We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Nearby Hotels
$225
$210
Kimpton
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$132
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
InterContinental Miami(Miami)(Great Value!)
$243
$225
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$153
$144
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay(Miami)(Great Value!)
$199
$152
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Regency Hotel Miami(Miami)(Great Value!)
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$121
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$119
$105
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,510)
Filter reviews
1,510 results
Traveler rating
766
437
170
84
53
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
766
437
170
84
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoconut grovepanorama restaurantfrank ruizeighth floordeluxe roombay viewbiscayne bayfull kitchenvalet parkingkey biscaynecoral gablessouth beachrestaurants and shopsbusiness meetingrooftop poolvalet serviceper day
Filter
Updating list...
1,081 - 1,086 of 1,510 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2011

The room wasn't quite as 4-star as the website and reviews made it seem. It's nice enough. The floor to ceiling windows are great, and the views from the wrap around balcony are great (although with only two uncomfy chairs out there, it's could be nicer.) They certainly nickel and dime you. Rollaway bed, $35/night. Valet parking, $23/a day and it still takes 15 min for them to get it for you. The pool is lovely, although the poolside service was not really there and it's a bit windy on the 8th floor.

But most importantly, DO NOT STAY on a low floor or on the side that faces the main Coconut Grove area. It's so loud at night, we might as well have been on South Beach! And if you call to complain at night, you just get a "there's nothing we can to about it," even though the daytime people seem to believe that there is. They need to communicate.

So, if you are going to be partying it up anyway, it's good. Otherwise, a bit pricey for what you get.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room facing east or north.
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nvk1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2011

Dear NVK1973,
Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am disappointed that your experience did not meet your expectations and I apologize. We value our guests feedback as it helps let us know areas where we can continue to improve our service and our overall guest experience.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2011

We stayed here for a week to take in the sites and sun of Miami and the surrounding regions. We chose thi location rather than somewhere like South Beach so we could get a little peace and quiet in the evening, what a mistake. Right next door to the hotel is a club which blasts its bass heavy music until 2 am EVERY night. We called the front desk several time, they said they would call the club, or call the police, but eventually we were informed that nothing could be done because the club owner has a permit to play his music as loud as he wants until 2am.

We asked if we could be moved to another room, but this was apparently an unreasonable request. I'm not sure why they couldn't move us, the place seemed deserted the week we were there. Bottom line, unless you plan to be out until the wee hours of the morning yourself, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kademing1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2011

Dear Kademing1974,
I want to apologize that your visit did not meet your expectations. As I am sure you can imagine, the hotel makes every attempt to minimize the effect of the music from the nightclub next door. Your visit coincided with the Sony Ericsson Tennis Tournament and the hotel was at full occupancy for the week. If your travels bring you back to Miami, I hope you will give us a chance to improve on your experience.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2011

The Sonesta in Coconut Grove is in a super location. The hotel staff very helpful

Room Tip: Get on the Bay side if possible
  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripMaster61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2011

All your employees are wonderful! We always find our stay to be just perfect! One comment: Please get the Tennis Channel! We love watching the tournament live but also love coming back to our "home" away from home and watch it on TV.
Thanks for a great experience and looking forward to next year!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janellmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2011

Dear Janellmer,
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your accommodations during the Sony Ericsson Tennis Tournament. We'll be sure to investigate the addition of the Tennis Channel to our available channels and look forward to your return next year!
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

We stayed at Sonesta Bayfront for one night during our return through Miami during our honeymoon in January 2011.

As we only stayed there one night we don’t have a lot to say but:

• Sonesta gave us a free upgrade to a suite in recognition of the fact that it was our honeymoon;
• Being a suburban area there is a great shopping strip nearby with a good range of shops. We happily had dinner, breakfast, cupcakes, Starbucks, bought books, pizza, Italian food and Sonia got her nails painted all within a 24 hour period.

We felt that Coconut Grove was a great location – and definitely a more interesting place to stay than Downtown Miami. If we ever return to Miami we will stay at either South Beach or Coconut Grove.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2011

Brett_and_Sonie,
Congratulations on your recent marriage! We are very glad we played a part in your honeymoon, and we agree that the Grove is a great alternative to South Beach and Downtown. Thanks for taking the time to share your comments!
Warm Regards,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews