We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Partially Abandond Ghetto! (LOTS OF CRIME!!!!!)” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wynwood

Wynwood
Book In Advance
$68.98*
and up
Miami Food and Art Walking Tour of Wynwood Neighborhood
Ranked #9 of 331 things to do in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Partially Abandond Ghetto! (LOTS OF CRIME!!!!!)”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Be careful, I live just outside of Wynwood (east of it) (on the right side of the tracks). Wynwood is downright scary. Yes there are some art galleries, no they are not nice store fronts. They are in dilapidated heavily graffitied warehouses. The area is surrounded on 3 sides by some of the most dangerous ghettos in Florida. Constant crime area, I would not suggest anyone walk alone, or in a group in this neighborhood (I use the term loosely). 95% warehouse and 5% crackhouse Wynwood could use a wrecking ball! Stay away!!!! Dirty, Scary, and Dangerous!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
17 Thank SavvyTraveler78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    699
    313
    81
    12
    9
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, NY
Level Contributor
251 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Don't go at Night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Although the area is well lit in the evening, the area is rather scary to walk in after dark. The walls were painted very uniquely, but it would have been nice for there to be some sort of guide or description of the walls/artists. I guess I would have to visit again in the daylight to see if I felt more positive about it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Eimac C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Artsy side of Miami”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Recently did the Art Walk two weeks ago and I was amazed at the variety of art available for viewing, what really amazed me was the mobs of people walking around at night. The attraction is the large number of galleries and the artist that they represent. I couldn't believe that this was Miami, usually you would expect to see something like this in NYC, in fact it reminded me of NYC's village many years ago. The atmosphere is vibrant with food trucks available for a quick bite as you take a break from walking through the gallaries. The area is developing and needs restaurants, but you could travel a little further North to the design district if your looking for some really good eats. Would suggest that you get to the area early because parking is difficult to find and parking lots are expensive ($10 for a spot in an empty field).

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wynwood Art Walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

The Wynwood Art Walk is really fun. There were tons of art gallerys to check out and the street was lined with food trucks which I love. Worth checking out!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenmar5283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great artistic views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

If you like everytype of art this is the place to walk around.

Helpful?
Thank valentina c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wynwood also viewed

 

Been to Wynwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing