We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calle Ocho” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Calle Ocho

Calle Ocho
Book In Advance
$59*
and up
Little Havana Food and Walking Tour in Miami
Antwerpen, België
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Calle Ocho”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I looked forward to visiting Calle Ocho. Maybe I expected too much, but in my view this is another street as there are many of them in Miami.
The cigar store is nice but I found the memorial statues to Cuba a bit disappointing.
The domino players were nice to look at for a couple of minutes, but in general I have the feeling that this is not a must-see area. Nice to hang around for an hour, but not the place to spend a half day.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven2981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    131
    84
    41
    26
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, FL.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Went to theatre in the neighborhood and then ate there!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Last time my husband went before this most recent time, it was... in lousy shape. They have spruced it up. You feel safe walking around. There's a good selection of places to eat. It's just one of Miami's, "Must SEES!"

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank RavenTaoTLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I had been looking forward to Calle Ocho, especially Culturales Viernes (3rd Friday street fair) and Cuba Ocho Art Gallery and Cafe. Sadly neither lived up to the photos and publicity. Calle Ocho is just a gritty, shabby city street. Cuba Ocho on a day when no event is going on is worth about 10 minutes looking at paintings, not really functioning as a tapas cafe at all. The Versailles Bakery and Cafe is on Calle Ocho but not in the heart of the Cuban section, being many blocks closer to Coral Gables. You can do the famous Versailles Cuban coffee and have a sweet or savory pastry, or you can have a good meal. It is an inexpensive, busy place, popular with people from all walks of life, and much nicer than the little places in the heart of Cuban Calle Ocho.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KingstonPike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Los Pinarenos Fruteria - great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stumbled across this Mom and Pop open-air fruit stand and were amazed by the owner's enthusiasm (he greeted us with 'Congratulations - you found us!' as we rounded the corner). He told us all about the history of his family run business and then prepared us some delicious blended fruit drinks. We recommend it to anyone visiting Calle Ocho.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MandJ-CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Undergoing good changes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Calle Ocho is now home to more than just good Cuban food. They now have a great ice cream shop called Azucar, where you can get cool and odd flavors of ice cream. They also have an art walk (last Friday of the month), a cultural walk (which includes local architecture factoids), and a bunch of great ethnic restaurants (Mexican, Honduran, etc). There are also a few new bars (even a drag club), and some old ones that you can go to see real live Latin artists (Hoy Como Ayer). Don't go there if you want to shop...its not really that kind of place unless you are looking for Cuban trinkets and art or books in Spanish. You will not find clothing here unless you are looking for a guayabera. Yes, it IS hot..the best time of year is December through February. And do not expect friendly people who speak English. It's a short drive from the airport and South Beach or downtown. Other than 2 restaurants and one or two shops, most of the action is east of 27th avenue. The famous restaurant Versailles is WEST of 27th ave. If the crowds are too much at Versailles, cross the street to La Carreta. It is owned by the same folks and the food is very similar. There is nothing much for kids unless you want to take them on the art walks or shopping at the costume/magic shop (La Casa De Los Trucos). If you like cigars, you can smoke them at the domino park while you sip Cuban coffee and sit with grumpy old men and talk about Fidel Castro. If you like independent movies, try the Tower Theater. Its also the meeting place for most of the walking tours, as well as near the street dancing and street bands.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calle Ocho also viewed

 

Been to Calle Ocho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing