We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Much more than an airboat ride” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tigertail Airboat Tours

Tigertail Airboat Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At Tigertails we specialize in small guided airboat tours. We operate in the southern end of the Everglades on Tamiami trail in the Miccosukee reservation near Miami. You will experience the Everglades first hand as you handle young alligators and turtles while learning about the wildlife, the area and the proud people who live here from one of our experienced guides.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Much more than an airboat ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Tigertail airboat tours is a very personal and exclusive experience. They operate by appointment only and the two hour tour we took was so much more than your average airboat ride! Our guide (name escapes me) was just that – an excellent guide in to the Everglades: the nature, the fauna and the Indian history of this fantastic place.

The first stop on the tour was at the Tigertail family’s old hunting island. Now it was rebuilt to cater for animals such as baby alligators and turtles. Also fully grown gators that for some reason needed protection or to be looked after. All the time with personal (we were just our mother, father, daughter family on the tour) guiding from our guide. We got to see the animals close up and also get friendly with the young gators. Photos and tales of the old Indian style of life was equally interesting.

The boat ride felt safe and fun – but in comparison with the guiding and the island visits it came second. This tour may be a little more expensive than many of the others. But it is money well spent! You will get an insight in to the Everglades that is unique and special.

Visited November 2013
Thank Slorben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was a fantastic experience that was worth every penny. For only $25 you get a nice little airboat tour with a stop on an island in the middle of the Everglades. On the island we got to see wild alligators crawling up on the grass only a few feet away. The guide was very knowledgeable and tought us a lot about the Everglades and the wildlife. Also, the guide lets you hold different alligators yourself! There are also turtles and a hog there that you can see up close. Recommended!

Visited August 2013
1 Thank Nordino88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic airboat tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was our first airboat tour and it was great. We had a private tour (parents and 3 adult kids) for 1 hour. Our driver guide was simply fantastic. He told us and showed us a lot about the wild life in Everglades. If you don't know which airboat company to choose, we can higly recommend Tigertail Airboat Tours! You won't regret that choice.

Visited July 2013
2 Thank Sten L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent airboat ride and tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I and our 3 teenagers had a great time on our private tour. I was really grateful they were flexible in adjusting our tour time at the last minute due to unforeseen delays. We took a 1 hour tour in the afternoon and they thoughtfully provided headsets to lessen the noise level while riding. While we didn't see any alligators in the wild, the airboat ride itself was really cool and we got to see and hold alligators at their private island preserve. Our guide was extremely fun and knowledgeable and told us all about their efforts to preserve and rehabilitate alligators, turtles and even wild hogs! I'm glad we chose this tour, as the other tours we passed seemed very crowded and I really liked the conservation aspect.

Visited July 2013
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Awesome Time in the Everglades!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great tour! Our guide was Humberto and he was awesome! He was very friendly and knowledgeable. It was obvious that he loves his job too. I really liked the fact that they also do a lot of rescue work. I definitely recommend this as a must do if you are in the Miami area!

Visited July 2013
Thank bsturnerjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tigertail Airboat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing