We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Havana but getting too many tourists.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Calle Ocho

Calle Ocho
Book In Advance
$59*
and up
Little Havana Food and Walking Tour in Miami
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
479 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Little Havana but getting too many tourists.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I know that Florida's economy is based largely on tourists, so I do not mind that this is becoming a tourist destination. The problem in my eyes is that too many shops cater just to the tourists and are in the process of losing their Cuban authenticity. Nevertheless, there are many places to get a Cuban meal and finish it off with Cuban Coffee and a Cigar. Take the time to walk and look. I recently stopped at a bakery where no one spoke English, but the pastries were outstanding and very fairly priced. Get a few blocks away from the shops obviously catering to tourists and you will get to the heart of the Cuban spirit and culture.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    131
    83
    41
    25
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Cuban food and music in little Havanna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I highly recommend restaurant Versailles for excellent Cuban food and best Cuban coffee,.There is also a bakery with tables if you do not want a big meal,Prices are reasonable. Then at 9 pm you can go to club Hoy Como Ayer on Sat nights and enjoy the talent of Anamaria Perera. She is a fantastic singer,piano player and composer.You will love her and enjoy the flavor of the Cuban culture

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank DIPLOMAT1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
“LOUD, HOT AND CROUDED!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Well, I expected it to be just that! The music was very good and the variety just as good but, the ambiance... the lack of courtesy and good sportsmanship among the crowds, I personally, did not agree with. The variety in food was as expected and the food was very tasty as well thou. The parking availability and the prices charged were outrageous.

Helpful?
Thank Martha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Too little Cuban culture”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Guess I was waiting to hear salsa on the streets and people dancing all the time..It's just a street with some Cuban stores.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Joana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Not a place for tourists”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I enjoy going to calle 8 to the theater, as they bring plays from Latin America all the time and they have many theaters in this district. But otherwise, not much to see here.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SSMiami31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calle Ocho also viewed

 

Been to Calle Ocho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing