We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Comfortable place to sleep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shalimar Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shalimar Motel
Ranked #67 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    87
    73
    26
    17
See reviews for
52
102
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stayed here with a friend for one night, pre-cruise (January 25, 2013). The guy at the front desk (dreadlocked guy from Wisconsin) was very helpful - helped us navigate to a shoe store, liquor store, brought us extra water and towels as we asked. Not in the greatest part of town... Biscayne Blvd - scary, don't walk down the street alone after dark. It was relatively clean, bed comfortable, but it is NOISY. The road noise is constant. The A/C unit helped drown out some of the noise but the gap under the door was almost 2 inches - didn't help keep out the noise. It was a 27$ cab ride from Miami International Airport and 20$ to the Port of Miami. There were 2 great restaurants up the street a couple of blocks - one for dinner (Devita's) one for breakfast (Liva Lounge). It is a few blocks from Biscayne Plaza (Payless, Liquor Mart, Subway, Rainbow Shoes).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennigreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

As the clerk at the "desk" stated- you are not in a very good neighborhood. If you want coffee you better drive a couple of miles. Which also made sense because the "continental breakfast" they offer on booking.com does not exist! It's so bad they don't even have an ice machine because it would get stolen according to the young man at the window (yes bullet-proof glass window).
Don' t make the mistake we did based on location relative to the Port of Miami - you would do better to stay out of this neighborhood and away from the Shalimar no-tell motel.

Room Tip: there is no pool and if there was I am sure it would have been full of who knows what. no fitness c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JC S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Booked off of Red Tag,good price.
Taxi told us it was not a good area,but has improved.
Room was large and clean.
Pretty empty, not a lot items. Had to ask for A/C to be turned on at front desk.
Had pasteries and good coffee in in the "lobby" till 9am.
Was no shuttle to cruise terminal, got a cab for 30$
Good for one night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherish m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights prior to our cruise out of Miami. Here are the Pros... It was a nice hotel, the staff was very nice and accommodating. There was a city bus right outside, although we didn't use it.The owner lady was very nice and full of information.There was a sitting area with some tables outside of the office, which was a nice area to hang out. The rooms were clean and newly renovated with a small fridge, T.V. with about 20 channels, nice T.V. cabinet with some drawers, large closet area, bathroom with tub/shower, nice decor.
Now the Cons...It was not in a very good location, no gas stations, grocery stores, restaurants. There was a Starbucks about 3 blocks.There were some shady people that hung out on the streets at night. Our room was on the backside of the hotel, so our view was of the alley (not clean or attractive) there wasn't a balcony as indicated it was the walkway that you used it get to the rooms, but there was 1 chair on it. There was no pool. There was no breakfast except for a few pastries and 2 cups of coffee per room (strange I thought) otherwise the cups were $0.75 each. There were some vending machines, but nothing great. There was no ice machine..(strange again). We had 2 double beds that were low to the ground ( only one mattress, no box spring) the headboards were neat as far as Art Deco but they were shaped as the pillows would fall in between them and we were constantly hitting our heads on the metal, they needed a straight board to keep the pillows up (I know that sounds weird, but you would have to see it to know what I mean).The towels were so small and thin, my 6'4 husband had to use 2! They were renovating some rooms next to us, so they may be adding a breakfast room later on or something.
We probably wouldn't stay here again, although it may improve in a year.

Room Tip: If you want to stay here, ask for a ground floor on the front side of the motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank praise_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jelena V, Reputation Manager at Shalimar Motel, responded to this review, March 20, 2016
Greetings from Shalimar , thank you for your review, yes indeed we had some construction that period of time. sorry that we didnt met your expectation, kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gelrode, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

New big rooms, with comfortable king size bed. Bathroom rather small, but clean and functional. Staff is very friendly. Continental breakfast not that great. Coffe, tea and some croissants. But that is anywhere in Florida. Plenty of free parking space for your car. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jelena V, Reputation Manager at Shalimar Motel, responded to this review, March 20, 2016
Dear Nancy , thank you for your review and we hope to see you soon at the motel, kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

It was a good price,clean enough room...but so noisy that we barely slept at all. You could hear everything from the other rooms,the street, the neighbors who apparently had roosters(who sang at 3am!) and we could hear the people in the rooms next to us and above us very well.
If you're looking for a cheap/clean place fine...try to at least get a room in the back, and renovated...ours wasn't so apparently the huge gaps in the door were due to that so it was even noisier for us. When we asked to be changed to another room they said we would have to pay more since ours wasn't a renovated room and others were! And when we asked about the rooster we were told that they are everywhere and 'normal' in this 'rural' part of miami....sure...whatever. There are no refunds,you pay all upfront so you will lose money if you decide to go somewhere else.
Get some earplugs and you'll be ok.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smartazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
0.2 mi away
New Yorker Boutique Hotel
8.8 mi away
Quality Inn Miami Airport Hotel
6.2 mi away
Regency Hotel Miami
Regency Hotel Miami
#30 of 121 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Ramada Miami Springs/Miami International Airport
6.3 mi away
Clarion Inn  & Suites Miami Airport
0.6 mi away
The Vagabond Hotel
The Vagabond Hotel
#41 of 121 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shalimar Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalimar Motel

Property: Shalimar Motel
Address: 6200 Biscayne Blvd, Miami, Fl. 33138, Miami, FL 33138-6224
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shalimar Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Budget Places so you can book your Shalimar Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing