We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A mob” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Calle Ocho

Calle Ocho
Book In Advance
$59*
and up
Little Havana Food and Walking Tour in Miami
Sunny Isles Beach
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A mob”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Too loud, crowded and commercial especially the Calle Ocho festival is just a mob. Might be worth one visit, but leave Rolex at home with the credit cards.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Wind C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    131
    83
    41
    25
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerpen, België
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Calle Ocho”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I looked forward to visiting Calle Ocho. Maybe I expected too much, but in my view this is another street as there are many of them in Miami.
The cigar store is nice but I found the memorial statues to Cuba a bit disappointing.
The domino players were nice to look at for a couple of minutes, but in general I have the feeling that this is not a must-see area. Nice to hang around for an hour, but not the place to spend a half day.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven2981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, FL.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Went to theatre in the neighborhood and then ate there!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Last time my husband went before this most recent time, it was... in lousy shape. They have spruced it up. You feel safe walking around. There's a good selection of places to eat. It's just one of Miami's, "Must SEES!"

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank RavenTaoTLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I had been looking forward to Calle Ocho, especially Culturales Viernes (3rd Friday street fair) and Cuba Ocho Art Gallery and Cafe. Sadly neither lived up to the photos and publicity. Calle Ocho is just a gritty, shabby city street. Cuba Ocho on a day when no event is going on is worth about 10 minutes looking at paintings, not really functioning as a tapas cafe at all. The Versailles Bakery and Cafe is on Calle Ocho but not in the heart of the Cuban section, being many blocks closer to Coral Gables. You can do the famous Versailles Cuban coffee and have a sweet or savory pastry, or you can have a good meal. It is an inexpensive, busy place, popular with people from all walks of life, and much nicer than the little places in the heart of Cuban Calle Ocho.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KingstonPike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Los Pinarenos Fruteria - great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stumbled across this Mom and Pop open-air fruit stand and were amazed by the owner's enthusiasm (he greeted us with 'Congratulations - you found us!' as we rounded the corner). He told us all about the history of his family run business and then prepared us some delicious blended fruit drinks. We recommend it to anyone visiting Calle Ocho.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MandJ-CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calle Ocho also viewed

 

Been to Calle Ocho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing