We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location to explore Coconut Grove and Miami”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Ranked #24 of 127 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We took a taxi to the hotel so don't know about the parking situation. They have a valet service and the arrival area is pretty small so be prepared. Upon entering the hotel it is open and airy with a wonderful aroma of lemongrass. Definitely reminded us of our hotels in Asia travels. Checkin was smooth.

Our room was on the 17th floor. It had a full kitchen and a small balcony. Utensils, glassware and some limited barware were included in the room. Friends of ours stayed on the 12th floor and had a larger room and a much larger balcony. 4 people could sit and overlook the city versus 2 in ours. Beds and pillows were confortable and clean.

Make sure you visit the pool on the 8th floor for a spectacular sunset. Drinks were mixed well and tasty. Make sure you know about the 19% added to your bill. Makes sense for a mixed drink, may be annoying for opening a bottle of beer only. We didn't eat at the restaurants but our friends did and spoke highly of the quality and choices.

Room Tip: Larger balcony on 12th floor versus 17th floor. Room on 12 was larger than 17.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Jeff T,
We are happy you and your friends selected our hotel for your recent visit to Miami. We hope you enjoyed exploring Coconut Grove and all it has to offer. As mentioned our view from the 8th floor should not be missed at sunset. Next time you visit you should check out the sunrise because it is equally as spectacular and a great place to enjoy breakfast. Thanks for sharing about your trip.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

745 - 751 of 1,463 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

IF you want to pay $400 per night for a room that resembles your college dorm room (other than the amazing view and great bed) this is your place... internet spotty... breakfast included means tiny continental breakfast.... business center, more than one coffee pack used in room per day, and many other little items cost extra = sad value for money.... room at Hyatt Coconut Grove nearby significantly better....

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anonymouse2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Guest,
We offer many different room types at our property and though they differ in size, they all have the same amazing views and great beds. We offer free wireless throughout the hotel and our business center is located in the lobby with complimentary boarding pass printing. All rooms are equipped with coffee makers and we provide daily coffee with additional coffee available for purchase from your fully stocked minibar. You can find more details about our property by visiting our website at Sonesta.com.
Best Regards,
Margaret Rose, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The location was ideal; 15 minutes to the airport, 10 minutes from downtown businesses and venues, and 20 minutes to Miami Beach. Quiet and serene, overlooking the bay-front, with walking / running / cycling trails and Coconut Grove local eateries / nightlife all right there. The Vizcaya Museum & Gardens were 2 miles up the Bayshore Boulevard.

The hotel staff were exceptionally friendly and extremely helpful. We were able to check-in early and enjoy the Panoramic restaurant and Sky-deck pool with a fabulous view of Miami and the bay-front. We had eaten there before so we hosted a luncheon for a group of friends staying at other Miami hotels. They were amazed and envious of the views, atmosphere, and food.

The hotel location and easy parking in-and-out allowed us to have a pleasurable business trip.

Room Tip: We had a double bed with in-land view room reserved. Room wasn't ready as we were checking in e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Evan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Evan B,
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. It is good to hear that our staff made you feel so welcomed. I have shared your comments about the restaurant with our culinary team. We hope you and your friends will visit us again soon.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Had a tremendous lunch there. What a view! The food and service were both outstanding! I had the "Ají De Gallina" which was delicious and made me a fan of "Peruvian Fusion." I also sampled two desserts, both excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartyH0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

MartyH0407,
Thank you for dinning at our Panorama Restaurant and we are glad you enjoyed our Peruvian inspired menu. One of my favorites is the Lomo Saltado and of course the Ceviche. We look forward to your next visit.
Best Regards,
Margaret Rose, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We checked in on Christmas evening for 8 nights and got given a fantastic room with beautiful panoramic City views. On New Years Eve, we got to watch Fireworks light up from left to right, it was very memorable. We've never experienced this anywhere in the World and we are frequent travellers. Hotel Foyer was exquisite and very welcoming. We had to use our Card Key before entering the lift then using the Card Key again for Floors 10 and upwards was nice. The toiletries were high class. Spacious room; fantastic TV channels; clean room; comfortable bed. We had a kitchenette and a full sized Fridge with Freezer. We had Breakfast 7 out of the 8 days we were there and the food is of the highest quality. Sitting outside where the Spa and Pool were, we got beautiful views of the Harbour. Fitness centre offered blue sweat towels, hand sanitizer, water with disposable cups and very clean facilities. Located near local shopping centre with The Cheesecake Factory; Johnny Rockets and a few bars. We had a hired car and Valet Parking for 8 nights stay would have costed a fortune! We manage to find much cheaper, secured parking nearby after Valet Parking for 3 nights. Very happy with this find. When we asked the Valet Parking guys and Reception, they didn't tell us where we could find cheaper parking. That's the only bad service we counted. One day we didn't receive spare Toilet Paper Roll, nor replacement shampoo, but we had spare so didn't worry to much about this. Free WiFi in the room was very handy.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheRealBossLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

TheRealBossLady,
We are very pleased that you had such a great experience at our hotel and that you celebrated the New Year with us. I am glad you had the opportunity to take advantage of all of our amenities and as you well noted, the view from the Panorama is incredible. Thank you for sharing your comments and recommendations. We hope to see you again in 2013.
Best Regards,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We booked into the Sonesta because it was close to the Baptist Medical Center where our son was to undergo a medical procedure. Our flight got in late in the evening and we arrived at the Sonesta just before midnight. We were shown into a room that was very dirty with food in the frig. The curtains on the windows were in shreds. The room smelled like a tobacco shop even though we asked for a non-smoking room. It was really appalling. They finally found us another room which was in better shape. Although even this one was not what we had hoped for given the website presentation. After three days we moved to another hotel. The restaurant was excellent and the pool was very pleasant. But, our sense was that a first class staff was dealing with a stingy management at Sonesta which would not allocate funds to get the rooms in shape. The staff spoke of renovations and that things would be right soon. This all happened in July 2012. Today (January 7, 2013) I called the hotel and said we liked their location but I reviewed our impressions of the rooms. We have to make another trip back to the Medical Center. The person I spoke to was honest and truthfully indicated the renovations were still continuing and many rooms still had shredded curtains ("due to the sun"!!!). I learned the problem is that the facility is both a hotel and a short-lease condo set-up. Why this should prevent clean rooms and new curtains I don't quite get. Others may have had a good experience at the Sonesta Bayfront but we were sorely disappointed. I hope the Sonesta management reads this and gets their act together. The staff were gracious and did their best.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Eli,
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent contact with our hotel. As you mentioned we are in a great location and close to several nearby hospitals and treatment centers. I would be happy to assist you personally with any questions about our hotel or assist you with reservations. Please feel free to contact me directly at 305-529-2828.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had a short two nights visiting friends in Coral Gables. The Sonesta Bayfront was the perfect place to stay. Location, staff, hotel's vibe were all perfect. We have stayed here before and will stay again in the future. We recommend the Sonesta Bayfront.

Room Tip: Corner rooms with wrap around balconies offer great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tctcbTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

tctcbTexas,
Thanks for staying with us and sharing about your stay. We hope you are back soon for another visit.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel
The Mutiny Hotel
#16 of 127 in Miami
870 reviews
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
#19 of 127 in Miami
3,354 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Brickell Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133-6008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#15 Business Hotel in Miami
#26 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#38 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range: $188 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the verdant enclave of Coconut Grove, Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reflects all the originality and spice of this trendy, artistic neighborhood on the coast of Biscayne Bay and adjacent to Coral Gables. From our luxurious bayfront retreat, you're in the center of it all just across the street from CocoWalk and steps from lively sidewalk cafes, stylish boutiques, modern art galleries, and sizzling nightlife and only minutes from Coral Gables business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing