We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Overpriced less than average food, good wine selection overall a big disappoitment!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Carajo

El Carajo
Ranked #68 of 4,087 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced less than average food, good wine selection overall a big disappoitment!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I found this restaurant on my recent trip to Miami by using the Tripadvisor app. According to the app, this restaurant was ranked among top 10 in Miami (out of over 1,000). This is a Spanish tapas and wine bar, located at a gas station behind a wine store, nothing fancy, but once you step into the restaurant space, it has a nice decor and atmosphere. The wine selection is extensive and for that reason a little overwhelming, so we asked for the sommelier so he can offer some suggestions, they did not have one. When the "wine expert" came by our table after 10 mins wait, we told him we wanted something that would pair well with mixed seafood and meat tapas, he suggested a Pinot Noir, which you don't have to be an expert to make this suggestion. The tapas came.....the chorizo (Spanish sausage) was swimming in a sea of oil, the octopus was rubbery and drenched with smoked paprika, the croquettes were "gluey" , we then order a crab crepe, the meat was imitation crab with mayo....need I say more! We ordered one desert which together with the wine were the only things that were decent, and for these few tapas, two glasses of wine, and one desert we paid $98! (need I remind you this was at the back of a store in a gas station, not Midtown in NYC!)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mconcepcion920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    90
    26
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“wonderful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

I had the best time at this place. It was a surprise to find this little restaurant inside a Deli into a Gas station.. It had to be in Miami where anything is possible. If you are in Miami go there! don;t miss it. It is a local thing and a lot of fun and delicious flavors you won't forget.
The atmosphere is great, the staff courteous the wines are pretty good.
We went there for lunch and drank the Sangria. As the main course I had Callos a la Madrileña ( 6
Tripe Stew). I will be back and strongly recommend!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CampodeFiori2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Miami's best kept secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stopped for gas and found this jewel on the inside, had dinner on our last night in Miami and was not disappointed, food and atmosphere was outstanding!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank stiglich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Yes, it really is inside the gas station”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

El Carajo (The Crow's Nest) serves wonderful tapas and offers an extraordinarily fine selection of wines. To get there, however, you really do have to go into the gas station. As you make your way through the Coconut Grove section of Miami, just a block or so off U.S. Route 1, you arrive at what looks like a perfectly ordinary gas station, with pumps and parking spaces and a convenience store. You will think that this fine and widely-praised Miami restaurant you've heard about must be behind the gas station, or around from the gas station, or somewhere other than the gas station. But disregard those little voices of doubt in your mind. Go ahead and park in one of the parking spaces for the gas station. Walk into the gas station as if all you wanted was to buy a quart of oil, or a package of Slim Jims, or a Dr. Pepper. And when you do so, you will find in the back of the restaurant -- beyond the normal appurtenances of a gas-station convenience store -- an amazing array of wines, and a bakery whose shelves fairly groan with rich and tempting dessert items, and beyond that El Carajo, the great tapas restaurant you've been looking for.

The scale of the restaurant is intimate -- just a few tables. The look is Castilian brick-and-sandstone (fabricated, admittedly, but tastefully so), and the wait staff are unfailingly prompt and courteous. The selection of wines-by-the-glass is extraordinary; my wife thoroughly enjoyed her sangria, and I had a delightful Argentine malbec. The tapas that our party enjoyed included empanada de langosta (mini-pie stuffed with lobster), sardinas de santurce (grilled sardines), pulpo a la gallega (Galician octopus -- reminded us of being in Santiago de Compostela), and chorizo al vino (sausage in wine sauce). That list should give you a good sense of the variety of tapas, and the delightful dining experience, available to you at El Carajo. All you need to do is think counterintuitively, park at the gas station, and walk into the gas station.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank GettysburgPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Amazing Tapas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

This restaurant is a real find...when you find it. It is in the gas station and not well marked. The food is incredible with a wine list to match. There is something for everyone on the menu.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Carajo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing