We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“NOT WORTH THE ENTRANCE FEE” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deering Estate

Deering Estate
Book In Advance
$104.99*
and up
Ranked #25 of 322 things to do in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Deering Estate is a Miami-Dade County Park and a 444-acre natural and archeological preserve and historic site listed on the National Register of Historic Places. It serves as a center for education, culture and recreation. Historic house tours are offered daily at 10:30 am and 3:00 pm. Natural areas tours are offered daily at 12:30 pm (October - May). The Historic House Tours and Natural Areas Tour are included with Estate admission: $12 for adults & $7 for children (ages 4-14).
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
185 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“NOT WORTH THE ENTRANCE FEE”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

I don't know what all the fuss is about. Yes, it's nice. The view is pretty, but the house itself is nothing special. You can walk through it in five minutes or less and it won't leave an impression on you. The rooms are nearly empty, with all the original furnishing gone. Maybe if you go during a special program, you'll enjoy it more.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank evamaria13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    67
    26
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
miami
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We went with my sister-in-laws and my three kids and they loved it the views are expectacular!!! The day we went there was an event with animals and information with activities for kid. To our surprice there was a mom manaty and its caff by the shore it was beautiful. Great for special events :)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank yeli1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The People's Pier”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

My visit was on one of the coldest mornings this winter; for Florida folks, it was very brisk; the sky was brilliant and blue and so clear. I had lived in the area before the estate grounds were open for the public, so I was very excited to see it at last. What a beautiful stretch of lawn leading from the rather modest historic cottage to Biscayne Bay. What a beautiful expanse of water and sky, blending seamlessly. In an hour or less, one could stroll the whole property, or simply sit and enjoy the view. I was not able to tour the modest historic home, (so modest in comparison with his brother's mansion further north), and yet it felt so comfortable and liveable. The important point was the strip of land to the south of the property, part of the estate but deliberately left open with a small landing/boat dock at the end. This Deering brother recognized that ordinary folks had access rights to the bay and it's environs. This Deering brother seemed to be so much morea man of the people than his brother up the road.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bocajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, beautiful historical site”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Great events and great location. Enjoy a quiet walk along the water and have a great picnic on the lawn. A historical landmark that is a great for locals and visitors alike.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hsrivera01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

I'm glad I didn't pay to get into the Deering Estate. I'm a long-time MIami resident and went here about 15 years ago. The house itself is very modest compared to Deering's brother who owned Vizcaya towards downtown Miami. What was so disappointing was that the house was virtually empty of the family's furnishings and belongings. Most of the rooms had no furniture and they just left it completely empty.

Even the artwork had nothing to do with the family. They give art classes on the premises and it looked like some of it was done by their student, however it was random material. There was no sense of how the family lived in the house. There was supposed to be a tour at 3pm, however no one showed up for it. Even the nature trails were really devoid of any educational or historical perspective. For the $12 admission price I'd recommend going elsewhere.
It is a pretty place to bring a picnic lunch and sit and read, but if you're looking for history this is not the place.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellyexcursions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deering Estate also viewed

 

Been to Deering Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing