Director of Sales & Marketing at Pritikin Longevity Center & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2016

Thank you so much for being a loyal Pritikin guest. We are sorry that on your last couple of visits you experienced some challenges which impacted your stay. We are happy that our renovations are winding down and are eager for you to see the new and improved product. At any time during your stays, please do not hesitate to address any concerns you may have with our caring team. We are here for you and happy to do all we can to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We look forward to welcoming you back to Pritikin in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2015

As a physician, I can attest to the excellent of the medical and nutrition/exercise program. But if you're looking for organization, hotel staff courtesy, and a 5 star hotel experience, don't come here. The Pritikin Hotel Staff seemed overwhelmed, and at times, were downright rude. Repeat customers openly got preference. Staff couldn't answer my questions. They need someone to get the hotel staff and administration in line. If you're a tennis player, the Doral itself has a great tennis center with pristine courts, and a very nice pro.

Room tip: If you go specifically for the Pritikin Program, they have their own rooms
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
15  Thank Carla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GwennF, Director of Sales & Marketing at Pritikin Longevity Center & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2015

Thank you for your comments. It is true we value our loyal guests, however providing exceptional customer service to all of our guests is very important to us. We take your concerns seriously and will investigate thoroughly. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Pritikin in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2015 via mobile

Pritikin will change your life. Gives you the tools and information you need to have a healthier life. The first couple of days will be challenging. The low sodium diet takes some getting used to, but once done the food is good. Give it a try, you will not find a better place to make the changes you are looking for.

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank H7547HIrobh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GwennF, Director of Sales & Marketing at Pritikin Longevity Center & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2015

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We are so happy that you found your time at Pritikin to be a life-changing experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews