We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blatant money grab and horrible experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Jungle Island

Jungle Island
1111 Parrot Jungle Trail, Miami, FL 33132
+1 305-400-7000
Website
Improve this listing
Book In Advance
$47*
and up
Jungle Island Miami
Ranked #23 of 315 things to do in Miami
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Jungle Island is located between downtown Miami and South Beach. The park offers amazing animal exhibits, unique shows and up-close animal interactions unlike anywhere else.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Blatant money grab and horrible experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Save your money and don't waste your time bringing your kids here. We bought a groupon for this which clearly stated in the first line of the description "snow and sledding" and upon arriving at the entrance were told that we had to purchase another pass which cost $10 per person to enter the snow area. We tried to purchase for the two kids but were told an adult had to accompany so we forked up the cash for all four of us. $40 dollars later we were given a pass to enter the snow area at 7:30pm with no indication of a time limit. We killed time by grabbing a bite to eat and walking around but really not much to see except a bunch of dark animal cages and mediocre light displays. Upon arriving at the snow area an employee advised we only get 30 minute shifts. It was 7:28pm. we then stood in a line and weren't able to enter until 7:38. When I showed the employee at the entrance the time on my phone I advised her we were promised 30 min, but her response was that it's too hard to get everybody out so they would call time 5 min before the 8pm shift. Really? Bring kids from miami to a place to see snow and give them 20 min to enjoy it before rudely ushering them out? I have never seen such a rude and more disorganized group of employees less interested in the customer experience at any children's event in my life. The only saving grace was the person at customer relations who was apologetic and offered us another 30 minutes in the snow but honestly the employees there were so rude we did not want to go back. If you have purchased this groupon and haven't used it yet try to get a refund. you don't get what you think you paid for and you will avoid a lot of frustration and disappointment.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Cristyp04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleIsland, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Island, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Hi Cristy, Thank you for sharing your experience of our Winter Wonder Island event. We wanted to take a moment and address your concerns regarding our snow play area. We can assure you that even if a session does not start on time, guests are guaranteed 30 minutes in the snow play area. Additionally, each session ticket has the session start time printed on it as well as the specified amount of time in order to avoid any confusion. In order to maintain the safety of our guests, we cannot allow children to enter the play area without adult supervision. We apologize for any miscommunication or any inconvenience that you experienced and we would like to encourage you to visit us again during our day time hours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    516
    418
    252
    97
    133
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Winter Wonderland is a Bad Joke”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Winter Wonderland is a big waste of money and a joke. Very disappointing experience. The "light trail" is barely lit, "candy land" is nonexistent, the "light show" seemed more like a couple of kids playing with lasers. We were never told that to go see the snow you had to pay an extra $10 per person. Based on the poor quality of the event we did not pay to access snow area because we figured we'd be throwing the money away. No Christmas music in the park, food was bad to say the least, parking was a nightmare, and the experience was overall a let-down.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleIsland, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Island, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to our Winter Wonder Island event. Each review is important to us so we thought we would take a moment to address your concerns. We are continuously adding activities and shows for our guests to experience in addition to the multiple trails of holiday lights and displays. While the snow play is additional fee, we can assure you that it is a once-in-a-lifetime experience and we do apologize that you did not choose to take part in the area. We’ve also developed a detailed plan to facilitate parking for our guests. With all of this in mind, we encourage you to visit us again in the future including paying us a visit during our day time park hours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke pines
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible attraction”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This was the worst experience ever! Long line for food that was sold out, laser light show broke down, we didn't get to see any shows, the snow was so hard we couldn't walk play nothing. Very unorganized, very annoyed. We went to guest relations and the manager David has accommodated our needs and respected out request for a refund, as soon as we get that through groupon we will be good to go. Don't waste time money or energy, because my Christmas tree looks better, and I don't charge for you to come see it!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Passionforpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleIsland, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Island, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to Winter Wonder Island. We thought we would take a moment to respond to your review and address some of the issues that you had. We’ve spoken with our food and beverage team and have increased the amount of product available each night as well as additional staff to accommodate everyone. The snow play area has received a tremendous amount of added attention and the area is now fluffy and light for guests to enjoy. In terms of your refund with Groupon, please do not hesitate to contact us should you have any trouble receiving the refund from them. We will be happy to help. We do hope that you will visit us again in the future especially during our day time hours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Winter wonderland is a scam!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

You pay almost $100 for a family of 4 Just to get in the doors... EVERYTHING inside cost more money. Literally everything. Biggest scam... The snow cost an extra $10 to play in. Whatever, it's Christmas right? Well, it's only for 20 minutes.

Avoid unless you enjoy giving money away

Helpful?
1 Thank Polo708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleIsland, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Island, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for visiting Jungle Island’s Winter Wonder Island. We wanted to take a moment and address some of your concerns. While the snow play area does require an additional fee for a 30 minute session, there are several activities within the park that are complementary to our guests including arts & crafts, letters to Santa, cookie decorating, face painting, Professor Hawk’s Holiday Adventure, the Northern Lights Laser show, the Elf Village Theatre and more! We do our best to accommodate our guests with a mixture of fee based activities and activities at no charge and are dismayed that you feel there were not enough things to do at no additional cost. Again, thank you for your feedback and hopefully you will consider visiting us during our normal day time hours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Winter Wonderland...so sad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We were promised snow, hot cocoa & that all of our winter dreams would come true. Hardly. Upon arrival we waited over 20 minutes for an overpriced admission and were notified that snow would be an additional $10 per person for 20 minutes, 2 and a half hours later. Initially none of the holiday lights were on and the signage was minimal at best. Candyland consisted of over priced vendors and a DJ spinning old wedding song tracks. The bird show was nice, especially the Cassowary. There were no directions to leave the elfish hell, but when we did we were asked to pay $15 for parking instead of the posted $8. Stick with the Miami Zoo.
By the way they are determined to not allow you to take your own photo, some even went so far as to put their rear in my lens.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank myspider1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleIsland, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Island, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for visiting Jungle Island’s Winter Wonder Island. Here on Jungle Island, we take each of our reviews seriously and wanted to take a moment and address some of your concerns. Since you’re visit we have taken great strides to resolve the issues that you mentioned above including notifying our parking department of the price discrepancy. Additionally, our snow time sessions are 30 minutes long and we have added more sessions to increase wait times for our guests. We have also increased the number of signs that we have in the park and have spoken with our photo department about the handling of guest photos. We do apologize that you were unsatisfied with your visit but we hope that you will visit us again in the future… especially to visit us during our day time park hours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jungle Island also viewed

 

Been to Jungle Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing