We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shalimar Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
King Motel(Miami)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveler rating
38
125
97
35
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
125
97
35
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyogurtcontinental breakfaststarbucks within walking distancebus stop rightcleaned every daybiscayne blvdsuper shuttlebottom floormain roaddesign districtno elevatordecent stayroom was spotlessmini fridgestayed here for one nightthe breakfast areamiami beach
Filter
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 317 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2013

As the clerk at the "desk" stated- you are not in a very good neighborhood. If you want coffee you better drive a couple of miles. Which also made sense because the "continental breakfast" they offer on booking.com does not exist! It's so bad they don't even have an ice machine because it would get stolen according to the young man at the window (yes bullet-proof glass window).
Don' t make the mistake we did based on location relative to the Port of Miami - you would do better to stay out of this neighborhood and away from the Shalimar no-tell motel.

Room Tip: there is no pool and if there was I am sure it would have been full of who knows what. no fitness center = but this is not a place you would want to hang around believe me. no ice machine, no anything but rude people and misleading advertising including booking.com
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JC S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Booked off of Red Tag,good price.
Taxi told us it was not a good area,but has improved.
Room was large and clean.
Pretty empty, not a lot items. Had to ask for A/C to be turned on at front desk.
Had pasteries and good coffee in in the "lobby" till 9am.
Was no shuttle to cruise terminal, got a cab for 30$
Good for one night.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherish m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights prior to our cruise out of Miami. Here are the Pros... It was a nice hotel, the staff was very nice and accommodating. There was a city bus right outside, although we didn't use it.The owner lady was very nice and full of information.There was a sitting area with some tables outside of the office, which was a nice area to hang out. The rooms were clean and newly renovated with a small fridge, T.V. with about 20 channels, nice T.V. cabinet with some drawers, large closet area, bathroom with tub/shower, nice decor.
Now the Cons...It was not in a very good location, no gas stations, grocery stores, restaurants. There was a Starbucks about 3 blocks.There were some shady people that hung out on the streets at night. Our room was on the backside of the hotel, so our view was of the alley (not clean or attractive) there wasn't a balcony as indicated it was the walkway that you used it get to the rooms, but there was 1 chair on it. There was no pool. There was no breakfast except for a few pastries and 2 cups of coffee per room (strange I thought) otherwise the cups were $0.75 each. There were some vending machines, but nothing great. There was no ice machine..(strange again). We had 2 double beds that were low to the ground ( only one mattress, no box spring) the headboards were neat as far as Art Deco but they were shaped as the pillows would fall in between them and we were constantly hitting our heads on the metal, they needed a straight board to keep the pillows up (I know that sounds weird, but you would have to see it to know what I mean).The towels were so small and thin, my 6'4 husband had to use 2! They were renovating some rooms next to us, so they may be adding a breakfast room later on or something.
We probably wouldn't stay here again, although it may improve in a year.

Room Tip: If you want to stay here, ask for a ground floor on the front side of the motel.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank praise_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jelena V, Reputation Manager at Shalimar Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2016

Greetings from Shalimar , thank you for your review, yes indeed we had some construction that period of time. sorry that we didnt met your expectation, kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

New big rooms, with comfortable king size bed. Bathroom rather small, but clean and functional. Staff is very friendly. Continental breakfast not that great. Coffe, tea and some croissants. But that is anywhere in Florida. Plenty of free parking space for your car. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jelena V, Reputation Manager at Shalimar Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2016

Dear Nancy , thank you for your review and we hope to see you soon at the motel, kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

It was a good price,clean enough room...but so noisy that we barely slept at all. You could hear everything from the other rooms,the street, the neighbors who apparently had roosters(who sang at 3am!) and we could hear the people in the rooms next to us and above us very well.
If you're looking for a cheap/clean place fine...try to at least get a room in the back, and renovated...ours wasn't so apparently the huge gaps in the door were due to that so it was even noisier for us. When we asked to be changed to another room they said we would have to pay more since ours wasn't a renovated room and others were! And when we asked about the rooster we were told that they are everywhere and 'normal' in this 'rural' part of miami....sure...whatever. There are no refunds,you pay all upfront so you will lose money if you decide to go somewhere else.
Get some earplugs and you'll be ok.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smartazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews