We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“awesome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Everglades Airboat Charters

Everglades Airboat Charters
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Take a Once in a lifetime trip to explore the amazing Florida Everglades! Captain Greg Brown will be your host and guide. He will guide you on a beautiful, private tour that will leave your heart racing with up close experiences with gators, deer, birds and other wildlife that makeup the Everglades. Your 'flight' will allow you to see nature at its purest in the unspoiled habitat of the Beautiful Florida Everglades. A very knowledgeable Florida Everglades Historian and experienced Story Teller, Captain ray will amaze you with the history of the Native American Indians who inhabited these wetlands areas over a century ago and of those who live there today.
White Plains, New York
2 reviews
“awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We had a very good time. Felt always safe. The driver was very well accustomed to the location and had a sound knowledge of the history and environment. The family run business provides a warm and friendly service.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank K F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    12
    3
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor MI
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Don't miss this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

First, if you are not sure whether you want to take a tour of the Everglades, stop wondering and do it. It is without a doubt the most beautiful part of Florida.

I wanted to book a trip with my friend who grew up in Miami and had fallen in love with the Everglades as a child but had not been back in decades. We had both been on an airboat tour in central Florida previously, but I wanted something less crowded. We were booked with Capt. Greg & Son by another airboat operator and we could not have been happier. We went out for two hours with Capt. Dave (Greg's son) who has grown up in the business. My friend told me after our tour that everything Dave told us about the history, ecology, and preservation efforts to date was accurate. (And Dave even told him a few things he didn't know). It was very clear that Dave loves the history of the area, has spent a lot of time exploring it on his own, and wants to protect the Everglades. There's more than just gators to the Everglades and Capt. Dave showed us a lot of it, but rest assured you'll see the gators, too.

If you are looking for a tour for only a couple of people you will probably find this quite pricy, but the cost is not unreasonable considering the expense involved and the time Greg and Dave have to spend before and after the tour for travel and preparation. It sounds like they are amenable to having a larger group, and that would bring the cost per person down considerably. But even for only a couple people you should consider it money well spent. The Everglades is without a doubt the most beautiful part of Florida and having a private tour was well worth it to us.

Follow their advice about sunscreen, hats, and how to dress and you'll have a great time. Finally, you would probably like having an actual camera, rather than a phone camera, for this trip, but we did okay with our phones.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“ABSOLUTLY awesome tour!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Capt. Dave was excellent and very knowledgeable!!! He knows his stuff and the equipment is in excellent condition. He took us to this area where the gators were everywhere!!! I will rebook this trip next year for sure!!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Descent815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best air boat ride in my life!!!! Any body who want to experience this visit! Captain is very informative an knowledgable abou”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Best air boat ride in my life!!!! Any body who want's to experience this visit please come and visit Everglades "Air Boat Charters"! Captain is very informative an knowledgable about the entire everglades! ;))

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tinybopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofiemyr
1 review
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We went on a one hour trip filled with great landscape, beautiful birds and of course alligators. Our pleasant captain and guide shared alot of his knowledge about wildlife and history, it was both interesting and exciting for all of us.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eriksan70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Everglades Airboat Charters also viewed

 

Been to Everglades Airboat Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing