We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, clean rooms, under construction”
Review of Shalimar Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shalimar Motel
Ranked #74 of 124 Hotels in Miami
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights prior to our cruise out of Miami. Here are the Pros... It was a nice hotel, the staff was very nice and accommodating. There was a city bus right outside, although we didn't use it.The owner lady was very nice and full of information.There was a sitting area with some tables outside of the office, which was a nice area to hang out. The rooms were clean and newly renovated with a small fridge, T.V. with about 20 channels, nice T.V. cabinet with some drawers, large closet area, bathroom with tub/shower, nice decor.
Now the Cons...It was not in a very good location, no gas stations, grocery stores, restaurants. There was a Starbucks about 3 blocks.There were some shady people that hung out on the streets at night. Our room was on the backside of the hotel, so our view was of the alley (not clean or attractive) there wasn't a balcony as indicated it was the walkway that you used it get to the rooms, but there was 1 chair on it. There was no pool. There was no breakfast except for a few pastries and 2 cups of coffee per room (strange I thought) otherwise the cups were $0.75 each. There were some vending machines, but nothing great. There was no ice machine..(strange again). We had 2 double beds that were low to the ground ( only one mattress, no box spring) the headboards were neat as far as Art Deco but they were shaped as the pillows would fall in between them and we were constantly hitting our heads on the metal, they needed a straight board to keep the pillows up (I know that sounds weird, but you would have to see it to know what I mean).The towels were so small and thin, my 6'4 husband had to use 2! They were renovating some rooms next to us, so they may be adding a breakfast room later on or something.
We probably wouldn't stay here again, although it may improve in a year.

Room Tip: If you want to stay here, ask for a ground floor on the front side of the motel.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank praise_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jelena V, Reputation Manager at Shalimar Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2016

Greetings from Shalimar , thank you for your review, yes indeed we had some construction that period of time. sorry that we didnt met your expectation, kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
There are newer reviews for Shalimar Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 146 of 286 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2013

New big rooms, with comfortable king size bed. Bathroom rather small, but clean and functional. Staff is very friendly. Continental breakfast not that great. Coffe, tea and some croissants. But that is anywhere in Florida. Plenty of free parking space for your car. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jelena V, Reputation Manager at Shalimar Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2016

Dear Nancy , thank you for your review and we hope to see you soon at the motel, kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

It was a good price,clean enough room...but so noisy that we barely slept at all. You could hear everything from the other rooms,the street, the neighbors who apparently had roosters(who sang at 3am!) and we could hear the people in the rooms next to us and above us very well.
If you're looking for a cheap/clean place fine...try to at least get a room in the back, and renovated...ours wasn't so apparently the huge gaps in the door were due to that so it was even noisier for us. When we asked to be changed to another room they said we would have to pay more since ours wasn't a renovated room and others were! And when we asked about the rooster we were told that they are everywhere and 'normal' in this 'rural' part of miami....sure...whatever. There are no refunds,you pay all upfront so you will lose money if you decide to go somewhere else.
Get some earplugs and you'll be ok.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smartazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The room was clean and staff friendly. Should be OK for 1 night stay. The main drawback is that the hotel is very noisy at night because of its location on the US 1. Also, the neighbourhood is sort of fishy.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antipop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at the Shalimar 4 nights in a row and they charged us a different price every time,I asked why but I wasn't given a straight answer!
Even though there was a non-smoking sign in the room, it smelled of smoke and the bedspread had cigarette burns on it as well as the basin and there was an ashtray on the table.
Bottle water is complimentary but we only got it the first night, asked for more but claimed you get them only once.
The room had a burnt light bulb and on reporting it, I was told they din't have new bulbs but I could go and get one myself!Of course they never addressed that problem.
The wifi worked great and the free parking was very convenient.The location is very good.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are quieter.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nahha301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The hotel is in good location, newly renovated room, and staff is very very helpful.

But maybe also because they're renovating, not everything is ready in the room when they settle the guests. Sometimes no hot shower, and sometimes no TV program.

We stayed for 2 nights. The first night we find there is no hot water for shower in bathroom, and our room is next to the big street so you can hear the cars rushing by. We told the staff the next morning and she gave us a new room in the back.

It was quiet and with hot shower, but the TV has only one channel (compared with the noisy room, which has several channels) The cleaning lady also does not change the shampoo because it's only half bottle left.

Also, the door lock is extremly difficult to open, you need to know the trick and practice several times to be able to open it.

Having said that, the staff is very very friendly and helpful. They try to provide the rooms we need and cope with our needs.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Connie407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled solo
Thank Felipe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikig690, Manager at Shalimar Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
0.2 mi away
New Yorker Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sinbad Motel
Sinbad Motel
#73 of 124 in Miami
69 reviews
4.8 mi away
Jefferson Hotel
Jefferson Hotel
#89 of 124 in Miami
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Quality Inn South at the Falls
6.1 mi away
Ramada Miami Springs/Miami International Airport
0.6 mi away
The Vagabond Hotel
The Vagabond Hotel
#21 of 124 in Miami
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shalimar Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalimar Motel

Address: 6200 Biscayne Blvd, Miami, Fl. 33138, Miami, FL 33138-6224
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 124 Hotels in Miami
Price Range: $79 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shalimar Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Shalimar Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing