We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent Mexican Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Vato Tequila and Taco Bar - CLOSED

El Vato Tequila and Taco Bar
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Great atmosphere outside. Good Service. We looked all week for a good Mexican place on our trip and this hit the mark! Fair prices as well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tpe-sco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    7
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very fresh, near authentic Mexican food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We don't live in Miami, but this place makes us wish we did! We have been searching for good Mexican food since we moved I Florida and we have found it! We will definitely be eating here the next time we're in Miami!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Legg_rl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
140 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Fun, funky, and good food, too.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We were in the mood for Mexican food, and my husband remembered seeing this place when we had walked around the night before. He also remembered it mentioned in an Internet search for vegetarian food. We went on a Monday night, so we practically had the place to ourselves. It may not always be like that, but for us, the service was extremely attentive without being pushy. There were lots of veggie choices. I had a vegan quesadilla, with vegan cheese and soy "ground beef." Not like anything I've had the opportunity to eat before. It was yummy. My husband had a vegetarian burrito that he said was delicious. There is a sports car parked in front of the big screen TV, which was playing a Miami Heat game. Funky lighting, comfortable banquettes, and outdoor seating if you want it. In summary, a really nice place.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Blockster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We loved this place. The food is a-w-e-s-o-m-e. We loved the quesadillas. They use prime and organic ingredients and you can tell, the food melts in your mouth. Service is top of the notch. Great value for money too. The area is also very nice and a good break from the craziness of South Beach. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aretusa75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Not many choices on the menu , good place to go but don't expext much from the food. My experience in this place is average to low.... You can find better food for sure...

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Guilherme K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Vato Tequila and Taco Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing