We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Catch of Day (near Miami Airport)”

Catch of the Day Seafood Bar & Grill
Ranked #341 of 4,162 Restaurants in Miami
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Here at Catch of the Day, we want you to come in and have GREAT drinks, GREAT seafood, GREAT steak, and a GREAT time! We have a Mom & Pop feel about us, and love to please our customers. Our regulars love and appreciate this so much, that they's wait around for however long it takes for their usual table to free up if someone's sitting at it!
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
126 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Catch of Day (near Miami Airport)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

We recently dined twice in one day at the 1050 NW Lejeune Road location (near Miami Airport). We opted to walk across the busy road from the Marriott Fairfield Inn on a Friday in Lent. (there are several other major chains hotels within an easy 5-10 minute walk) We were not disappointed with our decision ! First let me get the negatives out of the way. This restaurant is noisy. Reason being is that it's very busy with people enjoying their meal & evening. There is also smoking allowed on covered patio. So-now you have been warned. After flying all day with enjoyed a late lunch of hearty caribbean soup and a salad. It made us forget the poor airline service. With a full service bar there is a full complement of beverages available. There was a "happy hour" from 3 PM to 7 PM-hours and days subject to change. Best bet is Monday to Thursday. Later that same evening we opted for the "famous" Fish & Chips. For $12.99 they were among the best we have had recently. Also opted for a lttle Latin favor with Seafood Paella. Again very enjoyable! The primarily language spoken by guests and staff is Spanish. We had no problems being understood in English. We also observed many guests (I am only guessing locals) enjoying a house specialty of crispy whole red snapper. Their plates were very clean when they finished.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Albert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    35
    11
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Osprey, FL
Level Contributor
288 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Not similar to the Catch of the Day near MIA airport”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Having the flash fried Red Snapper at the location near the airport, we had great expectation of repeating the dish at this restaurant. Unfortunately, the dining room is fast food like and the meals nothing like the other location. Lights were too bright.
The snapper was dry and as an afterthought, maybe the fish had been frozen before flash frying. Another entrée had tons of garlic in the shrimp. The linguine and clams were disappointing, too, as not much flavor. The yellow rice, I make better from a bag I buy at Publix.
If you want to sit outside, you can watch the cars go by, searching for a parking space at the Dolphin Mall, and smell the fumes.
Service was fine. Just missed the mark we anticipated from our prior experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SRQtravelqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, MA
Level Contributor
425 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Pay attention to the bad reviews!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Food was good once we got it. Of course it was hard to eat without utensils, which the server never noticed we're missing. She did not notice nor bring rolls even after being asked. Then she brought me the wrong side. But that's not as bad as the poor person at our table who was not served for half an hour after after everyone else. At least they had the decency to comp her meal. Did I mention when I complained about the service I got a stupid grin and not even an apology. I love management's write up about being so friendly. We seemed to eat in a different place than management thinks they run!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Everything we tried was wonderful! Menu was large, so we had the waitress guide us and it was awesome! Cuite little place around the corner from our hotel. Seating indoors or out. We tried a couple of different soups and 4 of us shared 2 big platters of grilled and fried seafood samplers. Wow! The dessert was wonderful as well. We were all fat and happy in the end.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“tried to rip us off”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

must admit its a good place with good atmosphere. but wasnt happy at the waitress trying to rip us english off.
$140 for a few beers vodkas and a few chicken wings. must have though id come in on the last onion boat.
be careful if your not american in this place, my advice is dont run up a bar tab.
pay as you go. .

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kev J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catch of the Day Seafood Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Catch of the Day Seafood Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing