We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Ranked #22 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ideal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Great location and perfect size suite for five nights. Suite had everything one needed for a long stay. Underground parking right to the hotel is ideal if you do not need the valet service. Nice pool on 8th floor, ideal for a morning dip. Checked out the gym, but didnt use, but looked very well equipped.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whitelion1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear whitelion 1209,
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you found our hotel an ideal location for your recent visit to Miami. As you mentioned, we have a great gym available and in addition to the mix of equipment it has great views of Miami. We hope you will be back again soon to give it a try.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    414
    152
    68
    45
See reviews for
278
469
62
347
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oldsmar, FL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

There's no better location for enjoying a relaxing weekend in Coconut Grove. Attentive service personnel...valets, front desk, bar, restaurant, pool staff...all helpful, cheerful, and attentive.

We booked a one bedroom suite which was super-spacious and comfortable with an excellent view, full kitchen and in-room whirlpool. I would highly recommend spending the extra amount to really enjoy what the hotel has to offer.

Security is excellent, and there are always service personnel around. Amenities include an outstanding 8th floor pool, wonderful lounge chairs, top-notch restaurant, squash courts, and very extensive art collection throughout the hotel.

Furnishings were a bit worn, and the drapery is torn. The soap dish fell off the shower. No paper goods in the kitchen. All small negatives in comparison to the overall experience.

Room Tip: Get the suite...it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tas10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear tas10000,
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and your feedback about your experience. I am pleased that you enjoyed our 8th floor pool deck and Panorama restaurant as well as the amenities offered in our suites. Please accept my apologies for the maintenance issues in your room. We provide paper towels in our suites and kitchenettes but we will consider adding other paper products based on your suggestions. We hope you will be back again for another visit soon.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is in reference to the 3-day conference taking place a few days back.

When I think of professional service, my thoughts go to valet parking, lobby greeting people, Panorama Restaurant service (providing us with great daily breakfast food to start the day), dealings with general Hotel staff.

The Conference Room setup was very cozy, indeed. Everything was in place. Uninterrupted service was available. All food was served as good food should be, and lunch was always right on time. The Banquet Staff was very attentive and efficient, meeting and exceeding all requirements placed before them by myself and my colleagues.

I can think, in particular, of an individual who really made it happen for us ( Frank Ruiz ), who really ran the operation like military clockwork, continually busy as he was to keep everyone on his toes and your guests satisfied. I must say all requests of ours which were placed before him were met in due course, leading this writer and colleagues to enjoy a most pleasant time while staying behind closed doors.

I just wanted to thank you for the Hotel's outstanding performance during the Conference and for your presence of mind in hiring and maintaining individuals of Frank's caliber in your staff.

Natha

Room Tip: Take advantage of the great neighborhood restaurants and shopping venues within walking distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nelson D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear NelsonD,
We appreciate your comments about your recent meeting held at our hotel. We are pleased that our banquet team was able to respond to all of your needs and we will be sure to share with them your feedback. Thank you for hosting your meeting with us and we look forward to next time.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

This hotel is in a great location and has an awesome view of the bay. The rooms are a little small and valet parking is $23 a night, unless you drive a hybrid, but the hotel is still an excellent value for the location and view. Our check-in process was horrible. We had to wait 30 minutes to get into our room after a long and very wet drive because of the nightly audit process the hotel uses. But, management responded quickly to our compliant and worked very diligently to smooth things over. Other than the check-in process, we have no complaints and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gentry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear GentryH,
Please accept my apologies on behalf of the hotel for the delays at check-in on your arrival during our night audit process. We pride ourselves on anticipating our guest needs and this time we missed the mark. I am pleased that despite this misstep you were able to enjoy your stay. We hope that if your travels bring you back to Coconut Grove that we will have another opportunity to serve you.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel because it is right in the middle of Coconut Grove, one of my favorite old stomping grounds in the '70s and '80s. Service was excellent but a few of the ladies at the front desk were either having a bad week or they don't like their jobs, couldn't place it. If I had to guess, it would be that they don't like their jobs because they wouldn't even botger to smile back. When they did smile it was more of an obligated smirk.

I will point out that if you have a large vehicle full of luggage and kids, be prepared as this hotel was not well designed for that and 6 other cehicles waiting. We like to always park our car and we could not. I just don't like strangers driving my car...

The parking attendants are great and always attentive in spite of their working environment.

The 8th floor pool deck is great and the views are awesome as is the authentic Peruvian food, some items with a twist.

I will be back just because it is convenient and to try a different room since I'm sure there are several other configurations. It is a "Condotel" and those are usually odd in variations. I forgot to ask if all their units are tiled throughout - very cold!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CouponLockerDotCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear CouponLockerDot,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. Please accept my apologies on behalf of the hotel if our staff did not make you feel right at home. We strive to provide outstanding customer service and sometimes we fall short. Rest assured we will use your feedback to continue to improve. I am pleased that you enjoyed many areas of the hotel and that you will be back again to try another one of our room types. As mentioned we do have many types to choose from and I am sure we will have something to meet your needs. We look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Recently returned from a trip to Key West and we stayed at the Sonesta Bayfront Hotel as a pitstop between Orlando and the Florida Keys. We arrived pretty late in the day, so it was nice to check in and relax. We walked around Coconut Grove and grabbed some dinner at the great restaurants nearby. The hotel itself was great. The staff was extremely friendly and so were the Valet attendants which is rare. We had a superior king room and it was pretty small. The bed was pretty comfortable. Not sure if it was just the noise from the outside, however we could hear everything that was going on outside our windows (we were on the 12th floor). Same thing happened early morning when they were cleaning something. It felt like the windows didn't have proper sound insulation.

Overall we had a great stay and would recommend to those looking for lodging in that area. There are plenty of other central hotels in Miami, but we picked this one as it had quick access to US 1 and the Turnpike.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jgarcia83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear jgarcia83,
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and for the feedback from your visit. I am pleased that you found our staff friendly from the moment you arrived at Valet. Our Superior rooms are our smallest room type but they are perfect for a quick visit. You can find a description with photos of all of our different room types available on our website. We hope the next time your travels bring you to Miami that you will stop for a visit.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Today I checked out of this great hotel,the experience was wonderful, i work on this industry and you become the worst guest when you stay in a hotel but today and I can say that this one was one of my best experience ever, thank you to the bellman staff that in the concierge absence they were amazing in all their recommendations ,the front desk girls besides their personality and great smile always attentive and there for every single guest........GREAT EXPERIENCE GREAT SERVICE GREAT HOTEL

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MICHAEL K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Michael K,
Thank you for your comments about the service you received during your stay. I am pleased that our Bellman and Front Desk team were able to provide you with great service and always a smile. We look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel
The Mutiny Hotel
#17 of 121 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Coconut Grove
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
#42 of 121 in Miami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Coconut Grove
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Property: Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133-6008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#15 Business Hotel in Miami
#26 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#38 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the verdant enclave of Coconut Grove, Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reflects all the originality and spice of this trendy, artistic neighborhood on the coast of Biscayne Bay and adjacent to Coral Gables. From our luxurious bayfront retreat, you're in the center of it all just across the street from CocoWalk and steps from lively sidewalk cafes, stylish boutiques, modern art galleries, and sizzling nightlife and only minutes from Coral Gables business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing