We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Views were lovely, rooms were spacious, staff was not up to the grade” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Ranked #21 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Views were lovely, rooms were spacious, staff was not up to the grade”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

The view from our room was unbelievable, the hotel pool was beautiful, as was the view. We had a suite which was very spacious, a little dated but very clean and nice. The lobby was truly beautiful, it was a very nice hotel.

The people working seemed like a bunch of kids that did not know what was going on. The cleaning woman spoke no English, the pool service was quite slow, and our bill had a vague resemblance to what we ordered, but the total seemed in the ballpark. We never received our gift baskets in the room, another family received two. We had cold water one day for showers, we were told we didn't know which way to turn the handle. It did work the rest of the time.

You may be better off parkiing next door, Valet took a while to get the car, and it was

Room Tip: Bay View was unbelievable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbie_msp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Debbie_msp
Please accept my apologies on behalf of the hotel that the service you received from our team during your stay was not up you your expectations. We appreciate your feedback as it will help us improve our overall service and I will be sharing your comments with all of our team members. We hope that if your travels bring you back to the area we might have another opportunity to provide you with the type of service you expect from us.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    414
    152
    68
    45
See reviews for
278
469
62
347
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Romford
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights with my wife. Nice hotel tastefully decorated and courteous staff. Excellent location in a safe neighbourhood with plenty of good bars and restaurants within a 5 min walk. Room was clean and a good size. However, the only disappointment was the fact we paid extra for a sea view superior room. What we got was a room where the only light was through a standard sized door at the far end of a tapered room. The door was at an angle which meant you could only see out if you were standing at the door. This led to a balcony just big enough for 1 person to stand on!! I did check with reception after check-in that we had been allocated the right room and was assured we had and was offered a deluxe room for a supplement!!!
Given the floor plan on the website was nothing like what we had, I cant help but feel we should have been offer a free upgrade. In summary, nice hotel but dont pay for sea view!

Room Tip: Dont pay for sea view ("rooms" score marked down as not as described on web site)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil_E_Usfog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Phl_e_Usfog
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay. Please accept my apologies on behalf of the hotel that your room was not up to your expectations and that we were not able to accommodate you in a different room during your stay. We hope that based on your overall experience will have another opportunity in the future to serve you.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

I have stayed many times at the Sonesta and each time has been an outstanding experience. The hotel staff is not only courteous but getting out of its way to attend any request / the rooms are spacious, clean... and if you can, get an ocean view... The prices are great... The restaurant whether inside or outside by the pool just great. I have stayed at other hotels in the Miami area, but the Sonesta has become my favorite. Highly recommended, whether for business and/or pleasure! As a last note, though they are not always able to accommodate me when arriving very early, they always to their best to get me to my room as quickly as they can and do it very courteously... Hopefully, will be back in December 2013.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
PJDI
We appreciate that you continue to return to our hotel when your travels bring you to Miami. We make every effort to accommodate early arrivals and are always pleased when we can. Thank you for sharing your comments and we hope to see you in December.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

I purchased a Living Social deal for this hotel and stayed 1 day/1 night in Miami before our cruise. The overall ambiance was great - the small details made a huge impression on us (4 adult women). We were in love with the scent that permeated the front lobby, the fruit infused iced water available in the lobby, the plants and furniture throughout, and the lighting on the pool deck. We really appreciated Freddie at the front desk finding us a ready room that we could check in early to.
Our only complaint, was how far the hotel was from the happening part(s) of Miami. We spent over $100 that day in taxi fare getting around, and we only traveled from the airport to the hotel, to D&B, to Bayfront Park, to Finnegans on the River, and the Port of Miami.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sellis9284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Sellis9284
Thank you for posting your comments about your recent stay. We are pleased that you and your friends enjoyed the property. Coconut Grove has a lot to offer within walking distance and is a short taxi ride to many areas of Miami. We have two car rental agencies in the area that will deliver rental cars to the hotel as an option if you need transportation for the day. We hope you will all come back again soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

I have been going to this hotel for several years. I am impressed with the consistency of service and accommodations. In my past reviews I mentioned how great it is to have the bay view while staying in Coconut Grove. My recent trip I had a city view room and I loved it. I love the size of the rooms and the bathrooms. I also love the care that every single person gives in this hotel. My room was beautiful, updated and clean. The location is also beautiful. I will not stay in any other hotel as long as I go to Miami.

Room Tip: The higher floors are more quiet if you are there during the weekend. Coconut Grove is very popular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bitat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Bitat
Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your many experiences at the Sonesta. We strive to provide our guests with a consistent level of service and are pleased we achieved it. Hope to see you again soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

During my stay of 5 nights at the Sonesta Bayfront Hotel, we were very well cared for. The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed.
The service in the restuarant and during our conference was excellent, with superb food and great variety.
I thoroughly recommend this hotel for either business or pleasure with many facilities to enjoy.

Room Tip: Request a bayfront room to have a superb view of the ocean and the Florida Keys
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Jane S
We are very pleased that your stay went so well. Thank you for posting your comments. Come back soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

I had a great stay in this hotel, better than other areas in Miami area.
Rooms are clean and nice, beds comfortable and staff is friendly.
Pool is amazing and the view from the room is great.
The restaurant has good food but service is terrible, specially if you go a little late.
This hotel has a ggood WiFi connection.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mogway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Mogway,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed the rooms, pool and great views. I apologized we missed the mark in the restaurant service and your feedback will help us improve. Hope to see you again in Coconut Grove.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel
The Mutiny Hotel
#20 of 121 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Coconut Grove
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
#43 of 121 in Miami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Coconut Grove
Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Property: Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133-6008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#15 Business Hotel in Miami
#26 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#38 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the verdant enclave of Coconut Grove, Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reflects all the originality and spice of this trendy, artistic neighborhood on the coast of Biscayne Bay and adjacent to Coral Gables. From our luxurious bayfront retreat, you're in the center of it all just across the street from CocoWalk and steps from lively sidewalk cafes, stylish boutiques, modern art galleries, and sizzling nightlife and only minutes from Coral Gables business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing