We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Relaxing...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deering Estate at Cutler

Deering Estate at Cutler
16701 S. W. 72nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33157
+1 305-235-1668
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$65*
and up
Ranked #34 of 215 things to do in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Deering Estate is a Miami-Dade County Park and a 444-acre natural and archeological preserve and historic site listed on the National Register of Historic Places. It serves as a center for education, culture and recreation. Historic house tours are offered daily at 10:30 am and 3:00 pm. Natural areas tours are offered daily at 12:30 pm (October - May). The Historic House Tours and Natural Areas Tour are included with Estate admission: $12 for adults & $7 for children (ages 4-14).
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Relaxing...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Deering Estate is a wonderful place to visit. I'll list 3 of my favorite things about it. 1- The natural beauty. There are wonderful flowers and birds all throughout the property. 2- The Architecture. The property is lovely with many different sections such as the Wine Cellar and the Ballroom. And 3- The Ocean. You can sit by the ocean and breathe in the ocean air. It is breathtakingly beautiful!! If you're ever in Miami I definitely recommend visiting this beautiful historical landmark..

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel0423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
401 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Interesting house/hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The houses are interesting. Don't miss the wine cellar! The grounds are good for a stroll. Since much of this this is out doors, visit in the cooler months. We visited during a fair, which was fun!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank acielesz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
182 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Understated elegance in Miami.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I found out about the Deering Estate last year while touring Vizcaya (owned by Charles' brother James). The home while not on the same scale as Vizcaya, should not be overlooked. The home is elegant but not overdone.

The home consists of the Richmond Cottage which was once a hotel and then the stone mansion. My friend and I arrived and parked. We made our way up the beautiful palm tree and flower lined pathway. We locate the courtyard where we are to meet for the 3 o’clock tour and go on past the home to the back. Here guests are treated to sweeping and stunning views f Biscayne Bay. There is a palm tree lined bay and I could not help but notice the sign warning visitors they might encounter crocodiles. But we never did. We strolled the perfectly manicured grounds enjoying the views of the bay and the home and snapping pictures.

We make our way back to the home and wait for the 3 o’clock tour to begin. We start our tour with the 1922 Richmond Cottage and make our way to the mansion. One thing I notice is that the home is only partially furnished. When the family could no longer afford the home they sold off most of the furniture. The estate is trying to recover as much of the original furnishings as possible.

The mansion features ornate iron work and has a very protected wine cellar which is locked away behind a large locked vault. Unfortunately flooding from a hurricane destroyed the cellar. A walkway ceiling is embedding with years old fossils. After the tour we were allowed to roam back around in the houses.

While the home does not have the gilded age opulence of Vizcaya..in the ballroom there is a picture of the family castle in Spain which is quite stunning. Guests are also allowed to take pictures inside the home which is very unusual.

The home is quite a popular quincetera and wedding venue. They were preparing for wedding on the lawn while we were touring the mansion and 2 of the couples on the tour were having their wedding at the home. There is also a path that will lead you out to a fossil area but we needed to leave right afterwards so we never made it there. They do offer classes and events throughout the year. They do have restrooms but there is not a gift shop or restaurant on the grounds.

The home is well worth seeking out especially for those who have an appreciation of historic homes and architecture.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Sburris65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pembroke pines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old Waterfront Mansion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I loved learning the history of the James Deering Estate built for a special woman, the love of his life. He built it using many materials and furniture pieces imported from Europe. The home faces beautiful Biscayne Bay which leads to the Atlantic ocean. The acreage is large and the grounds are beautiful. The tour helps you learn about novel plumbing, cooling and heating methods and to see the clothing and dinnerware used by the wealthy
in the 1800's.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 4joy4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
217 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“pretty but boring”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This place is very nice. You can sit by the bay and see the deering home which is neat but that's about it. Not a day full of fun

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jadejoann4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Deering Estate at Cutler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing