We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Horrible place and staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Jungle Island

Jungle Island
Book In Advance
$47*
and up
Jungle Island Miami
Ranked #22 of 317 things to do in Miami
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Jungle Island is located between downtown Miami and South Beach. The park offers amazing animal exhibits, unique shows and up-close animal interactions unlike anywhere else.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Horrible place and staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We do not recommend this place to any family. We had a serious incident involving one of the macaus in the feeding area close to the entrance (which is completely unsupervised). The bird caused serious injuries to my son which required immediate medical attention. Despite seeing a small child bleeding and crying in pain the staff (believe me!) was completely adamant to help us and show us the place designated to provide first aid treatment. Not only that but once in the office the insensitive treatment continued. Incredible! I could not believe the lack of sensitivity for a child. This is the time when we are still waiting for the Incident Report filed and that they said their insurance provider will send us. NEVER AGAIN.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Manicalunga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    542
    425
    258
    99
    136
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Place for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Great place to take kids, the scheduled shows were fantastic and the tigers were gorgeous! My son thoroughly enjoyed it. It is not a big park so you can get around it in a morning or an afternoon.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank pipwake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Tennessee
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Colorful and exciting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I love the Manu encounter, the birds and monkeys are soooo close. The shows are all great and enjoyable for the whole family. There is a petting zoo and you can purchase food for the animals there. Throughout the park there are birds which you can feed. All of them are really tame and sweet.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“City-style jungle”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Jungle Island is a bit of misnomer. This tourist attraction is on an island between Miami and Miami Beach in Biscayne Bay. But jungle? Well, it's a nicely landscaped walk in a pretty park with lots of parrots and some other animals. A bit disappointing. Size is small, all jungle paths are paved paths. But it is a nice "civilized city" version of a jungle, all within easy walking without breaking a sweat, unless you are there in July! I've been there a couple times. Best time is spring or fall or winter. Summer is quite hot and humid.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank SusanNeuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“bright and beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The garden and birds where great. It was exciting and enjoyable to walk through such a colorful and bright, natural tropical environment with the birds hanging out all over, and to be able to interact with the animals, and hold them. The shows where good and the place was clean.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jungle Island also viewed

 

Been to Jungle Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing