We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Ranked #21 of 120 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I had a 9 nights stay and is was fantastic! All hotel people very nice and helpfull and in good mood. Clealiness impecable plus a great view!
The restaurant by the pool has a superbe Peruvian menu and the location is good, a few steps from Coconut Grove.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanda2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Nanda2011,
We are thrilled that your enjoyed your extended stay with us. We enjoy making all of our guest feel at home but we are always pleased when someone stays longer and really feels comfortable.
We hope to see you soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    386
    138
    62
    43
See reviews for
251
443
61
315
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laurel, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed 3 nights and booked 2 rooms through the hotel's website. We picked the hotel based on all the great reviews. We also decided to get a rental car from the airport as Coconut Grove is a little farther out from Miami Beach.

Our stay was great. Our first impression was how clean the hotel's appearance was from the lobby to the hotel's rooms. The valet and bell teams were absolutely phenomenal. Brian and Nick stood out as they always tried to find a way to give us a hand in either getting the car quick or in helping us to our room.

The front desk was also helpful as our first two rooms did not have a working fridge. The room they moved us too was amazing complete with great view and balcony as well as a full kitchen and bar.

The hotel's restaurant also has a great view. Panorama (the name of the restaurant) had decent drinks but a little overpriced for what your received.

We would def. stay here again because of the attention to detail. The housekeeping staff even went above and beyond to ensure our bed and room was serviced while we were out. It looked like we were walking into a new room each time we returned for the day.

If I could offer one suggestion it would be for the front desk staff to adapt the welcoming attitude the valet and bellmen have such as smiling and greeting guests with a "welcome back" or a big "hello!" They were very much occupied and did not look up much.

Room Tip: 1612-2 and 1812-2 were great rooms with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Mario C,
Thank you for your recent visit and for your feedback about your experiences. We are pleased that overall we did a great job and also appreciate your comments about how we can make things perfect on your next visit.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Our entire family spent the weekend at the Sonesta Coconut Grove and it was delightful. Ideally sited within walking distance of all of The Groves best restaurants, bars and shops. Thoroughly enjoyed breakfast daily and cocktails poolside in the evening. Great customer service. We were so impressed that we have selected the hotel as one of the preferred venues for guests attending our daughters upcoming wedding!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Agrav,
We are excited that you have selected our hotel to host your guests for your daughter’s wedding. We look forward to sharing this special time with your family and friends.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawling
Level Contributor
111 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

We attended a family brunch here. Hotel is pretty and friendly. The food and atmosphere wonderful. There was a variety of foods including an omelet station, fresh pastries and various breakfast treats. I'd stay here next time I'm in the area considering my 2 hour experience. Pretty views, convenient parking and a great location. Family that stayed at this hotel enjoyed its amenities and rooms.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DMZ56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
DMZ56,
We appreciate your comments about your family brunch at our hotel. Our culinary team strives to present a memorable event. It will be a pleasure to share your feedback with them.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a night before we started our Ragnar Relay Race in January 2013. We got a room in advance online but our friends got a room last-minute and were very happy with the process. The first impression of the hotel is impressive. The hotel lobby is very nicely designed and very welcoming with the fruit-infused water and comfortable seating. We had a king guest room with a partial view of the water and the city. We were only there for a night so it worked perfectly but I think we would have been too cramped if we stayed there any longer and would have paid for a better room category. The bathroom was a bit small with no-frills but the lotion and soaps smelled great! We had breakfast at the restaurant and it was excellent - the waiter was very friendly and the food came out quickly. The view of the marina was gorgeous! The pool looked very nice but we didn't get to use it.
The location was excellent! Close walking distance to the outdoor shopping mall and other spots. If we ever go back, I would pay for the suite.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbhayes21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Bbhayes21,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit. We are pleased that the scents we selected for our lobby and our amenities were enjoyable. While we recommend booking in advance to ensure you have a room, as noted we also welcome last minute bookings. We hope your relay team had a good race.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
110 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Excellent service, the scent in the lobby and 8th floor is relaxing and welcoming. The rooms are clean, spacious and have a balcony. The view of the ocean, is priceless specially at sunset or while having breakfast in bed! We recommend Eggs Benedict! The pool and music are what your Dr. would recommend! We had our wedding here last year, and we plan to stay only at this hotel going forward!

Room Tip: There is no carpet, just tile therefore noises can carry from and to the room easily. If it is facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CoolAb25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
CoolAb25,
Thank you for celebrating your wedding with us! We are pleased that we will be your hotel of choice when visiting Coconut Grove. I will be sure to share with the Chef that you loved the Eggs Benedict.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at this hotel last week. We found the hotel spotless and well maintained. The staff was well trained, friendly, and responsive. The restaurant on 8th floor offers tasty food with a lovely view.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CmBm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
CmBm1,
Thanks for your visit and for posting your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay!
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel
The Mutiny Hotel
#16 of 120 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 758 reviews
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Conrad Miami
#9 of 120 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Property: Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133-6008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#15 Business Hotel in Miami
#26 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#38 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the verdant enclave of Coconut Grove, Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reflects all the originality and spice of this trendy, artistic neighborhood on the coast of Biscayne Bay and adjacent to Coral Gables. From our luxurious bayfront retreat, you're in the center of it all just across the street from CocoWalk and steps from lively sidewalk cafes, stylish boutiques, modern art galleries, and sizzling nightlife and only minutes from Coral Gables business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing