We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good but the bigger animals need more space” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jungle Island

Jungle Island
Book In Advance
$46.99*
and up
Jungle Island Miami
Ranked #22 of 318 things to do in Miami
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Jungle Island is located between downtown Miami and South Beach. The park offers amazing animal exhibits, unique shows and up-close animal interactions unlike anywhere else.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good but the bigger animals need more space”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was an outing for wife and mother for Mothers day. We arrived early as the gates opened and there was ample covered parking ($8.00). Entrance price was fair for this type of attraction and helped with a 20% online coupon.
There was a reprieve from the heat with covered walkways, which in South Florida is always welcome. There is a nice selection of wild cats including leopard, lion, white lions and "liger" The cats do have a clear glass panel for easier viewing. As this was originally Parrot Jungle there are plenty of birds, parrots included and feeding stations to feed them (25c). The kangaroo interaction cost $5:00 and you can feed and pet them. There are also other animal petting areas with goats. There are a few shows around the park which are well timed so one does not have to rush. There are many different walkways that make for an enjoyable walk though the park.
The main restaurant is located outside the gate, but a return stamp allows easy re-entry. Food and drinks were reasonably priced. Staff members are friendly and offer lots of information. If you go early enough, you can catch the feeding of the big cats.
All in all it was a very enjoyable but hot day. I originally was going to give 4 stars for the attraction but decided to remove one star because I feel that the bigger cats and orangutans need more space and they look a bit stressed.
None the less it was enjoyable for adults, however I am sure younger children would probably enjoy it more.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWearyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleIsland, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Island, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hi Weary Traveler,
Thank you for visiting Jungle Island and for taking a moment to write a review about your experience. We appreciate that you gave us three stars! However we wanted to address why we missed that 4th star. All of the enclosures on Jungle Island (including the big cat and orangutan exhibits) not only meet but exceed the requirements set by Florida Fish and Wildlife and the USDA. Jungle Island strives to provide the utmost care for our animals and provides daily enrichment activities for them. Animal care is a top priority and we receive numerous remarks on how well our animals are cared for from various organizations.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We hope that you will take the time visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    549
    430
    261
    102
    137
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cazu247@Hotmail.com
Level Contributor
455 reviews
207 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“good family activity”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We went on a fieldtrip and the staff could not be friendlier or helpful. Jungle Island has beautiful view of the bay and it is a little tricky getting there. However, this place is a little expensive for the displays and attractions.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank cazu247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleIsland, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Island, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hi cazu247… Thank you for visiting Jungle Island and for taking the time to share your experience with Trip Advisor. We apologize that you had some trouble finding us. We’re doing our best to provide more signage so that the park is easier to find. We hope that you will be back to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venezuela
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Many kind of parrots here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I never had been a lot of diferent species of parrots into the park and in some of case the birds live free in the area. And It is nice that you can give something(seed) to eat to the animals.

Helpful?
Thank AquilesZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleIsland, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Island, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hi AquilesZ,
Thank you for visiting Jungle Island and for taking the time to write a review for us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrew, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Loved it loved it loved it!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We absolutely loved jungle island

The park is the right size not too big not to small.

Price $74 for 2 people, but steep for us but we'll worth it.

The albino croc was very interesting, the liger, and the biggest bird I have ever seen right out Jurassic park, quite literally.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank paulm962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleIsland, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Island, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hi Paul… Thanks for visiting Jungle Island during your trip to Miami and for giving us a great review! The bird you saw is named Mama Cass and she’s a Cassowary. She’s pretty impressive and we’re glad that being able to see her resonated with you. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Take the VIP tour....awesome!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Ryan was our guide and he was fantastic.....the tour is worth every penny....spring for the photographer as well...I recommend "shooter"

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lesleydscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleIsland, Public Relations Manager at Jungle Island, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hi Lesley! Thank you for visiting Jungle Island and for taking our VIP Safari Tour! We’ll be sharing your comments with Ryan so that he can continue to do an awesome job! We hope that you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jungle Island also viewed

 

Been to Jungle Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing