We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Awesome place!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Ranked #21 of 124 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

It was the first time we stayed at a Sonesta. GREAT place to stay! Updated rooms, very comfortable, polite staff, they offer valet parking, great location. Definitely will go again.
We had a room on the 21st floor with a view of the Bay and it was beautiful.
King bed was very comfortable and the bathroom tub is huge.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
William C,
Thank you for the great rating. We are always happy when our guest leave feeling their experience was awesome. Come back soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    399
    145
    63
    45
See reviews for
261
454
61
336
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

I stayed here in early July for two nights before a cruise. Since it is classified as a higher end hotel, my level of scrutiny is higher. For every pro to this hotel, there is a con.

The beds, linens and bathtub are lovely. The bathtub is a deep single soaker. The room is really small – like New York small. Not a problem for me; I was travelling alone. For a couple, it would be a tight squeeze for the price. One of the drawers on the bureau facing my bed had a piece of its veneer broken off. The view I had of the Bay was amazing, but, even though I was on the 18th floor, the sound from the pool and bar patio below carried upwards at a surprisingly loud level. Fortunately, it rained in the nights I was there, so people left the patio.

Generally, the hallways were quiet, but when the person next door took a shower, it was like the shower was next to my bed. Lucky for me, that guest took their shower before supper, I don’t know how he felt when I was in my shower at 7am.

Service was quite good and friendly. Taxis take forever, call at least a half hour before you need one. The Coconut Grove neighbourhood is nice and walkable, but half of the storefronts in the Cocowalk are vacant. There is a CVS, Starbucks and a grocery, The Fresh Market, all within walking distance.

I would give a mixed review to the hotel restaurant. I had two meals there. The layout of the restaurant is a lovely, cosy space and the servers are very pleasant. Again it’s the value factor. One glass of white wine, a spinach salad with shrimp was $40. When you receive the bill, they have a line item that is a “service charge”. They did not use the word gratuity next to it, although they leave a space for you to add an extra gratuity. Typically this is only something I’ve seen when getting room service – there is a delivery charge to your room. Since I was eating in the restaurant, I took this to mean that this additional charge already noted was the tip, so I did not add any extra. I ate their twice for the convenience factor of location and the food was okay even though it was overpriced.

All-in-all, it is a fine place to stay, but for my tourist dollar, it does not offer anything that makes it competitive.

Room Tip: I stayed in 1818-1. Very small, but fine for one person. Great view, but sound carries up from pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoloSpirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
SoloSpirt,
We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent visit to our hotel. Thank you for sharing your pros and cons as they help keep us focused on what is important to our guests. We are happy that overall you rated the service we provided outstanding and we hope to see you again.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Wonderful service! Very attentive and ready to help with whatever was needed.
Omar and Frank from the catering department were amazing! The whole event ran very smoothly and it was mainly due to the help of all the staff at the Sonesta Bayfront Hotel!
Thanks Omar and Frank!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
LauraR,
Thanks for your comments about our catering team and Frank & Omar. We glad you had such a great event.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed at the Sonesta Bayfront Hotel in Coconut Grove for a week whilst i attended a conference. The hotel was very professional and the service excellent. Rooms clean and fresh and the view across the bay very appealing.
It is well located as it is just a short stroll to the main centre of Coconut Grove. Coconut Grove itself is very disappointing, unappealing and quite tired looking. However the Sonesta made up for the shortcomings of the area.
If I have to stay at Coconut Grove again I would happily choose to stay at the Sonesta Bayfront.

Room Tip: choose a bay view room, and try to get as high as you can as the pool deck noise can be a little int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
BruceU,
Thank you for posting your feedback about your recent conference in Coconut Grove. We are pleased that your meeting went well and that you enjoyed the hotel. We look forward to your return which we hope is soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Our group was treated so well by everyone at the Sonesta Bayfront hotel. From Alice, Ebru, Benjamin, John and Stephen, to Omar, Frank, Jose and Manuel in the meal room, everyone went above and beyond to take care of our team's needs. Thank you for looking after us so properly.
LA Galaxy

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MLR90746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
MLR90746,
We were so excited to have the team stay with us during their recent match. We are thrilled that everyone enjoyed their stay. We enjoyed the excitement of having MLS in Miami.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Great location in Coconut Grove, it was an easy walk to shopping and restaurants. Nice views of water and pool in the restaurant, although the food was severely lacking. Lobby and room were clean with your basic amenities, although the bed could have been more comfortable.
If you are going to stay in Coconut Grove this is a nice place to stay, just take advantage of the restaurants in the area and don't eat here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lakefront
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
lakefront,
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent visit. I will be sure to share your comments regarding our restaurant with the team. We focus on “food is art” and we must have missed the mark. We hope that you will return and give us another opportunity to “wow” you with our food.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Haven, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Everything is marvelous at this hotel. Total sensory experience. People complaining about parking do not understand local ways and refuse to accept the way it is here, parking is at a premium. Great service in every aspect.

Room Tip: Use common sense and tip when appropriate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Franklin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear FranklinC,
Thank you for your recent stay at the Sonesta. We are pleased that things were simply marvelous. We could not have said it better. Hope to see you soon.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel
The Mutiny Hotel
#16 of 124 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Coconut Grove
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
#44 of 124 in Miami
3.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Property: Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133-6008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#15 Business Hotel in Miami
#26 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#38 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the verdant enclave of Coconut Grove, Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reflects all the originality and spice of this trendy, artistic neighborhood on the coast of Biscayne Bay and adjacent to Coral Gables. From our luxurious bayfront retreat, you're in the center of it all just across the street from CocoWalk and steps from lively sidewalk cafes, stylish boutiques, modern art galleries, and sizzling nightlife and only minutes from Coral Gables business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing