We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Unexpected and and amazing wine selection!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Carajo

El Carajo
Ranked #60 of 4,019 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unexpected and and amazing wine selection!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

It seems almost a shame to take away from the experience of driving up to a BP gas station for a great meal of spanish tapas... most people enjoy it more when they live the experience for themselves.... The food is tasty, and the menu is delightful. The wine selection is nothing short of spectacular, with incredibly affordable prices. Enjoy the experience, and give the gas station a chance to delight your senses. You will not be disappointed.

Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    81
    22
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
178 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

I am happy that we didn't backed up when we saw that the restaurant is inside a BP gas station!
The atmosphere is great, the spanish theme decor and spanish music create a very nice place to eat and have fun with friends.
The menu is pretty extensive and you whant to try everything :)
They also have wines from all over the world at a reasonable price, we had an Argentinean malbec delicious.
Defenetly Im coming back with more friends and family.
Remember to make a recervation firts.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Corina0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“AMAZING hidden GEM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I almost didnt write this because well, I don't want to spoil its "quaint hidden style"
FOOD = fantastic!
Service= on point!
definitely a very intimate place to bring a foodie friend

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Princess370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Vibe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

El Carajo International Tapas & Wine is located in the back of a gas station. They serve the best Tapas and Corvina fish dishes you ever had. Go and enjoy. I did.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Samantha Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My wife and I walked to this restaurant from the Metro Vizcaya Station, it took us about 15 minutes and that was when we actually overshot it by a bit.

We arrived at 12:53h on Wednesday.2013.Jan.02. The restaurant is located in the rear of the gas station's convenience store. It's hard to believe such a good restaurant is situated where it is.

When we arrived there were only 6 other people eating and so we were seated immediately. Spanish music is played in the background and the interior is beautifully painted such that it gives a very relaxed and laid back feeling.

They have wines from all over the world, but as we're not big drinkers, we passed as we surely wouldn't be able to appreciate whatever we ordered.

The menu is quite extensive and at first we were overwhelmed and didn't know what to order.

Salads, soups, cold and hot tapas, paella, meals, and desserts.

In the end, we ordered:

1. $16 - Corvina al Grill en Salsa de Mostaza y Camarones (Fresh Corvina Grilled Served with Shrimps & Mustard Sauce)
2. $13.50 - Crepe de Cangrejos (Crab Meat Crepe)

Appetizer bread with very light olive oil and hot pepper was served, the oil and bread combination was great.

The Corvina fish was grilled to perfection, honestly, I've never had a more delicious grilled fish. The yucca was soft and warm, much like taro but not as sweet, yet still a delight to the senses. The plantains were sweet and yummy!

The Crepe's mixture was an excellent thick and creamy blend of crab meat, the cheese on the top added a perfect bit of sweetness and the portion was large.

These dishes were perfect for sharing and I really suggest eating here with as many friends and family as you can and sharing everything you order. (18% gratuity for parties of 6 or more)

My wife and I were pretty full after our meal and actually didn't have room for dessert, which usually doesn't happen.

If I'm ever back in Miami, I would definitely go back to this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank easyHwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Carajo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing