We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth trying for sure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Ranked #22 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Coconut Grove
1 review
“Worth trying for sure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We've stayed at the Sonesta several times. While the rates can be high from month to month, the view from the 8th floor pool makes it worth trying this property.

The Positives: Great location, great pool deck (and view), clean pool and awesome restaurant staff (Alex, Edra and John A. on the 8th floor are AWESOME and made our stay).

The Negatives: Valet is way overpriced (with much cheaper parking right next door), Mr. Frog's plays booming music that funnels up and resonates through even the closed impact windows until 2-3 AM each night, the pool closes too early in the evening (10 PM) when the pool deck and whirlpool should remain open until 11 with the restaurant, the drink prices are WAY too high (unless it's happy hour) and finally a very select few of the staff (specifically Jen in the Panorama restaurant, a valet team that can't drive a stick vehicle and the grumpy bellmen) were continually unprofessional.

Local residents should be sure to try them out for a little getaway!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Helpful?
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Ken C
Thank you for your recent visit to our hotel. We are pleased that overall your experience with our staff was outstanding. Thank you for bringing to our attention areas we can continue to improve on. We offer Valet Parking only at the hotel and our prices are comparative with the other hotels in the area. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will be back soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    390
    139
    62
    43
See reviews for
254
445
61
320
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Went for a birthday weekend in November and had a great time. You are not too far from the beach, and the hotel has a nice outdoor pool on the 8th floor with a restaurant next to it that was fabulous food. The rooms are nice, beds are comfortable and the staff was just fine when I was there. If you don't have a car, there is some shopping & restaurant choices within walking distance but that's about it, I probably wouldn't stay more than a day or 2.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ckb830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Ckb830
Thank you for celebrating your birthday at our hotel. We are pleased your enjoyed your stay and that you found everything you needed in Coconut Grove for a weekend getaway. We look forward to celebrating with you again next year.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Love the Sonesta in Coconut Grove. Fabulous hotel - gorgeous views - comfortable spacious rooms - friendly helpful staff. The location is perfect for the Grove. Workout facility - top floor - amazing venue to workout

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Helpful?
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
MatthewM
Thank you for staying with us again and for your confidence in us. We strive to be always fabulous and we are pleased we accomplished this during your recent visit. We hope to see you soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Everything was great.. the pool was great and the views where amazing. Close to shops and restaurants, parks and the Marina. My room was very clean and room service was good and not too pricey. I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CDigloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
CDigloria
We are very glad that you had a wonderful experience at our hotel. Thank you for posting your comments. We look forward to your next visit.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
259 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Went for a wedding. A lot of family & friends where staying here. The staff was warn, helpful & nice. We enjoyed the pool, food & loved the location. Great area for food & shopping. Lots of things around to do. Love my room has a kitchen in it. Will go back. Great place.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank A. Vinnie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
A Vinnie V
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased that your wedding party enjoyed the hotel and had a great time. We hope to see you again soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We were planning a wedding and finally received blocked rooms with alot of hesitation from the staff. Finally we wanted to arrange a for a rehearsal dinner and nobody even called me back. We had fifty people that were going to attend this wedding and go to the dinner with guest (100 people) and the hotel did not feel the need to accommodate us in any way not even as far as a call back in a timely manner. Banquet staff shoud all be fired.

After this we all switched over the Mutiny where we ended up staying and having the banquet. It was the best thing I ever did. The Mutiny was so much better than an ordinary hotel with staff that they were too good to give a call back. Management should know the money you are throwing away for being pompus ! Will never visit a Sonesta again....

Room Tip: Staff terrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank debkelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Debkelley
Please accept my apologies on behalf of the hotel that we were unable to accommodate your wedding party and did not follow up in a timely manner with you. I have shared your comments with our Director of Sales and Marketing so we can use your feedback to improve our service. I am pleased that you were able to find alternate accommodations and that you had a successful event.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

It's a very nice place to stay, the location is privileged (beautiful view, places you can go on foot, there is a nightlife and it's not noisy). The room is spacious and equipped with a very handy kitchenette, a good-sized safe, two supports to lay the bags. Parking: only valet, it's cheaper than Miami Beach, but still expensive (US$25 overnight). I preferred a public self-parking right next to the hotel at the price of US$12 per 24-hour (you can leave and return using the same ticket). The swimming pool and 8th floor restaurant have a nice view. The fitness center is well equipped. I could receive a shipment (from Amazon) without the need to pay a fee.
Downsides: the bed mattress is softer than usual; I expected it to be a little bit firmer. The swimming pool is not big, there are few chairs and it closes at the sunset. The fitness center officially closes at 10PM (though I managed to enter later). The price for the use of the business center computers is prohibitively high (it should be free, like most hotels).
Bottom-line: if you are looking for a hotel (not a resort), I recommend this one, either for families on vacation or for business trips.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Helpful?
Thank Luiz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Luiz R
Thank you for feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We offer complimentary Wi-Fi for all guests on their personal devices and also offer the business center as an alternative. Airline check-in and boarding pass printing are free at the business center. We are pleased you enjoyed the facilities at the hotel and hope you will return again soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel
The Mutiny Hotel
#13 of 121 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 767 reviews
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Coconut Grove
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
#51 of 121 in Miami
3.5 of 5 stars 678 reviews
Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Property: Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133-6008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#15 Business Hotel in Miami
#26 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#38 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the verdant enclave of Coconut Grove, Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reflects all the originality and spice of this trendy, artistic neighborhood on the coast of Biscayne Bay and adjacent to Coral Gables. From our luxurious bayfront retreat, you're in the center of it all just across the street from CocoWalk and steps from lively sidewalk cafes, stylish boutiques, modern art galleries, and sizzling nightlife and only minutes from Coral Gables business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing