We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Panorama restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Ranked #22 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
“Panorama restaurant”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Our waiter Remy Brutus was wonderful, if you ever eat there ask for him. He gave wonderful recommendations and was very accommodating. The food was amazing I recommend all the appetizers especially the shrimp tempura and the parmesan scallops and of course the ceviche was so fresh and delicious!!

Room Tip: Bay front view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaefer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Shaefer W,
Thank you for your great comments about our Panorama Restaurant and our waiter Remy. He is looking forward to your next visit so he can recommend more great food to you.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    421
    156
    72
    46
See reviews for
294
476
63
365
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I've been to this Sonesta more than 5 times over the last years (I have friends nearby) but last visit was such a disappointment that I am not coming back. I have paid almost USD 400 a night for a one-bedroom suite that had ripped curtains, chipped furniture and even though towels and sheets were clean the overall feeling of the room was not what I expected for that price. It's definitely going downhill.

I am not someone that likes writing bad reviews and I have struggled to post this one because my other visits to the Sonesta were, in fact, good enough for me to oversee some small flaws. Flaws are not small anymore... that's why I finally decided to write.

Bell captain and valet parking guys were as always great but this did not compensate the front desk attitude. Besides the lack of a smile, my husband and I were denied a late check out (that we indicated that we were willing to pay for) because they were completely full.

Full? How was it possible when I was able to make a reservation for that extended day on their own web site???!!!

After that, I was so disappointed that decided to leave the hotel and next time I am in Miami (in fact, next month) I am NOT coming back to the Sonesta.

Thank you Tripadvisor for making us smarter travellers that know how to gather information and better analyze what is being said and offered to us.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DriCa_SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear DriCa_Sp,
Please accept my apologies on behalf of the hotel that your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations. We make every effort to accommodate request for late checkouts, however due to the arrival of other guests into a particular type of room we are always able to do so. We appreciate your feedback as it assists us improving our service. We hope we will have another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

We came to Miami with our little lady a year old. We stay in a deluxe room with two bedrooms in it was just perfect for us. Reviews are quite accurate for this hotel it deserves the high score.
The Hotel suroundings are very relaxing for walking. Nice restaurant an some shops. It is not noisy and crazy as miami beach, that is why we actually enjoyed.
Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank quimbayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear quimbayo,
Thank you for your recent review and recommendation of our hotel. We appreciate the feedback of all of our guests and we are pleased that we met your expectations. Come back soon for another visit!
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel as part of my honeymoon and found it to be a very clean and well run hotel. Our room was HUGE as we were kindly given a free upgrade by the hotel and our view looked over the pool and bay.
Staff were friendly and helpful and assisted us when required.
The bar is nice and looks over a cracking view at night time. The food in the restaurant I found to be a bit too fancy for my liking. Chicken strips and rice really means - chicken in sauce, walnuts, eggs, olives and other things I couldn't identify. Good quality but not for me.
Only a 2 minute walk away from a selection of bars and restaurants and gernerally in a very nice little area. Be aware not to wonder too far in the wrong direction tho as we did, found our selves in a dodgy area where everything is chained up, groups of 10 guys on each street corner etc. Taxi driver told us we were lucky not to have had some trouble if we had ventured into that area.
Overall a nice hotel perfect for short stays or business meetings. It certainly didn't have that summer feel to it so don't expect a holiday vibe around the pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a bayview room. Massive with a good view (tho probably more expensive).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Jason M,
Congratulations on your recent marriage and thank you for spending part of your honeymoon with us! We are pleased you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 6 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Just returned from 3 nights at the Sonesta Bayfront Hotel. We were staying in Miami for a few days before flying to Curacao. First, I really liked Coconut Grove. It's a nice area away from the craziness of SoBe and the traffic in other parts of town. There are plenty of shops and restaurants for the amount of time we were there. The hotel is located within easy walking distance to the marina as well as the town. It was also an easy drive from the airport and to the beach.

We stayed in a 1 bedroom bay view suite. It is a nice room, but as some others have said it is showing it's age a bit. We had a 30% discount so I was able to overlook some of those things (frayed curtains, dulled paint, etc.). The living room was large and the kitchen was well equipped (coffee maker, fridge, stove, microwave, dishes/utensils). The bedroom was also nice and the mattress was comfortable. The deck was little smaller than I had imagined and I wasn't crazy about the location. Next time I would request a room at the front of the bay as opposed to our location on the recessed side. There was very little privacy on the deck or in the living room (if the curtains are open).

As far as food, we only had room service breakfast once and lunch at the pool so I don't have a lot to go on. Breakfast was not great. For the price there is better quality in town (Bouchon du Grove was excellent). As far as lunch, the soup was very good, but their take on a caesar salad wasn't my favorite (some of the lettuce was grilled??). They did have excellent Chicha, a Peruvian corn mash drink, that I would highly recommend.

Overall, a very nice hotel and a great location. Two things I would recommend, get a room on the front side of the bay for added privacy and look for specials. I'm not sure the room is worth full price, but definitely worked for the 30% discount.

Room Tip: Check for discounts. If privacy is important book a room on the front of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maweber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear maweber,
We are pleased that your overall experience at our hotel was enjoyable. We are happy to learn that you also enjoyed some of the local flavor of Coconut Grove and recommend its location. I have shared your comments regarding breakfast with our culinary team. Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your feedback.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

After booking a bayfront room, we arrived and were told we had been upgraded to a suite. The room was excellent with a view the same as the brochure photo. It was a nice suite with plenty of room. The furnishings were modern and fresh. The great thing about the place is it's location. It's literally 1min from coco-walk shopping centre which has many restaurants and a cinema.

It was a good all round experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Kennyket,
Thank you for your feedback and stay at our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your suite. We look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Stayed here on business and was very happy with everything the hotel had to offer. Large rooms with huge comfy beds and big flat screens on the wall. All the facilities up to a high standard and in the perfect spot to enjoy all that coconut grove has to offer whilst being easy to commute round the rest of the city. My only criticism would be the breakfast could be improved but on the whole a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrBenn12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear MrBenn12,
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay. I will be sure to share them with our team and your feedback regarding the restaurant with our Chef. We hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel
The Mutiny Hotel
#12 of 122 in Miami
856 reviews
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Coconut Grove
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
#46 of 122 in Miami
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Atton Brickell Miami
Atton Brickell Miami
#10 of 122 in Miami
808 reviews
Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Property: Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133-6008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#15 Business Hotel in Miami
#26 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#38 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the verdant enclave of Coconut Grove, Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reflects all the originality and spice of this trendy, artistic neighborhood on the coast of Biscayne Bay and adjacent to Coral Gables. From our luxurious bayfront retreat, you're in the center of it all just across the street from CocoWalk and steps from lively sidewalk cafes, stylish boutiques, modern art galleries, and sizzling nightlife and only minutes from Coral Gables business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing