We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in the Grove”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Ranked #24 of 127 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I attended a conference at the hotel. My bayview room had a spectacular view of Biscayne Bay but regrettably the sunrise was not included in the view. We were within easy walking distance of numerous restaurants, sidewalk cafes and shops. I look forward to my next stay at Sonesta.

Room Tip: Superior bayview rooms with a balcony facing east get the sunrise view and also overlook the quiet a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fourhoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear fourhoops,
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit and conference. We hope you will return next time you are in Miami.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,462)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

767 - 773 of 1,462 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

My husband was here for business and it just happened to fall during our 40th Anniversary. The Staff was excellent and the property was very clean. The beds were SO comfortable. We were in room 904-2 with the pool below us on the 8th floor. My husband is afraid of heights so this worked out well. I liked the pool on the 8th floor and when it at the peak of the afternoon sun, Mark came around with fresh water and cooling towels to serve the pool customers. We ate breakfast there in the mornings then went next door to the Peacock Cafe and had delicious food there as well. Hurricane Sandy was making it's enterance to the Florida coast while we were there and wefelt safe the whole time. Definetely a place that my Husband and I would visit again.

Room Tip: We were on the 9th floor which is centrally located by the pool and restraurant. If you are not afr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dudley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear Dudley D,
Congratulations and Happy Anniversary! We are happy that you selected our hotel for this important celebration weekend. Your photos show that the sunset from our pool deck is amazing and often before a storm even a little more spectacular. I am pleased that you had such a pleasant experience and we hope you will be back again soon.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The hotel was amazing from the acutal venue but the staff was just as great.

We held a meeting for our Caribbean distributors, our guests from Japan and Panana. Everyone was very content with hotel. The catering department did such an amazing job with our guests during our meeting. Especially Omar and Frank who was always so attentive to everyone and made sure everything was taken care of.

The executive office were a great help as well to make sure everything was smooth sailing with our conference. Thanks Carmen and Nicole.

We would absolutley hold another conference as well.

Room Tip: The deluxe bayview room was very nice.
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank Deniseth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear Deniseth R,
Thank you for recently hosting your conference at our hotel. We are very pleased that your experience with our Sales, Catering and Banquet team was so enjoyable. I will be sure to share your feedback with them. We look forward to your next conference and hope we can be of service again.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Been staying here almost 4 years and love it!!! Although I'll be happy when my son graduates Miami U the sad part is I'll be seeing less of the Sonesta. Great place for R&R and I really can't say a bad word about it. I'll miss it especially Ms.Varela and her helpfulness. Oh well it's not over yet. See everyone soon. Take care.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear James A,
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and for your comments about your experience. We are pleased that you have selected our hotel when you come to visit you son and although he may graduate soon, you are always welcome at Sonesta. We look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Lovely locale away from crowds of S Beach. Beautiful bay views. Excellent Peruvian-leaning cuisine. Great, competent, unobtrusive staff. Recommend for an event or leisure getaway. Spring for the deluxe, bay view if possible. If not, the regular city view room is perfectly fine My daughter had her wedding reception during our stay. Everything was perfect. Events staff and service staff are top notch.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pearly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear Pearly123,
Congratulations to your daughter and son in law on their recent wedding. We are so pleased that we were able to share such a special day with you and your family and that everyone enjoyed the reception. Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel for such an important event. We appreciate your business and hope that you will return soon.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

From the moment we walked in, to the moment we left (and we most definitely did not want to!) we felt like royalty! The service was amazing; anything we needed was provided for. This hotel takes "boutique" to the next level. Not to mention the location is prime; awesome restaurants, day and nightlife is plentiful. Anytime I'm in Miami, this will be the place I stay! Thank you Sonesta, you made our stay absolutely perfect!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cerace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear Cerace,
Thank you for your comments about your experience at our hotel. We are very pleased you had an amazing time and we look forward to your return!
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Just returned from an amazing 3 night stay at the Sonestra Bayfront Hotel in Coconut Grove.

We arrived in very windy rainy conditions on Thursday from Hurricane Sandy going up the coast and parked outside and the staff immediately welcomed us and helped unload and took our luggage to our room. We decided to valet park our car, not something we normally do but thought with the weather and our long journey we would, it cost $23 a day. I then went and checked in and got told that we had been upgraded to a bay view room which was a lovely touch and well worth it. On route to our room had a nice chat with the bellman who told us about the bus tour of Miami and where to get it from.

Our room was just the right size for two, nice big bed, and an amazing view of the bay from the balcony. Do ask for a high floor room though as you can hear music from a nightclub till 3am and we were on the 12 floor. We decided to eat in the hotel the first night, and even though it was small and intimate restaurant on the 8th floor, the food and service was top notch.

On Friday we decided to cancel our planned golf due to the weather and reschedule for the Saturday and do a bus tour which Marco arranged for us as well as booking us another tee time. He was very helpful.

The bus tour is a must and shows you all the different areas of Miami, you can hop on and off the bus and the stop is just a 5 minute walk from the hotel near Coco Walk.

Coco Walk is a lovely friendly area just 5 mins from the hotel and has shops, restaurants along with Starbucks, Chillis, Cheesecake Factory, Fat Tuesday bar that you can sit and people watch, and a cinema. Coco Walk is apparently the second best place to go at night in Miami after South Beach, so the tour guide told us !

Whenever we wanted our car it was with us within 5 minutes and the staff were always very friendly and helpful. The pool on the 8 floor had amazing views and lovely loungers (even though the pool could do with a clean, from the leaves etc from the bad winds that had settled on the bottom of the pool).

When we checked out, Irlanda was a very friendly and professional member of staff who did this for us, and made it very smooth, with the help of the valet guys, the staff are an asset to the hotel.

I would definitely come back here one day and would recommend it, it is a lovely modern hotel in a great location, and if you need any help with your requirements before you arrive then ask for Elizabeth Dubon, she has been a star.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Flossy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear Flossy R,
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and your feedback about your experience. We agree that there are a lot of activities in the area and as you found on the bus tour, many easy ways to see Miami. I am happy that you found our staff both helpful and welcoming. I will be sure to share your comments with them. Please accept my apologies about the pool needing some additional attention; with the high winds for several days after the storm it took us a few days to get it back in tip top shape. We look forward to your return and hope your next visit will be soon.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel
The Mutiny Hotel
#17 of 127 in Miami
869 reviews
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
#19 of 127 in Miami
3,347 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Brickell Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133-6008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#15 Business Hotel in Miami
#26 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#38 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range: $189 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the verdant enclave of Coconut Grove, Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reflects all the originality and spice of this trendy, artistic neighborhood on the coast of Biscayne Bay and adjacent to Coral Gables. From our luxurious bayfront retreat, you're in the center of it all just across the street from CocoWalk and steps from lively sidewalk cafes, stylish boutiques, modern art galleries, and sizzling nightlife and only minutes from Coral Gables business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, TravelUp, Splitty, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing