We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Overall nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Ranked #21 of 124 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overall nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

The hotel has a modern, chic feel to it. I liked the location as well, close to cute restaurants (walking distance). I also liked their heated pool as well. The downside- parking is expensive and not included. Also, the hotel room is small, while the restroom is huge. odd...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shalalak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Shalalak,
Thank you for your stay at our hotel. We are happy that your enjoyed your stay. Our valet parking rates are the lowest in the area. When booking online, check out our website as we often have packages available that include parking or breakfast as options. We appreciate your business and hope your next trip to the area includes a visit at our hotel.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    400
    145
    63
    45
See reviews for
261
455
61
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

The Hotel was very clean. The Staff was helpful but not well trained. Confusion at the front desk, as well as room service didn't get the order right once. Some of the rooms had a nice size kitchen and a full refrigerator. The beds were very comfortable. But the chairs in the rooms were not. Not all of us like to sit on the bed. The amenities were great, as were the housekeepers. They were very helpful and went out of there way to make sure you were not disturbed as well as cleaning the room right when we went out. The restaurant and pool were very nice. And the gym was well maintained and had the newest machines.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Tony D,
I am pleased that you had a positive experience at our hotel, finding our rooms clean, beds comfortable and staff accommodating. We appreciate your feedback on areas we can make even better. We hope you will be back soon.
Best Regards,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

No complaints here. We stayed prior to a cruise a few years back. RELAXING pool area with great view. We didnt have a chance to eat in the restaurant but had a nice breakfast poolside. Very convenient location- not far from South Beach or Biscayne. Great local restaurants within walking distance. Pleasant staff. The room was modern and clean. We are planning our next vacation for late summer / early fall, and are planning on staying at the Sonesta and hitting the local attractions, rather than going on another cruise.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank tBizElCaballo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
tBizElCaballo,
We are very pleased that you decide to return this year for another visit. As you know we are located close to the port of Miami and are an option for pre and post cruise stays. We look forward to your next visit to Coconut Grove where you will have the opportunity to explore the neighborhood.
See you soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
708 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 630 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

The Sonesta Bayfront Hotel located in Coconut Grove is in a convenient spot, unfortunately the experience wasn't one to remember. For what you pay to stay you would expect a first-class experience, not a budget motel feel. If this hotel was located almost anywhere else in the US it definitely wouldn't be able to charge over a $100 at most.

I arrived late at night around midnight to find the small drive-way full. I decided to drive into the public parking lot adjacent to the hotel (yes, there is self-parking even though the hotel says there isn't) and was offered a cheaper rate than the hotel's valet parking. Once inside the receptionist took his time even acknowledging me. Eventually I made it up to the room. You will need to use your room key to reach the rooms above the eighth floor.

Both the room's and hotel's decor was spartan. It makes you feel like you're in a bland college dorm with bare walls and very little decorations. The room itself was large and comfortable. The bed was soft and was the highlight of the room. A nice touch was the small chair in the corner of the room next to the bathroom. There was also a work desk and dresser that offered plenty of storage space. Unfortunately some of the drawers and a foul smell that prevented their use (unless you wanted to stink later). At least there is a stove, although I didn't bother to check to see if there was any cooking utensils. The mini-bar anyways doesn't provide any space to store anything anyways.

There was also a large crack under the main door that lit up the room when you turned off the lights. I had to put pillows down to block most of it so I could at least have some darkness. The refrigerator/mini-bar also buzzed all night long like a baby rattle. Needless to say you will not get a good night's sleep if you are not a heavy sleeper. At least there is a nice view from the window.

The bathroom is nice, but you need to be wary of when you take a bath or shower. There was plenty of hot water in the morning, however it was only lukewarm in the evening even when the knob was turned all the way to hot.

While there were no real issues other than the ability to get a good night's sleep, there isn't any real issues with the hotel. However you can do better in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wbullseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
wbullseye,
Thank you for your recent visit to our hotel and for sharing your comments. Regarding the parking situation, our hotel offers only valet parking as an option for guest staying at the hotel with a car. We do not offer any self-parking. There is a public parking facility next to us which has no direct access to our building or association with the hotel. Like you, some travelers choose this option. We are pleased that you found our beds comfortable but wish your visit was longer. I am confident that we could have made your review above average or amazing. If your travels bring you back to Coconut Grove, I hope would consider giving us the opportunity to change your opinion about us.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

At first, we were very impressed by this hotel. The view was nice, the rooms were classy and comfortable, etc. Then, when a mysterious $47 charge showed up on my bank statement, I got suspicious. I called the hotel to find out they had a very long list of items "purchased" from the mini bar, none of which my friend or I actually took. We only stayed one night here and managed to get taken advantage of. If you want the staff stuffing their pockets with Toblerones and charging them on your credit card, look no further than Sonesta Bayfront Hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Lindsey TPM,
Despite our efforts, we are not always perfect. We did post a minibar charge to your account in error and refunded your credit card the same day the posting error was brought to our attention. Fortunately you checked your credit card the day after you departed so we were able to make the correction within 48 hours of your stay. We hope that you may reconsider staying with us again as your first impressions were positive.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed here March 1-4 while in Miami attending the 9 Mile Festival. Loved my room, could see the ocean and enjoyed lounging on my balcony.

Location is great, many restaurants, bars and shops in walking distance. Enjoyed going to Coco Walk for Starbucks every morning. My room was spacious, well appointed and very comfortable. Loved the shower/bathtub and lovely bath products. Used the rooftop pool, it was wonderful, nice view of the bay and good bar service. Would love to return, loved this Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalgaryOiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear CalgaryOiler,
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your comments and are pleased you had such a positive experience. We hope to see you soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

We had a business event during mid-April; all meeting activities were conducted at the Biscayne Ballroom. The ballroom was always impeccable arranged and it was always ready ahead of time. All meals were provided at the Grove Ballroom, the quality of the food was excellent, and they offered a different type of cuisine every day. We were very amazed with the service provided by the Ballroom crew; they were out of their way to service our group, very friendlies and always available to help. Special recognition to Frank Ruiz and Omar, they were above and beyond to make us feel good and enjoy an exceptional hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PGarcia00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
PGarcia00,
Thank you for hosting your business event at our hotel. We are pleased that your event was such a success. We will be sure to share with Frank and Omar your comments. We hope we have an opportunity again to serve your company.
Regards,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel
The Mutiny Hotel
#17 of 124 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Coconut Grove
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
#44 of 124 in Miami
3.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Property: Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133-6008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#15 Business Hotel in Miami
#26 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#38 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the verdant enclave of Coconut Grove, Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reflects all the originality and spice of this trendy, artistic neighborhood on the coast of Biscayne Bay and adjacent to Coral Gables. From our luxurious bayfront retreat, you're in the center of it all just across the street from CocoWalk and steps from lively sidewalk cafes, stylish boutiques, modern art galleries, and sizzling nightlife and only minutes from Coral Gables business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Cancelon and Jetsetter so you can book your Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing