We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediocre service Food was al tempo to cold Flavors are not .,,, on it ! Norman .,,. Bad Job” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tuyo Restaurant

Tuyo Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Tuyo Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #246 of 4,138 Restaurants in Miami
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Transit: Metrorail
Description: Tuyo sits atop Miami Dade College's Miami Culinary Institute, offering a spectacular view of the bay and Miami skyline. Its breakthrough recipe for culinary excellence in the 21st century infuses a trailblazing menu with the Institute's state-of-the-art approach to the culinary arts, setting the table for food culture innovation by focusing on environmentally sound practices and drawing upon the food grown locally and in the Institute's edible organic garden.
Miami
Level Contributor
115 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Mediocre service Food was al tempo to cold Flavors are not .,,, on it ! Norman .,,. Bad Job”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

Ecpensive for a mediocre food and service !!

Norman ..., re invent the issues !

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    30
    16
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“I loved it, great ambiance, good food and excellent service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

Husband and I follow cheff Norman Van Aken since his first Coral Gables restaurant, and were very happy when learned about Tuyo. Recently visitted for the first time on a dinner and theater night and were very pleased. The ambiance is great, beautiful decor and the views of downtown and the bay are awesome. The food was good as expected from Norman, excellent mixed of flavors, specially like the Voyagers Menu, which changes I beleive monthly, it is sort of a testing menu around food of a particular region. Best of all was the service.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eleang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1,755 reviews
1,377 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 938 helpful votes
“Fantastic Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

This is one of the best places in Miami. Having opened just 3 or 4 months ago, its no surprise to me that the place is already fabulous, as it's being run by Norman Van Aken... one of the best chefs in the USA. I used to love his place Norman's in Coral Gables and I'm so glad to see the chef back... and better than ever.

We were in town for the Food and Wine Festival in South Beach and decided to check out this new spot. Had an amazing tasting menu and some excellent wines from their well chosen list. Also, great views... located near the AA Arena. Highly recommend going.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank WINEandTRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Extraordinary Dining Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

I must first admit that i have been a fan of Chef Norman for many years, since his early days in Key West. I have been fortunate to sample many of his meals at four different venues before, but i have never had a better meal or dining experience than at Tuyo. The service was warm and attentive, without overdoing it. The ambiance is stunning, and the food did not disappoint. We had the conch chowder and Oyster Pan stew to begin, and there was an incredible explosion of taste and texture in my oyster dish. I was initially disappointed in the smallish serving when i received it, but it was totally satisfying. The yellowtail snapper and the Pompano were excellent, again a feast of flavors and inventive combinations, which even carried over to the pumpkin cheesecake. I look forward to visiting again next time in Miami. Kudos to Chef VanAken, i was truly impressed once again with how great a meal can be!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank conchdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

First course was RAW ceviche not cooked in lemon or lime as it should have been prepared. The chef's signature ,Key West fish, dish sat on a mound of mashed potatoes, topped by super salty spinach, almost to salty to eat.
The bread, ambiance and service were very good but not worth the high price.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BostonCarmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tuyo Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tuyo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing