We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find for authentic Cuban food minus the kitsch”

El Nuevo Siglo Supermarket
Cuisines: Latin
Description: HoursMon-Sun 7 am - 7 pmOpen Now
Restaurant details
Description: HoursMon-Sun 7 am - 7 pmOpen Now
Reviewed June 26, 2017

I happened upon El Nuevo Siglo after reading about it online in a quest to find a good Cuban meal. There are quite a few spots in Little Havana but I really wanted to find one without the typical Calle Ocho tourist vibe. This place is inside of a small grocery store and from what I gathered had mainly locals (though there were some other travelers for sure) bellying up to the counter for lunch. The service was quick and though the menu is in both English and Spanish my experience was that the staff did not speak English. It's always fun to dust off some rusty Spanish and I had a great time doing it in Miami in general. If Spanish is not your thing I am sure you could get by with some pointing and gesturing and the food would be worth the effort.

Definitely worth a trip here while you are in Miami. One note as someone who often travels with vegetarians is that this spot and Cuban food in general is not the most vegetarian friendly.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HBurrowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 46 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2016 via mobile

I wandered in here by accident while trying to find another restaurant in little Havana.

The staff were great, the food is delicious and the service is quick. Make sure you get there before 3pm to try their daily lunch specials. The Plantains / Maduros are cooked perfectly too :)

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank sunshinesmiler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2016 via mobile

Anything you eat it's always fresh and tasty, specialty if made on the spot, like a palomilla, milanesa and make sure to ask to be made on the grill, yuca is always soft , girls are super attentive, bread to start is a must. You will love it

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank JoseB841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2016

Traditional cuban food spoken here. There are just a few tables inside this grocery and seating at the counter. Menus in spanish and english. Be adventuresome and try a new dish and top it off with cuban coffee.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank newsguy167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2016

My spouse and I dined at El Nuevo Siglo on a Saturday morning in early July 2016. El Nuevo Siglo is a supermarket and café that is located in the Little Havana neighborhood of Miami, on SW 8th Street (or “Calle Ocho”, which means “Eighth Street” in Spanish) at SW 13th Avenue. Its name “El Nuevo Siglo” means “The New Century” in Spanish. It is open daily from 7:00 am to 9:00 pm.

El Nuevo Siglo is a full-service grocery store, including a butcher counter, pastry counter, fresh, frozen, and packaged foods, and beverages (both alcoholic and non- alcoholic). Although our local supermarket sells Goya and other Latin products, we enjoyed perusing the wider variety of items at El Nuevo Siglo was (for instance, we saw jarred pacaya palm, frozen tamales, and so on).

You can sit at the long diner-style lunch counter or at one of the four or five wooden high-top tables with captain’s chairs (bar stools). The staff cook right in front of the customer in a no-frills environment.

We ordered the Cuban sandwich, which was large enough for two people to share. We wish that we had been hungry enough to try one of the chilled desserts that are displayed in a refrigerated case atop the lunch counter, because they looked delicious, although it would have been hard to choose just one from the appealing selection of panna cotta, tres leches, flan, etc. that were available. Portions are large, prices are reasonable, the menu is multi-lingual (one side in Spanish and the other side in English), and daily special dishes are offered. (We wish that we visited on Sunday, when the special is oxtail.) Staff and local diners were welcoming– in particular, a regular customer named Santiago who recommended various dishes to us.

When you are in Little Havana, stop by El Nuevo Siglo to pick up some Latin products and enjoy a good meal!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Nuevo Siglo Supermarket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing