We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, it is in the building that previously housed gas station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Carajo

El Carajo
2465 S.W. 17th Avenue, Miami, FL 33145
305.856.2424
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 4,008 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hopkinton, NH
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Yes, it is in the building that previously housed gas station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Excellent service and food. We had the chorizo, fried chickpeas and meat platter. The skirt steak was excellent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rothnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    72
    21
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lousiville, KY
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious Food in a BP Station”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My wife and had lunch at El Carajo after visiting Vizcaya. First, the tapas were delicious. The place is very nice and the people were friendly and the service was great! Second, finding it was a little difficult. The GPS said we passed it. We returned and didn't see it. I called and the person who answered said we are in the BP. They are and they also have what looks like a great wine shop. Try it! You will like it. It may also be a good place to get gas.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Card2inal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestead, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“And They Call It A Gas Station?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

What can I say but I even sent in an invitation to Guy Fieri at Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives to come and enjoy a great little off the wall restaurant that offers great food, great wine (excellent value and only $10 corkage fee) and an atmosphere like no other. If you want to go on a weekend better make reservations. I suggest a weekday lunch or saturday or sunday lunch. When you drive into this BP gas station you wouldn't believe the wine selection and the food. Very cozy and just a great get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. A must see when in Miami

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Oscar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
129 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Spectacular wine selection and excellent food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a hidden gem located in the back of a BP gas station convenience store. Huge and spectacular wine selection, very nice atmosphere and excellent tapas. One of the best Spanish restaurants in Miami. We went several times and every time is a pleasure! Very good quality of ingredients and real Spanish seasoning. Excellent service, friendly and professional.
It is a perfect place to go with friends and family but maybe not the best option for young kids or babies.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mah10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unexpected and and amazing wine selection!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

It seems almost a shame to take away from the experience of driving up to a BP gas station for a great meal of spanish tapas... most people enjoy it more when they live the experience for themselves.... The food is tasty, and the menu is delightful. The wine selection is nothing short of spectacular, with incredibly affordable prices. Enjoy the experience, and give the gas station a chance to delight your senses. You will not be disappointed.

Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Carajo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing