We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A nice 2 day Break !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Ranked #20 of 120 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A nice 2 day Break !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and the area is nice with the Marina and some cosy restaurants around in walking distance. The Hotel is nice and we where lucky with the front desk staff, I asked for another room with balcony and we got it, I asked for late check out and we got it. I think you also can rent some rooms as apartments had the feeling some snowbirds moved in for a few month.
I would stay again here!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Balcony towards the poolside !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mapaulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Mapaulus
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. Many of our guests come for a short visit but many also stay for extended periods and we are their home away from home since many of our rooms offer kitchens or kitchenettes. We are pleased your enjoyed your time in Coconut Grove and we hope to see you soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    387
    138
    62
    43
See reviews for
251
443
61
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the sonesta hotel for 3 nights end of November. The hotel is lovely and the staff is very professional and friendly. They did everything to make us feel welcome and comfortable. The room we had was great, it was clean, modern and comfortable. The free wine was a nice touch and a wonderful way to socialize with the other guests and get a chance to talk to the staff. The pool was great and the fact that the staff came with fresh icewater to drink.I will definitely go back to this hotel if I go back to Miami

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johny m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
johnyM
We appreciate you feedback regarding your recent stay. We are pleased that you felt welcomed by our staff and we hope you felt right at home. We hope to see you again in 2014.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, England
Level Contributor
140 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

The Sonesta is an average tourist/business hotel in a great location in the heart of the Coconut Grove area. The room and facilities (including the pool) were fine - good sized bed,reasonable bathroom - decor was a bit drab, but pleasant enough.We didn't eat in the hotel as there are plenty of restaurants nearby. I guess overall it just lacked the wow! factor. Couple of things to watch for - the hotel offers a valet parking service at $25 per night (worth taking as parking nearby is limited ; just remember to factor this in) ; and don't use the phone in the room for international calls (a minimum charge of $15 applies - at these rates cheaper to use the mobile).

Room Tip: A Bay view room is probably worth the extra ; and of course the higher up you are the better the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MacKilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Mackilt
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your comments. As noted if you arrive with a car we offer valet parking services. Like all hotels, telephone rates are set by the outside operator and are different than rates you pay for your home phone. We hope you have an opportunity to travel back to Miami and if so we hope you will come back for another visit.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Another great experience at the Sonesta Bayfront Hotel. The hotel staff, especially Frank Ruiz, John Avellino and Omar were wonderful to work with. I am looking forward to the Sonesta hosting another seminar in December 2014!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
PJR
It was our pleasure to host your recent meeting at our hotel. We are pleased you had a successful meeting. We will be sure to share your comments with our entire food and beverage team. See you in December 2014!
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Having stayed in south beach earlier in the week, staying in coconut grove was a nice change of pace, it has a real neighbourhood feel to the area surrounding the hotel, lots of individual bars and restaurants.
The hotel is a modern tower, we got a room high up with a great view out to sea. There is a nice pool area about half way up, again with great views and a nice bar.
The only bad thing i have to say was the bellhop guy stood in our room waiting for a tip after i explained i had no cash on me, he still stood there waiting!
But that said we would stay at the sonesta again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joenkatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Joenkatie
We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to Coconut Grove and our hotel. Thank you for sharing your feedback. We hope your travels will bring you back to Miami and to the Sonesta.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This was our first time staying at the Sonesta Bayfront Hotel and when in the area this hotel would be our first pick. Love the smell when you walk into the hotel and the cleanliness. The view of the bay from our room was amazing and due to being there after Thanksgiving we got to see the Christmas decorations which were beautiful. The hotel is very close to Coco Walk and the Peacock Garden Cafe next door to the hotel was beautiful and we had a fantastic meal. Wish we wouldve brought our bathing suits since the pool and hot tub looked very welcoming.

Room Tip: you won't go wrong by choosing this Hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Richard S
We are so pleased that you choose to stay with us over the holidays. We decorate for Christmas each year on Thanksgiving weekend so that we can extend the holiday spirit through the whole month of December. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will return again for another visit.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Checking in for Thanksgiving weekend, we were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a bay side room with a lovely view. The entire stay was great and relaxing. We appreciated the large fitness center with a view over Miami, and the tiered wifi internet service with free browsing speed which was fine for our needs. On departure day, the staff was helpful in storing our bags after checkout while we went out for lunch. When time came for our car to take us to the airport but didn't show, staff member Mari was quick and caring to arrange a new ride. Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dustbort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dustport
Thank you for your recent stay and sharing your comments on Trip Advisor. We will be sure to share with our front office team how much your enjoyed your visit. Come back soon!
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel
The Mutiny Hotel
#13 of 120 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 759 reviews
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Conrad Miami
#9 of 120 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Property: Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133-6008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#15 Business Hotel in Miami
#26 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#38 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the verdant enclave of Coconut Grove, Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reflects all the originality and spice of this trendy, artistic neighborhood on the coast of Biscayne Bay and adjacent to Coral Gables. From our luxurious bayfront retreat, you're in the center of it all just across the street from CocoWalk and steps from lively sidewalk cafes, stylish boutiques, modern art galleries, and sizzling nightlife and only minutes from Coral Gables business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing