We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Valentines Day Concert” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deering Estate

Deering Estate
Book In Advance
$104.99*
and up
Ranked #25 of 324 things to do in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Deering Estate is a Miami-Dade County Park and a 444-acre natural and archeological preserve and historic site listed on the National Register of Historic Places. It serves as a center for education, culture and recreation. Historic house tours are offered daily at 10:30 am and 3:00 pm. Natural areas tours are offered daily at 12:30 pm (October - May). The Historic House Tours and Natural Areas Tour are included with Estate admission: $12 for adults & $7 for children (ages 4-14).
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Valentines Day Concert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Nicole Henri was the entertainer. the weather was great the moon was out and it was a full house. And we had a great evening on Valentines Day

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    67
    26
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not much to see!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Using the recommendation of the AAA book, we headed out to see this place during a few days' stay in the Miami area. We arrived at a lodge that bore the Deering name and figured that was where we needed to go. We found a young guy at the desk who told us this was just the place to go if you were booking an event or camp. So, we had to head around the corner to find what we were looking for. The two houses on the property are deserted and, although they do offer tours, if you don't happen to arrive at the right time, there is no one to give any background or narrative on the place. The rooms are basically empty and there is not much to see. The grounds are beautiful and you can bring in a picnic to eat by the water. But, after wandering around the houses we figured we were all set and it was time to go. We could have easily skipped this visit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Must do”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Overall this place is amazing. Very historic and tucked away from the city life of miami, and best yet is that it right on the water over looking biscayne bay.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views- Poor Layout”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

My first and only visit here was for a late Nov wedding. The lawn and ocean views are simply gorgeous. The lush garden walk to the home and water is so beautiful too. Based on the wedding I attended I would not recommend this for a wedding venue. The dance floor inside the home is disjointed from the courtyard where dinner is served. The bathroom is located in the basement of the home and to get there one must walk down a treacherous set of stairs and the hallway in the basement is scary. Logistically the set up is just not guest/ large group friendly.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank cheeto82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best part is the Outdoors”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

The nature trail, paddling to the island and the backyard did it for me but if your architecturally inclined you will enjoy the home as well.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank RickF9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deering Estate also viewed

 

Been to Deering Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing