We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wonderful Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Ranked #19 of 119 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

The hotel was very nice and comfortable. Great bed and pillows.
The best thing about the stay was the staff....especially Frank, Omar & the Banquet Staff.
We had a business conference there for four days and they were excellent.
They were so professional and efficient. Every thing from meeting room set up, to break snacks/coffee, to serving our lunch. What a great bunch of folks.
I'd recommend staying there for vacation or business.
The service is fantastic!

Room Tip: Request a bay view. Beautiful view of boats!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WilliamStovall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay. We are pleased you had such a positive experience and we look forward to your next visit.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    377
    135
    62
    43
See reviews for
248
437
60
301
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coconut Grove
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The hotel itself is not bad. The lobby is beautifully decorated, the pool is pretty and the rooms are clean. The place was under construction and did not give me a "vacation" vibe. There are nice restaurants in the area but overall the Coconut Grove area seemed pretty rundown.

What left a sour taste in my mouth wax the service we received. Although employees were happy to give me a smile and say they'd help they really just walked through the motions. Overall, if you want to get away I'd suggest staying at a hotel that really means to please their guests and not just pretend they do.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Helpful?
Thank Meghan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Megan H
We appreciate your feedback. I apologize that our team did not provide you with the level of service you have come to expect from us. Be assured that your feedback will help us continue to improve. We are pleased that you were able to enjoy our pool area and clean rooms and hope we may have another opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I’ve had booked it through Hotwire.com and got a good deal, considering it’s a four star hotel located within steps from the nicest street in Coconut Grove. Got amazed by the hotel’s modern lobby and with what I was told at check in: “you and your wife will be staying at our ‘superior suite’ on the 18th floor”. I asked about the wi-fi setup, but she only gave me a card that explained nothing and I had to call them later to connect properly. After getting into the room, I’m pretty sure that “superior” meant “high floor”, ‘cause the room was pretty average. The bed has seen better days and the decoration looked like a mental hospital room… no colors whatsoever. Pretty depressing. The complimentary wi-fi was great and the 40” TV was just fine. We got the room with the window pointing to Grand Avenue: not the fanciest view, but not too shabby either. The sleep was as expected… quiet and the A/C worked just fine. The shower lacks water pressure, but nothing to be worried about. Long story short: the location pays off. The hotel staff and premises are nice but the room I got needed a tune up.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing the bay. Are quieter and the view is outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beto_san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Bento-san
Thank you for posting comments about your recent stay. We appreciate your business and are happy that you found our location perfect for your needs. We hope to see you again in Coconut Grove.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I've been coming to this hotel for the past 3 years but this one was the last time. So where to start: the check in staff were surly. It was like "Give me your credit card and here's the key". No explanations about wifi or any features. I was given a smaller room this time without a balcony. Strange when I had one last two times. There seemed to be constant work going on in the hotel with power drills above the room and even near the pool. No explanations or apologies for that.

What really puts me off this hotel and is the reason I won't return and should make you cautious was the last day. I rushed to leave and left some items behind in the room: wallet, keys and a couple of T shirts. I discovered this at the airport and rushed back to the hotel. Clearly my fault here. The room had been cleaned but none of my items had been turned in. I asked how many people had entered my room since I left--this was about 4 hours previously--and was told one. The desk staff were unsympathetic and stonewalling. I suspect they must have been told to be this way. They said they checked with housekeeping but I doubt it. I asked if they had asked the cleaner but again I doubt it. They didn't want to take any of my details about missing items or my address, etc. They merely looked at me with dead eyes. I've reported this to the authorities and I will recommend that we don't use this hotel again. Pretty pathetic performance on their part. There's no reason why those items couldn't have been turned in and kept for me or sent to me.

Room Tip: If you must go, get a balcony room otherwise you'll suffer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpanishboyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Spanishboyuk
Please accept my apologies on behalf of the hotel that your overall experience was not up to your expectations. Your reservation for this visit was for a superior room which does offer a balcony. On your previous visit you reserved a deluxe room which does have this feature.

In response to your missing items, while you were escorted to the room to recheck the room I contacted our Executive Housekeeper to verify if any items had been left behind in your room after your departure. When you returned to the desk, I spoke with you to let you know that we did not find any items in your room and I inquired if you had checked your other belongings for the missing items and you stated that you were going to check that next. Before you left the hotel you provided me with your all of your contact information. As we discussed if anything is turned in matching the description of your items I will contact you.

Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Really impressed with the service at this hotel. Staying in Coconut Grove while teaching at University of Miami.
Pretty much everyone has gotten to know me and greets me by name at breakfast, at the bar, in the restaurant and particularly the valet who always fetch my car quickly and with courtesy. They must have put real effort in to create this level of service - special thanks to valet Roozeppe Jean Pierre.

Room Tip: Get a bay view if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonKDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
LondonKDX,
We are happy to be your home away from home. Thank you for sharing your comments. We will be sure to share them with Roozeppe.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Although we're locals we were celebrating in the area so decided to make a night of it so we decided on Sonesta great choice we automatically got upgraded to an superior room the staff was friendly wish i could remember his name but the guy whom checked us in was very friendly answered every questions there were many!! The lobby smells and looks amazing wish we could have ttried the restuarant and lounge which they do have on site but overall great stay perhaps next time!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nivea h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Nivea h
We love it when locals come for a weekend getaway. We are pleased you had such a great time. If you cannot stay overnight you are welcome to come enjoy our restaurant Panorama and enjoy the view.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Myself and the wife decided on the Sonesta for our Honeymoon and weren't disappointed. We were upgraded to a Bay facing Superior room and the View was breath taking. The Hotel has a large function room which was being used daily for Weddings and business seminars however this had no impact on the other guests. A special mention to the concierge team who organised lots of amazing trips and an Awesome car for a trip down to the keys! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomTomNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thomasaginn
Congratulations on your wedding and thank you for selecting our hotel for your honeymoon. We are happy you had such a wonderful experience and we hope to see you again to celebrate your anniversary.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel
The Mutiny Hotel
#11 of 119 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 747 reviews
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Conrad Miami
#8 of 119 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 1,679 reviews
Coconut Grove
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
#63 of 119 in Miami
3.5 of 5 stars 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Property: Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#15 Business Hotel in Miami
#26 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#38 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the verdant enclave of Coconut Grove, Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reflects all the originality and spice of this trendy, artistic neighborhood on the coast of Biscayne Bay and adjacent to Coral Gables. From our luxurious bayfront retreat, you're in the center of it all just across the street from CocoWalk and steps from lively sidewalk cafes, stylish boutiques, modern art galleries, and sizzling nightlife and only minutes from Coral Gables business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing