We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“not as great as it was a few year ago” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jungle Island

Jungle Island
Book In Advance
$47*
and up
Jungle Island Miami
Ranked #22 of 317 things to do in Miami
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Jungle Island is located between downtown Miami and South Beach. The park offers amazing animal exhibits, unique shows and up-close animal interactions unlike anywhere else.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“not as great as it was a few year ago”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

1. Serpentarium
At the final of the show there was a big boa, that was hold by at least 20 people. now its not part of the show.

2. next to the serpentarium there were staff that handed out to you scorpion, snakes, zorrillos, etc etc, now they arent there anymore.

3. the lions shows, they only shows the baby tiger and lions. few years back they showed the white lion (big one).
4. parking is $8

the good.:
the best of all was the parrot show, beautiful and funny. new guy: there was a bird that looked like a dinosaur that is new.

there are new lions and tigers.

Was cheap at least for me as i bought some tickets on ebay/craiglist 3 adults and 2 child for $35 all . ticket in park is adult $34 and child $23 plux tax EACH!. do the math!

bottom line: my second time here and wont go back.
TIP: when you enter they take you pictures, which each are $20 (robbery!!) but you can also buy a CD for $60 (still expensive but if you go with friends you can take all the pictures and divide the $60 in 2 or 3) so if you go with friends take as many pictures (group, couples, individuals) as you can and at the end buy the CD. you wont regret and will thank me this!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank jarp87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    544
    425
    260
    101
    136
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“VIP Tour was a blast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We took the VIP tour with Ryan, and had a great time! I would recommend getting the photography package too, so you don't have to risk missing out on any of the experience by fooling with your camera. Ryan was very informative, and all of the animal interactions were so much fun! We even stayed for a couple of hours after the tour to continue visiting the different areas and to see all of the shows. I think it's a great place for a visit!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“An escape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

If you want an escape from the usual, this is a good place to go. I have an annual pass which is worth the money even if you go twice a year. You can hangout with kangaroos for an extra $5, feed birds, and see exotic animals. The shows have less or more animals depending on the time of day and the weather but they are usually the same. Winged Wonders is a must see and Dr Wasabi is cool because they let you pet the animals if youre lucky. The whole area can be seen within 2 hours. More time is needed if you want to actually spend time watching the animals.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank anonymous12_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida Keys
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wildly over-priced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

$35 per person? For what?! While most of the negative reviews focus on the high price of souvenir photos or extra fees for holiday events, we we just disappointed by the sheer lack of anything to see for twice the price of similarly-themed destinations. This was a spectacular attraction 30 years and two locations ago, but now it's a shadow of its creator's original vision. Very sad. We got 20% off as members of ZooMiami and it was still over $50 for two adults. What a complete waste. Go to the Zoo. Go to Fairchild Gardens or one of Miami's many wonderful non-profit museums, but DO NOT waste your time and money at Jungle Island. Oh, and "management": please do not insult this reviewer with one of your condescending false apology responses unless you intend to make a refund (not a "return voucher") available to this extremely dissatisfied customer.

Helpful?
1 Thank MysteriousIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It snows in Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I went to the new program offered at Jungle Island during the holiday season "Winter Wonder Island'. I have to say it was such a great time and I got to see snow without having to get on a plane and head north! The holiday lights and offerings for kids were amazing and my niece had a great time getting her face painted and decorating a holiday cookie. It was so different to see the park at night having visited during the daytime. Completely different experience and vibe. The highlight was the tubing station where you can ride down a manmade hill made with ice and snow. It had been years since I had did something like that and it brought back great memories of my childhood. Great addition to the park during the holidays. I hope they bring back Winter Wonder Island next holiday season.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jungle Island also viewed

 

Been to Jungle Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing