We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Mediterranean lunch”
Review of The Cheese Course

The Cheese Course
Ranked #1,058 of 4,201 Restaurants in Miami
Cuisines: European
Restaurant details
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Superb Mediterranean lunch”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My husband and I went to lunch at The Cheese Course today, taking advantage of a BOGO sandwich promotion we had found in a local "coupon clipper" publication.The food is amazing. My husband had the Albacore White Tuna Melt--tuna salad with melted gruyere cheese and topped with shredded carrots and greens. I had the Tuscan Roast Vegetable sandwich--roasted eggplant zucchini, and yellow squash topped with incredibly delicious melted Pecorino Toscano cheese, red onion, and sundried tomato pesto. We both had our sandwiches on fresh whole wheat demi-baguettes. (They actually ASK when you order if you would prefer white or whole wheat, unlike most places where you have to drag it out of them that whole wheat is an option, even when it is.) Mmmmmm...!

The restaurant portion of The Cheese Course in very small, comprising the southernmost wall paralleling the service counter. The chairs are not designed for being sat in for an extensive period of time. The atmosphere is that of a European cheese shop/bistro. Most of TCC is a retail store selling upscale cheeses and wine.The cheeses all seemed way beyond my budget, but the restaurant section was actually quite reasonable considering the quality of the food and size of the sandwiches.

I can't wait to come back here again--maybe one evening for a wine and cheese course Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Profco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    28
    5
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
1,039 reviews
637 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 505 helpful votes
“Great Sandwiches and Wine/Cheese Tastings!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The Cheese Course in Pinecrest is nestled in among a group of stores in a strip shopping mall. It makes a pleasant change from the usual fare. If you join their mailing list they will alert you to cheese evenings and free wine and cheese tastings (usually on a Friday night). I bought a camembert in here that was seriously the best I have ever had. It wasn't cheap at $14.99 but it was worth every bite! They have great sandwiches with interesting choice of fillings and the wines by the glass are nice, albeit on the high end ($9 or thereabouts). They also have cheese plates and salads to choose from. Really makes a nice change from the standard restaurants. One thing to note: if you order a sandwich to take away, don't wait by the register for 10 minutes like I did, there is a metal shelving unit by the kitchen on which they place the take out orders which was not explained to me by the person taking my money so go get your sandwich there after you order it! Hence my service rating is only average on this review!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mwooduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
529 reviews
371 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Good quiche”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stumbled across this place while doing business nearby. I ordered the ham and onion quiche. It was served with a small green salad. Everything was fresh. You order at a counter and in about 4-5 minutes a staff person delivers your food. This reminds me of a small deli. Staff was friendly and they sell a variety of imported cheese and breads. The meal was reasonable at $10. Will definitely go again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank acielesz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Cheese Course Mid Town Shops Miami”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

An awesome Mid-Town Shops lunch / light dinner alternative. Just a block away from the "food court" area, it doesn't feel like a chain. With it's casual euro-ambiance, friendly and knowledgeable staff, and great selection of cheese, wine & meats you will not be disappointed, and you too will want return again & again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BILLBROWNMiami_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
106 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This beautiful restaurant is quite unique in Miami! If you are missing the good European cheeses and want to try excellent american cheeses as well, this is the place to go. You can opt for sandwiches, salads or platters. I would advise you to share platters (usa, france, italy or spain) in order to try different cheeses. Enjoy!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wwidget87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cheese Course also viewed

 

Been to The Cheese Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing