We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay, wonderful staff and fantastic experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Ranked #30 of 128 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2013

My Ms. and myself had the occasion to stay at the Sonesta Bayfront Hotel Miami this past weekend, in Coconut Grove for a romantic getaway. I can honestly tell you I have not been so pleased with a hotel and its staff for a very long time. It was excellent in every manner.

We flew to Miami very late in the evening on Friday, due to a twice delayed flight by AA. We arrived around midnight and were immediately taken care of as we checked in. The room was very clean and comfortable with an amazing view. We would order breakfast every morning before planing our day. Coffee was good, and so were the eggs, however the toast was a little soggy! The location was fantastic; close to almost all of Miami's best attractions, and within 5 minutes walk to the "Improv Comedy Club" at which we saw Aries Spears.

Our sincere admiration to the Sonesta Bayfront Hotel and its staff; all of whom were kind, warm, and most importantly very hospitable. Mari was among all very patient, generous and professional. She is a very positive lady, and she clearly enjoys what she does. She helped us with everything we needed and went above and beyond to make sure our stay was one to remember. Another gentleman to express our gratitude to was Freddie. He was kind and very genuine. We simply couldn't be any more happier with his service. And after all, we were just another couple staying over for a few days, no people particularly exceptional in comparison to everyone else.

As we left, we felt as if we visited our own family in Miami. We were very satisfied with the stay and we thank you all once more. We will definitely be back again!

Adel & Jillian

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Benhakim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Benhakim M
We appreciate your feedback regarding your visit to Coconut Grove and are happy that your stay was so enjoyable. I will be sure to share your comments with Mari and the rest of the Front Office Team. We hope you are back soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,484)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

673 - 679 of 1,484 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

Hotel is beautiful but my goodness this hotel is unfortunately sucks at parking spaces. If you are local and bringing your own car, be advised that parking is not covered. You'll have to pay $25.00 per night for valet only. Meaning you have no access to your vehicle only when valet brings up your car. I've stayed at better hotels than this one and I have never had issues.
Other than parking issue hotel is nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crlabrego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Crlabrego
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. As you mentioned we offer only Valet parking at the hotel like all of the other hotels in the area. Fortunately Coconut Grove is a walk friendly city so many guest do not need cars and our rates are the lowest in the area. We are pleased that overall your stay was enjoyable.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

I will cut to the chase. This hotel is clean, as advertised. The staff is friendly and the proximity to coconut grove cannot be beat. I was fully prepared to give this place 4 stars. However, the "city view" rooms all face the very energetic coconut grove area. The clubs and bars all have permission from the chamber of commerce to be as loud as they want until 2:30am. I am talking DJ's voices, loud music with lots of bass coming into my room. I could distinguish songs it was so loud and i was on the 18th floor. I discovered this during my stay when I called the front desk in desperation at 2:00 knowing that there probably wasn't anything they could do. Apparently this happens all the time, and the l staffs way of addressing it is to call the police and file a noise complaint. Perhaps down the road their persistence will change the city's code, but it doesn't do much for my three sleepless nights. I asked to be moved to another room, but was told that the building was 100% booked. On top of this outside noise, the hotel doesn't have much in the way of soundproofing internally. I could hear others' toilets flushing, anything said in the hallway, etc, which made trying to make up sleep during the day difficult too. Now, I'm not a crabby old lady with unrealistic expectations about accommodations on trips. I know I'm not going to sleep as soundly as I would in my own bed. This was by far the most unreasonable amount of noise in a hotel room I've ever encountered. Perhaps it's better on the bay side, I just wasn't given the option of checking it out.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler2983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Traveler2983
We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay and apologize for the inconveniences resulting from the nearby nightclubs. Your feedback will assist us in working with the local authorities. During your stay we were not able to relocate you to another room due to our occupancy. We hope that in the future we would have another opportunity to ensure you have an enjoyable experience in Coconut Grove.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

This was our 2nd time at the Sonesta. The only exception to our pleasant stay was an ongoing issue with our key card reader. My card never worked and my wife's card worked sporadically. Tonight will be our 6th night and the issue has yet to be resolved logistically. We have talked to maintenance or mgmt. at least 6 times. Maintenance has insisted that it's "my fault" for operator error. I'm not very diplomatic when addressing an issue such as this, so my wife spoke to a manager. Although our keys rarely work, we were comped for two breakfasts. That being said, we still really enjoy this hotel and will return in the future. I can honestly say that I did not pass by one employee this week that did not greet me in a genuine, pleasant manner. For us, the relaxing pool area is the highlight of this hotel. Get some breakfast poolside then come back at night to have a piña colada (ask for server Remy) First time guests will find a location with relatively easy travel to Biscayne, South Beach, etc. We will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tBizElCaballo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

tBixElCaballo,
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We have addressed your comments with our Engineering team for correction. I am pleased that the staff made such an impression and we will be sure to share your comments with Remy. We look forward to your return.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great location, very clean with artsy feel, staff very friendly & helpful
The only complaint: there are no mirrors in the bedroom or on closet door!
All mirrors are in the bathroom.. This is not good when 1 person is trying to get ready ( dry hair, put on make-up) and they have to wait til other person is done showering/ in the bathroom

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Carol F
Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about the mirrors and have shared the feedback with our corporate design team for future implementation.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Comfortable rooms. Nice Gym at the pent house. Spa and swimming pool. Excellent restaurant area with French, Indian, Peruvian, Italian and Latin Cuisine. Nice shopping area, Cocowalk, close to the hotel. Free wifi

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Bahia with the Marine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Americo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Americo24
Thanks for the feedback. We hope to see you again soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Ok - I understand it is Labour Day and folk want to party BUT I am in my room, 12 floors above ground with all windows firmly closed and I can still hear every word spoked by the DJ in the nearby club (mostly offensive!) and feel every beat of the music booming. It's 2.19 am and still it goes on - the chap at the front desk who i called an hour ago says they prob will go on until 3 am as its a holiday.... Woopie! Me and the family have a flight back to the UK in a few hours - so the least I expect from any hotel is the ability to have a good nights sleep. I wish Tripadvisor had the facility to upload the recording I made on my iPad (just in case the management need proof as to why we will not be vacating our room super-early .... We may sleep in!). Such a shame coz this hotel has so much going for it and I would otherwise have given it a much higher rating. Not sure if you had a bay view room the noise would be as bad so be sure to book one if you can - they were fully booked so we couldn't :( rooms this side should come with a prior warning that you will be disturbed by noise from the nearby 'vibrant' or should I say positively vibrating nightlife!

Room Tip: Do not have a city view room if you value your sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stockytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Stockytravel
Please accept my apologies that your recent stay was not up to your expectations. We make every effort to minimize the effects from the nightclubs located nearby and we appreciate your feedback as it helps us continue in these efforts. We hope we will have another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel
The Mutiny Hotel
#24 of 128 in Miami
886 reviews
Coconut Grove
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
#49 of 128 in Miami
1,297 reviews
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Downtown
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
#22 of 128 in Miami
3,447 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Brickell Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133-6008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#15 Business Hotel in Miami
#26 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#34 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range: $162 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the verdant enclave of Coconut Grove, Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reflects all the originality and spice of this trendy, artistic neighborhood on the coast of Biscayne Bay and adjacent to Coral Gables. From our luxurious bayfront retreat, you're in the center of it all just across the street from CocoWalk and steps from lively sidewalk cafes, stylish boutiques, modern art galleries, and sizzling nightlife and only minutes from Coral Gables business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing