We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great hotel, very elegant and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Ranked #20 of 120 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great hotel, very elegant and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

The Sonesta Bayfront hotel is located in the very nice residential are of Coconut Grove. The hotel is very elegant, very clean and the rooms are quite large. The view from the rooms (we had an oceanfront suite) is breathtaking.
Within walking distance there are nice shops and restaurants. With a 15-20 min drive you get to Miami Beach and even closer is the miracle mile of Coral Gables. We definitely liked the location.

Room Tip: Very elegant and confortable hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank giacomellip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, May 8, 2011
Dear giacomellip,
We agree that the views from our guest rooms are breathtaking! Many great shots have been posted by reviewers. Thank you for your comments and we hope you will return soon.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    387
    138
    62
    43
See reviews for
251
443
61
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

The rooms are very noisy (especially on the West and South side of the hotel). If you want to get a good night sleep, do not choose this hotel. The music and dj's from neighbar bars/restaurants make a lot of noise especially between midnight and 3 am. From Thursday to Sunday it is a party here. It is no problem if you are part of the party scene.
Hotel offers ear plugs if you complaint.
Also some guest take their dog with them in a bag, while pets are not allowed in hotel.
Rooms are overpriced, if you want to stay here, wait for a special price.
Positive: The beds are comfortable & the service is very good

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jenniferwestgeest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, May 8, 2011
Dear Jenniferwestgesst,
Please accept my apologies that your recent stay was not up to your expectations. We make every effort to minimize the effects from the nightclubs located nearby and we appreciate your feedback as it helps us continue in these efforts. Our building does have year round tenants who are permitted to have pets. Although your recent stay did not meet your expectations, we hope you will give us another opportunity to wow you with great service and comfortable accommodations the next time you are in Miami.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

I traveled for business and stayed at the Sonesta in Coconut Grove. The location was perfect, just a block down from the popular Cocoa Walk, and I felt very secure coming and going as a single female. The valet, front desk, security, etc always had a smile and made sure that my trip was good. I had a great sized room that overlooked part of coconut grove and the bay ... nice little balcony ... and even a kitchen for some of my own favorite foods.

As a side note, to prep for my visit, and because I needed some additional assistance, I worked with Elizabeth D and she was fantastic in setting up my stay. Not only was she available to answer questions and help before my stay, but she even emailed me my bill so that I could electronically submit it for expenses afterwards. When I came back and stayed the following week, she helped me to get a great room at the last minute.

Whenever I travel, personal attention, cleanliness, location and price are important - this hotel hit all marks.

Room Tip: Rooms with city view have a larger kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roadsterangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, April 24, 2011
Dear Roadsterangel,
Thank you for your comments about our great location and our smiling staff! Our reservations team is always ready to assist with special requests and last minute assistance in making your stay perfect. We look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

Great hotel - a little expensive (IMO), but generally worth it. My wife stayed with me while I was in town on business. The staff were great. Particularly great were the breakfast staff in the restaurant and the pool staff - especially Alex. They couldn't do enough for us.

The view from the pool is breath-taking and the hotel conveniently located near a large number of excellent restaurants (although, again, a little on the expensive side).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rmcdouga23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rio de janeiro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel at least 8 times, maybe more. Everytime it was a very pleasurable experience. We like the Biscayne suites on the 17 line, city view, because they have bathrooms with a big window', allowing a lot of natural light, and we still have a beautifull bay view.They always accomodate our request for suites at this line.It's also a good thing that lots of people from the staff have been working there for a long time, so they call us by our names, and it feels very nice

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aasRioDeJaneiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

Pleasant, helpful and efficient staff, clean rooms, nice restaurant with good food.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yankee34786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

I stay at Sonesta quite often, I like the location - it is walking distance to CocoWalk, restaurants, Fresh Market. The view is gourgeous, food is excellent! Lobby is inviting, smells so good! Rooms are nice ad clean. But what I like most is the service, they are very much customer oriented, very friendly and discret. I have to update my reservations very often and they have always been taken care very quickly, as I needed, just perfect. Thanks to Mrs. Dubon!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FAoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
Dear FAoki,
Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay at the Sonesta Bayfront Hotel. We appreciate your comments about our friendly team and how efficient your reservations are always handled. We look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel
The Mutiny Hotel
#13 of 120 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 759 reviews
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Conrad Miami
#9 of 120 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Property: Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133-6008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#15 Business Hotel in Miami
#26 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#38 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the verdant enclave of Coconut Grove, Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reflects all the originality and spice of this trendy, artistic neighborhood on the coast of Biscayne Bay and adjacent to Coral Gables. From our luxurious bayfront retreat, you're in the center of it all just across the street from CocoWalk and steps from lively sidewalk cafes, stylish boutiques, modern art galleries, and sizzling nightlife and only minutes from Coral Gables business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing