We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent cheap and authentic food”

El Nuevo Siglo Supermarket
Cuisines: Latin
Description: HoursMon-Sun 7 am - 7 pmOpen Now
Restaurant details
Description: HoursMon-Sun 7 am - 7 pmOpen Now
Reviewed May 16, 2018

Great Cuban market with a restaurant and bakery inside. We really enjoyed the empanadas and the many pastries. Very inexpensive but delicious. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Barb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 46 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2018 via mobile

This is great, inside a supermarket. Good food and good price. It’s all a little cramped, certainly not high end in terms of location or space, but the food is good and it’s a great local atmosphere. Recommend.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank PorkyMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2018 via mobile

Looks like a grocery store on Calle Ocho but the food served is outstanding! Very large menu for
the small kitchen but very authentic. The staff is attentive and helpful and is a great value in a city with many overpriced eateries!

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank 180goa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2017

I happened upon El Nuevo Siglo after reading about it online in a quest to find a good Cuban meal. There are quite a few spots in Little Havana but I really wanted to find one without the typical Calle Ocho tourist vibe. This place is inside of a small grocery store and from what I gathered had mainly locals (though there were some other travelers for sure) bellying up to the counter for lunch. The service was quick and though the menu is in both English and Spanish my experience was that the staff did not speak English. It's always fun to dust off some rusty Spanish and I had a great time doing it in Miami in general. If Spanish is not your thing I am sure you could get by with some pointing and gesturing and the food would be worth the effort.

Definitely worth a trip here while you are in Miami. One note as someone who often travels with vegetarians is that this spot and Cuban food in general is not the most vegetarian friendly.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HBurrowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2016 via mobile

I wandered in here by accident while trying to find another restaurant in little Havana.

The staff were great, the food is delicious and the service is quick. Make sure you get there before 3pm to try their daily lunch specials. The Plantains / Maduros are cooked perfectly too :)

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank sunshinesmiler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Nuevo Siglo Supermarket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing