We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Ranked #24 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Very bad experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

I had booked a single night stay via Expedia for this property at the last minute due to a flight interruption. I chose it based on location in Coconut Grove. It was booked mid-day and I did not arrive until early evening for check-in. Of course, by the time I arrived there were no rooms available and the solution was to walk me to the Mayfair Hotel. It was raining fairly heavily that night and the hotel staff gave fairly poor directions to the Mayfair. Naturally, when we arrived at the Mayfair, they had no rooms either and claim they had informed the manager at the Sonesta we could not be accommodated. There were at least three other families at the Mayfair all in the same situation. We felt the management at Sonesta simply were willing to tell us anything to get us out of their property and clearly the Mayfair was fully booked. After another 2+ hours of waiting around Expedia finally came through with a room across town.

I do travel a lot for business and have been walked before. I understand hotels overbook and mistakes happen. What we were exceptionally frustrated with was the attitude and willingness of the hotel management to do anything to help us, especially at 6pm when it's raining heavily. They blamed Expedia for the mistake and simply sent us on our way. Beyond disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFO-World-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear SFO-World Traveller,
Booking with third party agencies is a great way to find last minute accommodations. On your arrival date your agency advised us that due to a booking error they had relocated you to another hotel and had advised you of the change. When payment is made to the third party we are required to follow their direction regarding reservation changes and these types of relocations. Sometimes these processes do not create the best guest experience. We appreciate your feedback and on behalf of the hotel, I would like to again apologize for all of the inconveniences. It is not something we would like any of our guests to experience and I am sure the same is true for the other hotel.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    416
    154
    72
    45
See reviews for
283
474
62
353
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

I had a pleasant stay. Great service from the front desk and the reservation dept. The hotel has a good gym with a great view. The rooms are comfortable and modern. No issue. The hotel is relatively close to the airport and the downtown area. All good!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Christophe288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Christophe288,
Thank you for staying with us, we are please you enjoyed the hotel. We hope to see you in 2014!
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, MA
Level Contributor
174 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

This was our third stay at the Sonesta Bayside in Coconut Grove. Each time has been great. The lobby was beautifully decorated for Christmas. Everything is shiny and spotless. The bed is very comfortable and I especially liked the shampoo and conditioner ! We had no problem with noise,even though several hotels nearby were having renovations.
The pool was clean as was the hot tub. There were wheelchair lifts for both pool and hot tub.
I love the location of the Sonesta, lovely views of the Bay and the city. Shops and restaurants are very close and parking is available next door for 1.50 an hour.
Can't wait to return in the fall.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank vaca32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Vaca32
Thank you for returning again to the Sonesta. We are pleased that we are your choice for accommodations when you come to Miami. We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to seeing you next fall.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

If you are looking for a fabulous place with great service and amazing views, book your event at the Sonesta Bayfront Hotel, Coconut Grove. The catering department is extremely easy to work with and are very helpful. The food is delicious! We had a company event and everything went very well!!! We will definitely be back next year!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
NoryC
We are pleased your recent event was such a success. Our banquet and catering team work very hard to ensure your event exceeds your expectations. Thank you for your comments.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

We had a five day seminar at Sonesta. The staff were friendly, helpful, and accomodating. The food was good and we had a great view of the marina. The hotel is located within walking distance to many resturants. Great experience overall. A special thanks to Frank for all your help!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2013KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
2013KL
Thank you for hosting your recent event at our hotel. We appreciate your business and are pleased that our Catering team did such a great job. We will be sure to share your feedback with them. We look forward to seeing you next year.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Stayed briefly while in Miami with family.

Pros:
Excellent Lobby, gorgeous views from the restaurant/pool. Above average service. Clean rooms.

Cons:
Bathrooms and room interiors had a faded beige coloring that isn't very attractive.
There's nothing really around the location except some shopping and a marina, but it's only 10 minutes or so away from downtown Miami and 20 min or so from the airport or Miami beach by car.
The free internet is capped at 1998 dial-up speeds.

Room Tip: A higher room is quieter, there was a wedding party on the 8th floor rooftop until late. We were mov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fzero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Fzero
Thank you for your feedback about our hotel. We are pleased that you found our rooms clean and our service above average. As noted we are centrally located if you need to visit other areas of Miami. We hope we will have another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and the area is nice with the Marina and some cosy restaurants around in walking distance. The Hotel is nice and we where lucky with the front desk staff, I asked for another room with balcony and we got it, I asked for late check out and we got it. I think you also can rent some rooms as apartments had the feeling some snowbirds moved in for a few month.
I would stay again here!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Balcony towards the poolside !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mapaulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Mapaulus
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. Many of our guests come for a short visit but many also stay for extended periods and we are their home away from home since many of our rooms offer kitchens or kitchenettes. We are pleased your enjoyed your time in Coconut Grove and we hope to see you soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel
The Mutiny Hotel
#19 of 121 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Coconut Grove
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
#43 of 121 in Miami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Coconut Grove
Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Property: Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133-6008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#15 Business Hotel in Miami
#26 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#38 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the verdant enclave of Coconut Grove, Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reflects all the originality and spice of this trendy, artistic neighborhood on the coast of Biscayne Bay and adjacent to Coral Gables. From our luxurious bayfront retreat, you're in the center of it all just across the street from CocoWalk and steps from lively sidewalk cafes, stylish boutiques, modern art galleries, and sizzling nightlife and only minutes from Coral Gables business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing