We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gringo tips for Cuban Coffee - Croquette are great carry-on food”
Review of Cafe Versailles

Cafe Versailles
Ranked #127 of 4,220 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Cuban
Restaurant details
GlobalTraveler
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Gringo tips for Cuban Coffee - Croquette are great carry-on food”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I love Miami and Cuban food. Can be a little intimidating since I don't speak Spanish, but I seem to do okay. I like larger coffees so order a Cafe Colada ($1.75; double espresso - usually shared by traditional Cubans so I get odd looks when I order it). Cuban style has a lot of sugar in it.

I also enjoy their Guava Pastries ($1 or so - 'pastelle de guyaba') and their Ham/Cheese Croquette (also $1 - small torpedo-shaped mixture of potato, ham, and cheese that has been fried and golden all over). Pastries are extremely flakey so while they're great, not so good for a plane as they are messy. Croquettes are wonderful to carry-aboard.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank seaskills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    86
    23
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Kept going back to the bakery”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I'm embarrassed to admit how many times we detoured to go back to the bakery connected to the cafe. I hadn't been to Miami in a very, very long time but remembered Versailles and it didn't disappoint. Overwhelming selection of pastries -- the guayaba pastelito and dulce de leche mousse were big hits. Great Cuban coffee (sweet, no milk). And change on a $10.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank newyorkfam11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food, slow service.”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The food lived up to the reputation. I had the chicken Versailles with maduros and black beans. Everything was perfect, including the pastry I had for dessert. As other reviewers have mentioned, the service was slow. The atmosphere is like a diner or family restaurant - rather bright lighting and the tables are close together. Overall, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Food was decent, service rubbed me the wrong way”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Made two connections in Miami last week, the first one tight and the second one extremely tight. Settled on Cafe Versailles both times as the place to grab food for the plane. The first time, I ended up waiting about 10 minutes for my Cuban sandwich because the press was too small to keep up with the demand. The second time, I arrived sweating after sprinting the length of the terminal, and the staff seemed to delight in taking as much time as they could to process my order for pre-made sandwiches, asking if I wanted any desserts (and then listing all of their choices). I swear they were even laughing as I squirmed.

There will not be a third time.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cavatica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A lot of' Cuba in Little Havana's”
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Cafe Versailles lived up to it's hype. Great food, amazing atmosphere and the best coffee outside the real Cuba. We were fortunate to have a car during our holiday as we were staying in Miami's South Beach and made the 30 minute drive on two separate nights. the Cuban Classic is my recommendation for your first meal as it is a real sampler of Cuban cuisine, but lots to choose on the menu. Mojito's were very tasty too, but too bad they can't use Havana Club Rum.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichaeloftheNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Versailles also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Versailles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing