We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High School Reunion”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Ranked #22 of 124 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2014

My High School Reunion was held at the Sonesta Bayfront Hotel. The view from the hospitality room was spectacular, The beds were comfortable. The food on the 8th floor dining room was good. The hotel was close to everything in walking distance. I will be back...

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta
Thank Nardis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

NardisK
We are very pleased that you and your classmates selected our hotel for your reunion and had a great time. Thank you for sharing your comments. We hope to see you soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,438)
There are newer reviews for Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

524 - 530 of 1,438 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

The rooms needs renovation, but they are clean and have all the basics (fridge, good bathroom etc)

Views from swimming pool are fantastic

Not great of you are on holidays as it does not have a beach nearby.

Also, if you are on a tourist trip and plan to go to Miami Beach/Downtown/Little Havana etc taxis are required and they are about $30 each way (takes about 20min).

Friendly staff, although the restaurant is a bit overpriced ($8 bottle of water, $16 omelette for breakfast. On the plus side, portions are massive, I could never finish my plate, which was a shame/waste. Ex: the French toast breakfast had 6 toasts on it! Good if you like big portions, but too much for me :)

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank lopezpinero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Lopezpinero
We appreciate your feedback and are pleased that you found our rooms clean with all of the necessities and great views to enjoy. Although we do not offer the white sand beaches, it is a short taxi ride to Key Biscayne or Miami Beach. We hope you will visit us again if your travels bring you back to Coconut Grove.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Very well located, with superb bay views and excellent facilities. The room was perfect for a family of 4, with one bedroom with a private full WC and a living room for the kids with WC. It also had a fully equipped kitchen, a great choice for people who want to save some money with some home meals. Employees were nice, although the service at the restaurant could have been better

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luisrnunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

luisrnunes
Thank you for your recent stay and for posting your comments about our hotel. We are glad to hear that your family had a great experience with our hotel. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I had reserved a block of rooms for my wedding and from the beginning it was a nightmare. It took a couple of weeks to even hear back from any of the sales reps and when we finally did, he was completely incompetent. We had tried getting in contact with him a few weeks later only to find out he had been fired & no one had bothered to contact us about our contract. The new rep we dealt with was extremely rude & demeaning. Once we finally got our contract in order, there was an error with the link for our block of rooms so all of our guests were having difficulty booking their rooms. We eventually called their corporate office because the new sales rep was so rude and talked down to me when I told her there was something wrong with the link to book with our block of rooms. The person from corporate was completely useless. She just brushed off my complaints and referred me back to the same person I had called about. Now, with two months before our wedding, my fiance got an email from the Sonesta saying they would be under construction & that the pool would be closed during our wedding. Most of our guests are from out of state & the beautiful pool was a selling point for us. I just don't understand why we weren't informed about the construction dates sooner because the construction seems like a massive overhaul & something that would have been planned months in advance. That was the last straw. We decided to terminate our contract with them and book with the Mutiny instead. The hotel is beautiful, but the customer service just isn't worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Kathleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Kathleen K
Please accept my apologies on behalf of the hotel for your less than perfect experience with our hotel. While we strive for excellence in service, we sometimes fall short of even our own expectations. While we are disappointed that you have moved your guest rooms to another location, we wish you a wonderful wedding.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I stayed here for a week for my company seminar in April. I got a corner room with a very nice view. Personnel from banquet services Frank Ruiz and Omar were excellent. Food was good. I would stay here again even if I come back for leisure.

Room Tip: Corner suite that I had was excellent.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler_pr_usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Traveler_pr_usa
Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay and seminar at our hotel. We are pleased that our team did such a great job handling your meeting. We look forward to your return.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

The hotel & its staff are very nice but the hotel is just too noisy. If you are facing the City then you get the noise from Fat Tuesdays and if on the other side the noise from the park across the street in the mornings.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Thank you for sharing your comments as they will assist us as we continue to work with the city regarding noise from nearby restaurants. We hope you will return for another stay if your travels bring you to Miami.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

The Sonesta was a very modernly decorated nice hotel. The rooms were comfortable and very large. This definitely was apartments renovated into a hotel. There were TONS of hairs in our bathtub! Obviously was an oversight on the housekeepers!!!!!!! Luckily we had a separate shower to use. The pool was nice as well. Staff at the front desk was friendly and helpful, but stops there. The rest of the staff at this hotel was unhappy looking or unfriendly. We paid $25 a day to park and it was valet and made to feel like we had to tip as well!!!!!!!!!!! The hotel itself is not inexpensive for the room, but felt nickel and dimed everywhere. The restaurant was SO very expensive. Paid a fortune for breakfast for my three kids and I and my husband didn't even eat. They even charged me $15.90 to print my boarding passes, and it took me less than 8 minutes to be on the computer. I have not ever paid to print my boarding passes except to maybe tip a concierge. That is insane!!!!!!!! This is supposed to be a convenience. Coconut Grove area is cute but VERY run down area, so would just stay in a better area to begin with! Was here for the Sony Ericsson so was convenient with the shuttle the tournament provided.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwinTennisMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

TwinTennisMom
Please accept my apologies on behalf of the hotel that your room was not up to your expectations on your arrival. While we offer only Valet parking at our hotel, it is one of the lowest priced in the area and tipping is not required. Our business center computers offer complimentary printing of boarding passes by clicking on the boarding pass icon but there is a charge if you require the internet to access email or other non-airline websites. I have shared your feedback with our housekeeping and valet team and we appreciate you sharing your experience.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel
The Mutiny Hotel
#18 of 124 in Miami
863 reviews
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
#48 of 124 in Miami
1,217 reviews
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133-6008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#15 Business Hotel in Miami
#26 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#38 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range: $152 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the verdant enclave of Coconut Grove, Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reflects all the originality and spice of this trendy, artistic neighborhood on the coast of Biscayne Bay and adjacent to Coral Gables. From our luxurious bayfront retreat, you're in the center of it all just across the street from CocoWalk and steps from lively sidewalk cafes, stylish boutiques, modern art galleries, and sizzling nightlife and only minutes from Coral Gables business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Groupon, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing