We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Portuguese restaurants in town”
Review of Jardim de Portugal

Jardim de Portugal
Ranked #30 of 4,202 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Coral Way
Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best Portuguese restaurants in town”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I have been so several Portuguese restaurants since I love the food and I would say that up to know they are the best. My personal favorites are:
Appetizer: "Lulas Grelhadas"
Main: "Carne de porco a Alentejana"
Desert: "Delicia de Fatima"
My recommendation is to go and try it at least one. Portuguese food is among the most tasteful in the world and this restaurant an excellent representation of their flavor and culture.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alejonavarro76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    39
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant for Family and Friends”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Excellent food and service for any ocassion. Can get a little loud as it is a small restaurant. Highly recommend the Bife de Casa and the churrasco and you must try the fresh fried potatoes and the Port flan

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dargis22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
74 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The Best Portuguese Restaurant in town.”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is one of my favorite places in Miami, very authentic. Eating here really does transport you across the ocean.

If you can, go for their weekday lunch, which is a great value compared to the regular menu.
There is salad or soup, the latter usually a vague "vegetable soup" when asked for detail, but nonetheless turns out delicious, especially with a swirl of olive oil.

The bacalhau a bras continues to be my favorite: finely shredded codfish, onion and shoe string sized fried potato scrambled with egg. It's done better than many others: light and not greasy. Bacalhau a Gomes de Sa is a more healthful cousin, using boiled egg and steamed potato.

Bacalhau Fresco a Moda de Braga is deep fried fresh codfish covered with onions and pickles, served with fried potatoes. The dish tastes better than its description. The codfish is firmly textured and delicately flavored, barely battered, a whole different animal feom your average fried fish. It sits on a bed of fried potato cubes, topped with a type of giardiniera. The sourness of the vegetables cuts the fat from the potatoes and perks your appetite, so you keep eating more...

The Stewed Codfish rice, seafood stew, are all very good choices.

I haven't really tried their dessert, as the generous portion usually leaves me rather full. Once I had the pastel de nata, but it's a rather poor version of the real thing.

Several times they pour a complimentary glass of ruby port at the end, which is a very nice gesture and an excellent finish to an outstanding meal.

Service was a bit amateurish and over-eager during the restaurant's early days, but has improved, becoming more professional and less obtrusive.

Parking is available in a small lot a little east of the restaurant, or inside the building.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank azuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The most Lusitanic food in town”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is my preferred restaurant in Miami. The chef and his staff are totally committed to your satisfaction and the food is out of this world. Unlike other portuguese outfits that have been established for some longer time, this new place still serves the dishes and the wines that people in Portugal love. I hope it will not become adapted to the South Florida way of prepping food so as we can keep on enjoying real Lusitanic food in our beloved town.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cubafarinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aventura, Florida
Level Contributor
98 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Excellent Portuguese cuisine”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Chef Teixeira (former Old Lisbon chef) now has his own restaurant also on Coral Way.
The food is very consistent and the menu is full of typical Portuguese dishes.

My favorite appetizers are the pasteis de bacalhau and the octopus salad. There are several delicious cod dishes and I love the bacalhau ao bras and bacalhau gomes de sa.

I am too fond of Portuguese desserts. Therefore, I cannot not recommend any.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lgoncalves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jardim de Portugal also viewed

 

Been to Jardim de Portugal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing